We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Declined since last stay; poor communications” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hutton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hutton Hotel
Ranked #19 of 154 Hotels in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence
Highland Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Declined since last stay; poor communications”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

We had stayed at the Hutton previously and enjoyed it. Unfortunately, our return visit did not live up to expectations. We booked well in advance since we had 2 kids, a boy and girl. We were told we had to book a king suite in order to get both a fold out bed and rollaway cot to accommodate both kids. We were assured this was OK, but when we got to the hotel, only the fold-out sofa bed was set up. When we called about this, we were initially told the rollaway was against fire code. We then pointed out to Hutton management that they had done the same thing for us during our prior stay, and they had pulled the desk out of the room in preparation for us. After a long delay, a rollaway arrived. The following morning, housekeeping rang our doorbell at 8 am on a Sunday. Unless you actively turn off your doorbell light, they wake you up. But, they did not tell us this. There are a lot of positives to this hotel. The facilities are new, including the beds, carpet and bath. The restaurant is excellent. The bellhop gave revise directions to our next stop. But the overall poor communications from the hotel make it unlikely that I will return.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PaulMikado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SPANashville, General Manager at Hutton Hotel, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
I am very sorry about the poor communication that you received from our team. It is imperative that our team effectively communicate to our guests. I have spoken to our Front Desk Manager about this to ensure each of our Associates is communicating the correct information to our guest.

We value your business at the Hutton and I would like to offer you an incentive to give us another opportunity to earn your business back. I can be contacted at sandre@huttonhotel.com

Sincerely,
Steven Andre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,765 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,153
    406
    113
    59
    34
See reviews for
250
680
84
449
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aurora, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

Several things were not up to standard here. We could not get cold water from the tap all night. Small room, too much stuff in there. Parking gate not working properly. Phone not working. Small bag of ice that was frozen solid, not much use at that point. We checked out two days early and that was a mess, said I paid with a on line co. When in fact I had not. Now I'm wondering if I can get credit for two nights that we were not there.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jody H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SPANashville, General Manager at Hutton Hotel, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear Jody,

I would like to apologize for the issues you had while our guest. This is certainly not acceptable and we are taking the appropriate actions to ensure this does not occur in the future. I would like an opportunity to further discuss your stay.

Sincerely,
Steven Andre
sandre@huttonhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

The hotel was very nice and had an amazing shower! However, a lot of details were overlooked and/or misrepresented. Our bathroom outlet had no cover, or IP phone did not work for some of the time we were there. The layout of our room was awkward with not much room to get around the bed. We went to get some ice and it was in little baggies that were all stuck together so we couldn't get it out of the freezer. Once we did, we couldn't get it into any glass since it took the form of a hard block in a sandwich bag. The staff was very kind and I had a great massage at the hotel. We ended up leaving 2 days early and checking in to another hotel. You can tell a lot of hard work was put into the hotel but some of the small things added up. Like the exit closest to the wall for the self park was not working and when we flagged down a valet he got us out but couldn't answer any questions about whether we did something wrong or even if we had in and out privileges (we did). When we came in later that evening they had not fixed the broken exit or posted it as not working because we ended up helping someone out who was in our same position. We did not find the hotel close to the things we wanted however they had a complimentary shuttle that ended at 10:30 pm.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SPANashville, General Manager at Hutton Hotel, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Dear Christina,

I would like to apologize for the issues you had while our guest. I agree that the details are what makes the difference from a mediocre experience to a great experience. Please be assured we are addressing the issues you mentioned and ensuring we have the right processes in place so the details are right the first time. Not after our guests has to bring them to our attention.

Warm regards,
Steven Andre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gallatin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

My wife & I decided to have our anniversary dinner at Kayne Prime in Nashville. After dinner we thought we'd be spontaneous & stay at this hotel, since we've heard great things about it. Let me say, the hotel was very nice. Everything from the lobby to the rooms were excellent. We checked in around 9pm, and we both woke up to people talking very loudly in the hall. We both continued to wake up every 30 mins or so to people slamming doors and/or talking loudly in the hall. We could only assume they were all drunk. While this isn't the hotel's fault, I expected the walls to be more than paper thin with as nice of hotel as it is, and for the rate. We couldn't take it anymore around 3am, so we decided to just leave & go home. One might argue that we should have called the front desk to send someone up to monitor the hall, but in my experience, that doesn't do any good (that is, IF the hotel even sends someone). Anyway, we were over it and just wanted to be back in our own beds.

Here is where the bigger issue lied with me - When we checked out, I explained our issue to the person at the front desk and asked there be a partial credit or something, since we only stayed 6 hours. I wasn't trying to get a free room or anything, but it was just ridiculous for us to pay the full rate when we didn't stay a full night due to a bad experience. The front desk attendant wasn't apologetic one bit. He didn't say he was sorry we had a bad experience or anything. He said he'd have to ask his manager about the room credit. He walks to the back, behind his desk (I assume where the office is), and comes back and says that his manager will give us half off the room. This worked for me, but it really bothered me that even the manager didn't come out and apologize to us. The manager didn't even come out and speak to us at all. Even after fully checking out, the front desk attendant still didn't apologize for our bad experience. Professional hotel staff? What a joke.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ryan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SPANashville, General Manager at Hutton Hotel, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
I would like to apologize for the loud guests on the floor. We do have people on our team that do patrol the halls to limit any type of noise on the guest room floors. I have spoken to our Manager to ensure we are being extra dilligent about our rounds so our guests can enjoy a quiet nights sleep.

The response you received from our front desk is not acceptable. If there is an issue our entire team should be doing whatever it takes to ensure the situation is corrected. I have spoken to our Front Desk team to ensure we are properly responding to all guest concerns.

Regards,
Steven Andre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed for a long weekend in December and had an amazing stay! From valet to front desk to housekeeping the service is impeccable. It might be considered a bit of a splurge to some (rate was $215+valet parking) but its totally worth it. West End is nice area, they have a shuttle that will take you downtown. Rooms were great, it was a getaway for us and it was quiet, we heard no construction even though a bank and something else are going up on either side. It was rather cold when we were there and in the late afternoon they have hot cider available which was so good after being in the cold! We will definitely be back to Nashville and when we do we will always stay at the Hutton Hotel.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dannysgirl13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SPANashville, General Manager at Hutton Hotel, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We do get several comments on the warm cider at this time of year and glad you were able to enjoy it.

Warm regards,
Steven Andre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

The Hutton's website accurately describes the experience that our directors and key executives encountered during their recent stay and meeting, “…warm and welcoming service that gives a new meaning to the term 'Southern Hospitality'."

Curtis Hinton and his team were responsive and took care of our group every step of the way – even all of the last minute changes/requests. Their customer service really came into play when winter weather threatened Nashville and Curtis was able to secure an additional night’s stay for one director whose flight was cancelled.

They truly validate the term “Southern Hospitality” and it is this type of experience that makes us Nashville!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank QueenofitAll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SPANashville, General Manager at Hutton Hotel, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
The weather has been a little interesting in Nashville this year. I am glad that Curtis was able to take great care of you and your group. We are very fortunate to have him as part of our team.

Warm regards,
Steven Andre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benton, Kentucky
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

Very enjoyable weekend get-away with my lovey wife. The Hutton staff were very polite, friendly & professional. Contemporary décor tastefully styled and assists to create a relaxed but classy ambiance. We recommend it & will stay there again!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SPANashville, General Manager at Hutton Hotel, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Nashville is always a great weekend escape! Please let me know if I may be of assistance the next time you are visiting Music City.

Warm regards,
Steven Andre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nashville hotels
Omni Nashville Hotel
#6 of 154 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,964 reviews
Thompson Nashville
#2 of 154 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Loews Vanderbilt Hotel
#9 of 154 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,487 reviews
Downtown Nashville
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
#13 of 154 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,600 reviews
Downtown Nashville
Hotel Indigo Nashville
Hotel Indigo Nashville
#23 of 154 in Nashville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hutton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hutton Hotel

Property: Hutton Hotel
Address: 1808 West End Ave, Nashville, TN 37203-2506
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Nashville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Nashville
#4 Romantic Hotel in Nashville
#4 Business Hotel in Nashville
#8 Luxury Hotel in Nashville
#12 Family Hotel in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hutton Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hutton Hotel redefines Southern luxury with unparalleled service and elegant, contemporary design. Nashville’s only Four-Star property is a member of Leading Hotels of the World, and has been named to Travel + Leisure’s T+L 500, Travel + Leisure’s World’s Best, and the Conde Nast Traveler Hot List. Nestled in the heart of popular midtown, the hotel blends effortless access to attractions, businesses, and nightlife with gracious hospitality and thoughtful service. Guest rooms are appointed for refined comfort and modern convenience with flat-screen TVs, media hubs and rain showerheads. We offer multiple room types, including suites and unique Cardio Kings, equipped with in-room elliptical machines. Hutton Hotel is also nationally recognized for its innovative green initiatives, examples of which you find all the way from your guest room to the parking garage. Service is our first priority, and, from housekeeping to concierge, our staff is pleased to assist with any need. A few additional comforts you’ll find at the Hutton included complimentary manager’s wine reception Monday – Thursday, 5pm—6pm; a Tesla Model S all electric courtesy vehicle available for destinations within a 3-mile radius of the property; a state-of-the art fitness center; and complimentary Nespresso machines on every guest floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hutton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hutton Hotel Nashville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing