We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bed Bugs + Poor Service = Not Coming Back” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hutton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hutton Hotel
Ranked #19 of 154 Hotels in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Bed Bugs + Poor Service = Not Coming Back”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

I love this hotel. I come to Nashville frequently for business - and once i stayed here in october 2011 - i havent stayed anywhere else since. Service was always friendly and fast. It is a nice hotel. However, i woke up this morning to - undeniably - bed bugs in my bed. I live in NYC - where the financial penalty for having bed bugs in your apartment is serious. I immediately alerted the staff - and they showed up 15 minutes later - with a bedsheet! Since it was already 5am, i had no interest in going back to sleep - however, since i was only in town for a couple of days - had asked to speak to the person on duty if they could launder the clothes that i did have that were also on my bed. He refused, saying that they first needed to have an exterminator independantly verify it was in fact a bed bug (see photos) before they can do anything. I was not even offered another room to shower in. Then - and this is the most disgusting part - they walked out of the room and LEFT THE BED BUGS ON THE BED. I am appalled - i am canceling all future reservations at this hotel. I stay at a lot of hotels - and i understand aberrations - but in the face of resolving a pretty serious situation (in my opinion) - the staff reacted so poorly i no longer have any confidence that this is a safe place to stay. I really really wish this didn't happen - because i really like this hotel - but this is inexcusable and they should be ashamed. Safe travels.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
52 Thank dave9022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,762 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,150
    406
    113
    59
    34
See reviews for
249
678
84
449
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

Great, attentive service, wonderful restaurant on-site, clean facility, terrific location! Had a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mcskrv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

This is a nice modern hotel. The check-in process was quick and organized. Staff/service was just not that friendly. In the hotel restaurant it took someone at least ten minutes to come over and tell us that they were closed. Our room was modern and the bed was comfortable. This is a good location for a hotel, we were not too far from downtown Nashville. The main downside to this place is that it does not have a pool. Also, you have to pay for parking in a lot which was overpriced. This should be included in the price of the room. When we looked at hotels in Nashville this was the nicest one, so all in all we will probably stay at the Hutton if we return to Nashville.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arianne25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Big Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
89 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

Beautiful lobby, rooms, and especially the rooms bathrooms with a glass shower.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank silverlady23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SPANashville, General Manager at Hutton Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Thank you for the review and delighted you enjoyed your stay with us! I am glad you were able to take advantage of our Wine Hour but apologize the shuttle was not available. We look forward to having you back with us on your next trip to Music City.

Sincerely,
Steven Andre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

My husband and I were planning to attend Nashville for the weekend to see a concert and to wander around the city. Luckily, we found a deal through one of those travel sites and snagged this place for $159 per night (which really meant $213 a night after taxes and parking fee), but would have cost us $247.50 per night (plus taxes and parking).
The hotel was beautiful, the staff was attentive and always friendly. There was a free wine happy hour from 5-6:30 on Friday night which made for a nice pre-dinner drink. The hotel is green, which I noticed annoyed some reviewers, but really all you had to do was put your room key in a slot and your lights and air would stay on--simple. Our room had a pretty large square footage and the rain shower was wonderful. The bath products smelled great and the bed was heavenly. One of the best things in my opinion is that the NOTHING slams in this hotel. The doors to the rooms don't slam, the toilet seats don't slam. Some people make take this for granted, but I certainly noticed after staying at my fair share of hotels with inconsiderate guests. My only complaint was the the complimentary shuttle was NEVER available. We wanted to use it because it was raining and humid. But, our valets offered us directions EVERY time we called down for our car and were ripe with suggestions for places to eat and drink.
I would visit again, especially at the discounted rate.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
129 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

The Hutton may very well deserve its 4+ star rating, but it does not work for us. This was our first stay at the Hutton and it will most likely be our last. Our experience at the Hutton reminds me of one of those first dates that we've all experienced. Attractive, but just does not work for me. In fact, we had booked two nights, but left after the first one.

Specifically, the room was tiny. Very nice, but really small. And there were little quirks, like you have to insert the key card to turn on the lights and the ice is in a freezer drawer in small plastic bags. And the TV is a very modern flat screen (+40"), but it took a while searching throught the on screen menu just to find regular TV programming. And there is no tub, only a shower. A very modern shower with a rain fall shower head, but there was no tub.

The checkin was unique in our travel experiences (we spend about 50 nights a year in hotels) in that, we were seated in front of a desk and the checkin was a little like a business interview and orientation. More that we could handle after a long drive in the rain.

Now for the positive. These people will bend over backwards to try and make you comfortable and happy. The common areas like the lobby and corridors are very modern and nice. We did not eat at the 1808 grill, but did order room service. While the delivery was a little slower than most the food was terriffic.

In summary, we obviously did not enjoy our stay. But this might be absolutely perfect for someone born after 1975 or so. Bad first dates are so disappointing.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bdagley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SPANashville, General Manager at Hutton Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Thank you for the review and I would like to apologize for the size of the room. I appreciate your comments about the key card and we will look at added directions to make this a more intuitive process. We do have rooms with tubs and I am certain we have a room you would enjoy. Please do contact me on your next visit so we can get you in a great room.

Best regards,
Steven Andre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Voorhees, New Jersey
Level Contributor
80 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

We stayed here for a weekend visit and were very pleased. The hotel has a funky updated decor. The rooms are comfortable, spacious and clean with luxurous bathrooms. The staff met our every need. Shout out to Laura, the concierge, and Jake, the valet and shuttle driver (be sure to use this complimentary service).

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bzucknj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nashville hotels
Omni Nashville Hotel
#6 of 154 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,955 reviews
Thompson Nashville
#2 of 154 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Loews Vanderbilt Hotel
#9 of 154 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,483 reviews
Downtown Nashville
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
#14 of 154 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,597 reviews
Downtown Nashville
Hotel Indigo Nashville
Hotel Indigo Nashville
#23 of 154 in Nashville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hutton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hutton Hotel

Property: Hutton Hotel
Address: 1808 West End Ave, Nashville, TN 37203-2506
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Nashville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Nashville
#4 Business Hotel in Nashville
#4 Romantic Hotel in Nashville
#8 Luxury Hotel in Nashville
#12 Family Hotel in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hutton Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hutton Hotel redefines Southern luxury with unparalleled service and elegant, contemporary design. Nashville’s only Four-Star property is a member of Leading Hotels of the World, and has been named to Travel + Leisure’s T+L 500, Travel + Leisure’s World’s Best, and the Conde Nast Traveler Hot List. Nestled in the heart of popular midtown, the hotel blends effortless access to attractions, businesses, and nightlife with gracious hospitality and thoughtful service. Guest rooms are appointed for refined comfort and modern convenience with flat-screen TVs, media hubs and rain showerheads. We offer multiple room types, including suites and unique Cardio Kings, equipped with in-room elliptical machines. Hutton Hotel is also nationally recognized for its innovative green initiatives, examples of which you find all the way from your guest room to the parking garage. Service is our first priority, and, from housekeeping to concierge, our staff is pleased to assist with any need. A few additional comforts you’ll find at the Hutton included complimentary manager’s wine reception Monday – Thursday, 5pm—6pm; a Tesla Model S all electric courtesy vehicle available for destinations within a 3-mile radius of the property; a state-of-the art fitness center; and complimentary Nespresso machines on every guest floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hutton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hutton Hotel Nashville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing