We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just misses a five”
Review of Hutton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hutton Hotel
Ranked #17 of 154 Hotels in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Just misses a five”
Reviewed 7 October 2010

Lovely stay for four nights. Room was a bit tight but was furnished nicely and well decorated. Bathroom somewhat unique with a square toilet and square shower head spraying from the ceiling. Beautiful large plexiglass sink with wonderful space on each side of the molded sink and a shelf to boot. Towels large and soft. Cleaning daily was exceptional. Green hotel requiring insertion of room key to activate lights and removing when exiting room. Elevators were prompt and speedy. Truly gracious personnel from reception dest to housekeeping to room service. Wonderfully trained staff.
A few negatives were: quality of complimentary wine was pretty poor, restaurant menu was not appealing or appetizing, stale peanuts in mini bar (they didn't charge us). Valet parking was costly, but they were very prompt and upbeat.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crossword fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,825 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,197
    415
    119
    60
    34
See reviews for
266
696
85
463
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Virginia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2010

Looks like an old 60's Holiday In or maybe an apartment building but don't let the exterior fool you. This is an outstanding moderate-size hotel in downtown Nashville.
Located downtown, but a short walk or taxi from all the action (about 1 mile from the arena and honky-tonks). A courtesy car helps with transportation needs and the hotel has a connected parking garage if you brring your own car.
Great accommodations including nice rooms, a modern lobby and good restaurant/bar. The food and drinks were good. The room was large (we wre upgraded to a king suite) and quiet; the bed was very comfortable; the bathroom was modern and all the appliances (televisions, coffee maker, digital shower, Internet) worked well. The staff was very friendly and energetic.
If you want downtown, this is the hotel to choose.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveldog86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed 14 September 2010

It's as good as the Four Seasons or Better. the Whole staff is Excellent. Special thanks to Gary C. Thanks, Tim and Lisa

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimSim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
100 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2010

This hotel truly deserves a 5 star rating. The staff is excellent, the room (we had a king suite) very modern with a luxurious feel (eg. digital shower control and L'Occitane products) and the lobby/main areas artsy and laid-back. Each floor has a nespresso coffeemaker with free coffee, a nice touch I have never seen before.

The 1808 Grill served excellent breakfast, though a bit on the price side. We also had lunch one day, and that seemed like a better value.

The hotel offers complimentary car service, a great thing since the hotel is a 7 minute or so drive to downtown. Be aware though, they only have one car, so if its occupied, you have to take a taxi.

Regarding the location, we were a bit skeptical at first. But we soon discovered that the area actually has a cool and up-and-coming vibe, with some really interesting restaurants etc. a stonethrow away from the hotel.

If we have to point out some negative sides, the in-room aircon is quite noisy (had to switch it off during the night), and the hallway aircon even worse. If you also take into consideration that the hotel is next to a busy road/boulevard, light sleepers should bring ear plugs. We got a room next to an engine/electricity room, and combined with the aircon directly outside the door, we asked to change room after one night due to the noise. They were more than willing to let us switch room (they even offered help us to pack), and took the issue both politely and seriously.

Considering the rate we got from our travel agent, the stay was a real bargain. We feel that Hutton Hotel earns a place in the same league as other top end hotels like Ritz Carlton etc., but at a much lower price. I would not stay at any other hotel in Nashville – and the hotel itself is probably a good enough reason to visit the city.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jens h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2010

This hotel likes to bill your visa card until they get it right. Stayed just three nights on the summer special and found out that they cannot bill correctly. I spoke directly with the mananger Angela, I found her to be less than professional on the phone as she "spoke over me" and passed the buck off to accounting. Now I have to chase them to correct their billing problems. Also, found that the rooms can be cramped and loud at times. Will not trust this place due to the billing problems and over charges. Watch out !!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank abong33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2010

We went to Nashville for a wedding and a few other friends decided to stay at the Hutton instead of the Holiday Inn where there were blocked rooms. We paid an extra $10-15 per night to stay at this hotel which was very beautiful and just as convenient to the wedding location (on Vanderbilt University campus) as the Holiday Inn. We aren't hotel snobs, but it was very nice and similar to staying at a W hotel or fancy Hyatt. The beds were huge, the rooms were very clean and the showers were my favorite part - the shower stream was out of the ceiling and felt like you were bathing in a waterfall - sublime! Like most things in Nashville, it is very convenient to a lot of things by car. You could walk to the trendy Belcourt Theater area and back, in about 3 miles round trip. There is parking at the hotel, but it's quite expensive so we found free street parking behind the hotel which was very convenient and safe. The direct neighborhood isn't anything special, but it was a great place to come back to lay your head after sightseeing, shopping and partying. The staff were almost overly cheerful and helpful, and the girl at the Starbucks stand even gave me free refills on my fountain soda when i came down for breakfast. That, my friends, is service! :)

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolinestravels83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2010

I have stayed in many upscale hotels in USA and foreign countries. This hotel rates with the most luxurious. This hotel is superior due to extreme cleanliness and freshness, staff, room and food. The air is circulated throughout the hallways and rooms consistently, the drinking water is purifed 3 times, and the beds are very comfortable. I have allergies and often times become asthmatic in hotels since the carpets are old and moldy. The food is exceptional. The staff are very helpful, from the valet, to the conceirge. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone, particulary the picky travelers like me.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bcallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nashville hotels
Omni Nashville Hotel
#6 of 154 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,231 reviews
Loews Vanderbilt Hotel
#10 of 154 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thompson Nashville
#7 of 154 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Downtown Nashville
Hotel Indigo Nashville
Hotel Indigo Nashville
#22 of 154 in Nashville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,163 reviews
Downtown Nashville
Sheraton Grand Nashville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hutton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hutton Hotel

Property: Hutton Hotel
Address: 1808 West End Ave, Nashville, TN 37203-2506
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Davidson County > Nashville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Nashville
#4 Romantic Hotel in Nashville
#4 Business Hotel in Nashville
#7 Luxury Hotel in Nashville
#12 Family Hotel in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hutton Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hutton Hotel redefines Southern luxury with unparalleled service and elegant, contemporary design. Nashville’s only Four-Star property is a member of Leading Hotels of the World, and has been named to Travel + Leisure’s T+L 500, Travel + Leisure’s World’s Best, and the Conde Nast Traveler Hot List. Nestled in the heart of popular midtown, the hotel blends effortless access to attractions, businesses, and nightlife with gracious hospitality and thoughtful service. Guest rooms are appointed for refined comfort and modern convenience with flat-screen TVs, media hubs and rain showerheads. We offer multiple room types, including suites and unique Cardio Kings, equipped with in-room elliptical machines. Hutton Hotel is also nationally recognized for its innovative green initiatives, examples of which you find all the way from your guest room to the parking garage. Service is our first priority, and, from housekeeping to concierge, our staff is pleased to assist with any need. A few additional comforts you’ll find at the Hutton included complimentary manager’s wine reception Monday – Thursday, 5pm—6pm; a Tesla Model S all electric courtesy vehicle available for destinations within a 3-mile radius of the property; a state-of-the art fitness center; and complimentary Nespresso machines on every guest floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hutton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hutton Hotel Nashville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing