We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Expectations and Wonderfully Surprised”
Review of Hermitage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hermitage Hotel
Ranked #3 of 155 Hotels in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence
Key West
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“No Expectations and Wonderfully Surprised”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Even though this is a Forbes 5 star hotel and the only 5 star hotel in Tennessee I really did not have any expectations when I checked into this hotel. The short and sweet........the hotel is located in great central location in downtown Nashville with some rooms overlooking the state capital. The staff were very polite and responsive. The physical condition of the hotel is excellent including the lobby, restaurant, bar and rooms. Room 312 was nicely configured with entrance foyer, large room and great bathroom with double vanity, soaking tub and separate shower. I will stay at this hotel on my next visit to Nashville without hesitation. No the knit picky items: 1. restaurant and bar are very good but located in the basement - no natural light. 2. beautiful lobby is under utilized - perfect gathering place for drinks and nice music...hint hint management. 3. some noise between room with connecting door. 4. room was not vacuumed daily and room carpet needed to be stretched as there were multiple sizable ripples............small things but it's a Forbes 5 Star.

Room Tip: High floor facing State Capital or 6th Avenue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kecoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,580 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,300
    175
    51
    34
    20
See reviews for
261
691
44
260
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

The staff was very friendly and efficient, the room was very nice with a view of the capitol. Location is good, with a short walk to Broadway and entertainment. I did not find anything about this hotel that awed me, and the price per room night is certainly in the area of extraordinary.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Big Canoe, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We spent the weekend at the Hermitage, a place we had long wanted to experience.
We love older historic places with lots of grandeur and charm. The Hermitage really fit the bill. Unlike many others in this category, the property is in great shape (no pealing paint or outdated fixtures) and feels like it is brand new.
The employees had a great service attitude and showed that they really cared.
We walked to several in-town attractions but also felt like we were removed from the hustle and bustle of the city when we got back "home".
We will be visiting Nashville a few times a year. We won't be staying anywhere but the Hermitage.

Room Tip: All rooms are large and suite-like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffmbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

If you have never stayed here what are you waiting for? This hotel is second to none. The service is outstanding in every way from cleanliness to customer service. Every employee strives to provide the best service possible. Book it now!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe7954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilltown, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We (party of seven - my parents and our teenage kids) recently stayed at the Hermitage on our first ever visit to Nashville. The hotel is rich in history and beautifully appointed. The staff, from the front desk to the concierge, to the doormen and housekeeping are professional, friendly, helpful and on their game.

When traveling I normally look for Omni Hotels as we appreciate the history behind the buildings that Omni purchases and preserves. The Omni in Hilton is a much newer contemporary building, and while I am sure it is beautiful it just doesn't seem to have the character that the Hermitage does. Highly recommend and will stay there again if we visit Nashville.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank momofthreebux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Only a few blocks from the music and crowds on Broadway, the Hermitage is a welcome quiet oasis. It is a grand old hotel of the most elegant nature complete with all the nice amenities and the kind of service one would expect from such a gracious old establishment. I had reserved 7 rooms months earlier for a reunion group of old college friends. When we all arrived hours before check-in we were pleasantly surprised to find our rooms were available. Both the staff at the front desk and the concierge who made our dinner reservation at the Capitol Grille were friendly and accommodating. Best of all was Brad, the doorman! When our Saturday night on Broadway turned into a bust due to football preseason crowds and very heavy rain, he recommended a nifty little bar on Printer's Alley for Sunday night. The band there was great and my out of town friends were so happy to have experienced some of that great Nashville music :-)
All in all, a great hotel. I've stayed there before and will definitely return again!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DonKnox25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Absolutely perfect! we've stayed 2 days int his hotel on the 2August: though they had a wedding this we, we've been treated like VIP! the man at the front door was joking very elegantly about French, the front desk staff was very professional and helpful, the concierge was very efficient (the man on the we especially); we had dinner at the Capitol Grille which is famous and delicious: Roncie helped us and talked about France, and the lady next morning (sorry don't remember her name) was fun and very helpful: food is absolutely fine and tastes are gorgeous! We had a junior suite ( we've been upgraded as Amex platinum members): the view on the Capitol was beautiful, the beds are very comfortable. every afternoon lemonade and cookies are offered and in the morning coffee too..but you'd better have a real breakfast: he's delicious!we will recommend this hotel to our friends and relatives andwe 'll try to come back!!

Room Tip: Try to have a room with a view on the Capitol; there is no construction or anything disturbing aroun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mipougne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nashville hotels
Omni Nashville Hotel
#7 of 155 in Nashville
5,563 reviews
Downtown Nashville
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
#11 of 155 in Nashville
2,807 reviews
Downtown Nashville
Hotel Indigo Nashville
Hotel Indigo Nashville
#21 of 155 in Nashville
1,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Nashville Downtown
#18 of 155 in Nashville
1,131 reviews
Downtown Nashville
Sheraton Grand Nashville Downtown
Hutton Hotel
#15 of 155 in Nashville
1,919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermitage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermitage Hotel

Property: Hermitage Hotel
Address: 231 Sixth Ave North, Nashville, TN 37219-1903
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Davidson County > Nashville > Downtown Nashville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 155 Hotels in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hermitage Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 1910, The Hermitage Hotel is Tennessee's only Forbes Five Star and AAA Five Diamond Hotel. At Nashville's oldest and original hotel, come experience true southern hospitality and charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Hermitage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing