We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disillusioned” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Preston

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Preston
Ranked #64 of 154 Hotels in Nashville
Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disillusioned”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

Forget any idea that you are booking an idiosyncratic boutique hotel. Keep your expectations low and it is a reasonable value. Don't eat there. Depressing dining room. Low end bar. Awful lighting in bedroom corridors.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Woolsthorpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Preston09, Manager at Hotel Preston, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
It's truly disappointing to read that you were unimpressed with our hotel. I know you mentioned the lighting in the bedroom corridors, but if there's anything else we could improve on, from the bar to the rooms, please don't hesitate to reach out with more details.

Take care,
Steven Hoida
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    634
    663
    501
    277
    186
See reviews for
510
641
162
533
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

It's not near much, but you're close to everything. If you have a vehicle.

Rooms look just like in the pictures on the website, if a bit scruffy. As always the bed was a bit soft for my taste, but you may enjoy it. My A/C unit was noisy, but good white noise, except when it cycled.

A few of the bulbs in the bathroom fixture were missing. Replace them and the bathroom might not be so dark.

Quiet and everyone was super-nice.

Worth the money, and free parking.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RuthlessBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Preston09, Manager at Hotel Preston, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
I'm happy to read you enjoyed your stay overall. As for the light bulbs, please don't ever feel funny bringing things like this to our attention! Our staff is always happy to help fix anything that's not working properly in the moment. That said, if you're ever back in the area, we'd love to have you.

Until then,
Steven Hoida
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
116 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

Funky hotel!

This place is super-convenient to the airport (although beware! It is NOT on Briley Parkway, but on a side street called "Envious." Seriously.) with a free shuttle.

The rooms are enormous. My corner room was seriously the size of a small house. Sadly, the space wasn't used as well as it could have been. A fridge and/or microwave would have made this perfect, especially since there's nothing within walking distance except a gas station.

The staff was friendly and the bed was comfy. My only complaint is that the internet is painfully slow. At some times it completely drops out and that can be

Room Tip: Higher floors offer a city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank texasbrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Preston09, Manager at Hotel Preston, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Brian, I'm happy to read you enjoyed your house-sized room here! Although refrigerators in the rooms aren't something we've got in the works, we appreciate your input, as this is something to consider! Also, I appreciate the feedback on the internet -- it's something we've heard a few times lately, so we're definitely working on it. In any case. I hope all is well and know that you're welcome back the next time you're in Nashville!

Until then,
Steven Hoida
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

Saw some poor reviews of his hotel but got a real good price so gave it a try. I found this to be a great place to stay. Front desk person was very nice gave us a room on an upper floor with view of the city about 10 miles away. Room was big very clean and comfortable.No free breakfast wifi in room worked well. The hotel was quite full but seemed real quiet. It is located close to Opryland and The Hermatige home of Andrew Jackson sites we wanted to see .
We liked this hotel so much we stayed an extra night, probably one of the best hotel we stayed in during our 5 week road trip.

Room Tip: Try for upper level room for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerald C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Preston09, Manager at Hotel Preston, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
One of the best hotels during your five-week road trip? What a compliment, Gerald! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay here from the staff to your room and its city view (enough to stay a second night!). You're welcome back any time.

Best,
Steven Hoida
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

We picked this for a one night stay and were pleasantly surprised. For the price, we got a much better experience than expected. The beds were comfortable, the bathroom was clean and we had plenty of free hotel provided toiletries awaiting us upon arrival. Very close to downtown, which was our destination for the evening. Nice bar area on the main level and very friendly/helpful staff. Only thing I would change is adding a refrigerator to the rooms.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Preston09, Manager at Hotel Preston, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Happy to read you enjoyed your stay with us, Jason! Thanks for the feedback on the refrigerators for the rooms -- it's not necessarily something we're planning for at the moment, but it's something to consider moving forward. Hope to see you again the next time you're in Nashville!

Take care,
Steven Hoida
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

I recently stayed overnight at Hotel Preston during a business conference that was held there. Upon entering the hotel, I notice the artistic, eclectic decor. It was nice seeing such beautiful "funky" artwork and furnishings instead of a bland beige hotel. The front desk was very friendly and got me checked in fast. The hotel is located right off the interstate so it's easy access and was very easy to find. The room was very clean. The King size bed was so comfy and the bedding was very soft. During our conference we had lunch at the on site restaurant and they were also very accomodating and the food was good. I highly recommend this hotel and I would stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lvick81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Preston09, Manager at Hotel Preston, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
A comfy bed and friendly staff -- what more could we ask for in a review? Thanks for the compliments on everything from your room to our funky decor. Hope to see you again the next time you're in Nashville!

Until then,
Steven Hoida
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

Do not be fooled by what you read here. These reviews were written by very stupid foolish people who do not realize that they could have been surcharged $75.00 for room service. The staff pretend to be friendly while sticking you for this extra charge,

The room stuck of air freshner. At first when My husband and I arrived there they claimed I did not have a reservation and that they would have to see if a room was available. We concluded our business trip in less than 3 hrs and they absolutely refused to initiate any sort of refund. They said I would get my $75.00 back within 7- 10 business days. Never happened. I have just contacted ebookings.com to request a full refund of unused time. We left because they made us sick to our stomachs with their stupidity.

I hope and pray for them because they are going to need it .

Sincerely,

Beverly Noble

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Beverly N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Preston09, Manager at Hotel Preston, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Beverly, I'm shocked to read this review. It sounds like there were some serious miscommunications on our end about check in dates and times, and for that, I am sorry. I can assure you that we only ever charge for room service that's received, so I'm not exactly sure what happened here. What's more, we would never intentionally make false promises about anything, especially when it comes to refunds, so I can only imagine that there was some sort of mix up here, and I apologize for any inconveniences this may have caused you and your husband. I'd like to make things right, so please don't hesitate to give me a call at (615) 361-5900.

However, while we welcome feedback from all of our guests, it's disheartening to see that we made you and your husband "sick to your stomachs with our stupidity," as that's not the type of feedback we ever hear, nor is it the impression we'd like to leave on our guests. We treat all of our guests here with respect, and I'd appreciate it if you showed us the same courtesy. That said, if you have any constructive feedback to share, I'm all ears.

Take care,
Steven Hoida
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nashville hotels
1.4 mi away
Club-Hotel Nashville Inn & Suites
1.1 mi away
Sheraton Music City Hotel
Sheraton Music City Hotel
#50 of 154 in Nashville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,609 reviews
5.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Suites Near Opryland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Millennium Maxwell House Nashville
4.6 mi away
Clarion Hotel Nashville Downtown - Stadium
4.0 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Nashville/South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Preston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Preston

Property: Hotel Preston
Address: 733 Briley Pkwy, Nashville, TN 37217-1301
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Nashville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 154 Hotels in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Preston 3.5*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Preston is a delightfully uncommon Nashville hotel. Conveniently located near Nashville International Airport, just minutes from both downtown Nashville and Opryland, Hotel Preston caters to vacationers and business travelers alike with an only-in-Music City combination of creativity and sass. With an eclectic art collection and unique touches like lava lamps, rubber duckies and pet fish delivered upon request, Hotel Preston moves to its own beat.The hotel’s distinctive rooms, designed with custom furniture, eye-catching colors and unimaginably comfortable beds, have attracted worldwide media attention. Each room has a You Want It, You Got It button that caters to guests’ needs or whimsical desires: high-speed wireless Internet access, Aveda bath products, a Pillow Menu and Spiritual Menu.Hotel Preston offers state of the art meeting facilities with 7,408 sq. ft. of space including the 4,400 sq. ft. Gather Ballroom. Café Isabella serves up Italian comfort food with southern roots at Hotel Preston and caters to guests for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The hotel also boasts The Pink Slip, located off the lobby, where cocktails are served nightly and live music is showcased most nights and an inviting outdoor pool that is open seasonally. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and TravelClick so you can book your Hotel Preston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Preston Hotel Nashville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing