We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even Diamond Platinum members get treated poorly here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Nashville/Vanderbilt
Ranked #25 of 155 Hotels in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Even Diamond Platinum members get treated poorly here”
Reviewed 20 September 2010

We had reservations for one night and had to check in late (and noted that in the reservation). Were given a smoking room which was intolerable. Half a dozen people were still waiting to check in despite the late check-in. Were told there were no more rooms. Were moved to a different hotel with higher parking fees and had to argue with the other hotel about who was going to pay for the parking (in the hotel we did not book but were moved to.) Management at the hotel was unsympathetic and inhospitable. They changed their tune when they learned that we were Platinum members of Hilton Honors, but our stance was that no one should be treated this way and no one should be sent to a smoke-filled room without an apology when a non-smoking room had been booked, etc. A total disappointment. Poor management, poor training, awful customer service and despite being loyal to Hilton in the past, we will never stay at either of these Hilton hotels in the future.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank knothomeeither
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,551 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    857
    431
    168
    66
    29
See reviews for
341
383
48
493
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2010

As a business traveler, I am very famiiar with hotels and this hotel offered me exactly what I was looking for: free internet, workout room with weights and cardio machines, and a good night's sleep. The staff were the highlight of the establishment and the location can not be beat. Also, upon arriving, I was happy to learn that there are plenty of eating options (fast food and sit down) within walking distance. (Though I would not suggest visiting the nearby Lime if you hungry... food was not great and I wish I had gone to the 1808 Grill @ the Hutton House).

My only disgruntled experience with this hotel had to do with the cigarrette smell that was present. I had to ask to be moved from my first room due to the odor and upon entering my second room I was relieved to be able to breathe easier... until I entered the bathroom. Either an earlier guest had smoked in the bathroom OR a current guest in a nearby room was smoking in their bathroom and the smell was traveling through the venilation system. Either way, it is disgusting (my towels smelled bad) and I wish the hotel would be more strict about their smoking policies (seeing as how both rooms were non-smoking). If not for this, the hotel would have been perfect.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicole75077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 September 2010

Couldn't check in until 4pm? - no room ready at 3pm?? ridiculous. Pay $18+ to self park? ridiculous. No complimentary breakfast, and instead charged $9.95 to serve yourself buffet? ridiculous. Advertised our room as one with a couch and a sleep number adjustable bed - both untrue. No couch, no sleep number/adjustable bed. Small room. Was afraid to use the coffeemaker in the morning in case we'd be charged for it. Desk personnel at check in - not pleasant. Oh, and the shower head was too high and did not adjust easily at all. and - towel rack was INSIDE the shower, because it was more important to have artwork on the wall in the bathroom where the towel racks should have gone. Way overpriced hotel experience. Only good thing is that it was convenient to what we were there for downtown. Have had better experiences at Quality or Comfort Inns - their rooms were just as nice and clean at those hotels. Don't waste your money.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank rebeccalily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nashbill, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Nashville/Vanderbilt, responded to this review, 15 September 2010
Dear rebeccalily,

Thank you for the review on tripadvisor.com. We always like to know how our guests experience our hotel. I am sorry that you felt our hotel fell short of your expectations while visiting Nashville. We do our best to meet everyone's expectations and make sure that all of our guests are aware of what we offer.

I am sorry that we did not succeed while you were a guest of ours. All of the information on our website is up to date (i.e. check in time, parking costs, and breakfast price/description- By the way ALL Hilton Garden Inn's charge for breakfast for their breakfast buffets). And it also describes our Garden Sleep System Beds. ALL of our beds are adjustable and each room has an in-room comfort guide to alert our guests how to adjust them.( For future reference: the knob is on the top side of the mattress under the sheet.).

Thanks again for your review and for visiting Music City. We hope you choose us again the next time you're in town.

Sincerely,
Juan C. Mera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2010

It was good to have a new hotel in the Vanderbilt, West End area of town. Central to everything. The hotel was nice and the price was reasonable but they did charge for parking and getting to the parking garage from the hotel required an outside walk (not good in the rain). It was convenient.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abst14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nashbill, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Nashville/Vanderbilt, responded to this review, 15 September 2010
Dear abst14,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor.com. We appreciate the comments! We are glad to be here in the Vanderbilt area as it is a very convenient area for a lot of our guests. In regards to the walkway between the parking garage and the hotel; we are currently working on a solution to get it covered. Thank you again for the reveiw and we hope you chose to stay with us the next time you visit Nashville!

Sincerely,
Juan C. Mera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
US
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2010

We were met by the most wonderful valet staff here. You can self-park in the underground parking for a daily fee. There is no free parking around. The hotel is really nice! Rooms are large, clean and beautiful and beds are comfortable. There were some loud college students in the hall quite frequently, but amazingly, once we shut our door, we couldn't hear a thing. The hotel was completely booked while we were there, but hotel staff were handling it all well. We enjoyed a great breakfast buffet at the hotel. Although my daughter had the full buffet for $9, they adjusted my bill to accommodate just a limited breakfast for me...coffee and toast. I was glad that the only option for breakfast was the full buffet. There are very limited restaurants within walking distance, but the hotel is within a few minutes from downtown.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UsFuntraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens GA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2010

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The Staff was professional yet friendly. Our room was immaculate, beds were comfy. My only complaint was that when we arrived back to the hotel one afternoon it began to POUR rain as soon as we parked in the parking garage. Ther is no way to get into the hotel from the parking garage without walking outside. We waited 10 minutes and then just had to make a run for it. We got totally soaked. Also, the water does not drain correctly from the parking agrage and there were puddles of standing water 2" deep. I had to step in one of those just to get out of my car. Seems like these should not be issues in a new facility.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jojomama61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2010

I went to Nashville for the CMA fest with 3 girlfriends. My friends are American, and I am Australian. The city was packed, and I think the staff at the hotel were quite lovely and hospitable taking into account that their city pretty much doubles in tourism this time of year. The rooms were clean and nice, I had no issues at all. We had no problems getting everything that we asked for from the staff.

The hotel is in pretty good location, its not really right downtown, but took us like 5 minutes to get there. The free shuttle doesnt take you to LP field, so we caught taxis to get to the nightly concert (which are ridiculously cheap... compared to Aussie taxis) but they took us anywhere else we needed to go, and organised the taxis when it was too far.

I would have expected hotels to be busy at this time of year, but the hotel was pretty quiet and even when people were down in the lobby, it wasnt insane. i.e. people not here for the festival may not have noticed.... until they walked outside, of course.

My only real issue was that I thought I would pay when I checked out, but they 'hold' the funds on your card - this may be common in the US but I wasnt used to it and wasnt prepared for it, but I know now, and I have booked the hotel again for next CMA fest and will be better prepared :-)

Overall, I really enjoyed my stay here. It helped that I was at a music festival that compares to nothing I've ever experienced, and with 3 great friends, but still. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kristenlees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nashbill, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Nashville/Vanderbilt, responded to this review, 24 August 2010
Dear kristenlees,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review after your recent visit to the States! We are so glad we could host you and your friends while in Nashville for the CMA Fest. You're right, that is a VERY busy time for our city and out hotel. Thank you for the compliments to our hotel and we look forward to seeing you again at next year's CMA Festival!

Sincerely,
Juan C. Mera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nashville hotels
0.1 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Nashville Vanderbilt
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Nashville / Vanderbilt
0.7 mi away
Homewood Suites Nashville Vanderbilt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Nashville - Vanderbilt - Elliston Place
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Nashville at Vanderbilt
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Nashville Vanderbilt/West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Nashville/Vanderbilt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Nashville/Vanderbilt

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Nashville/Vanderbilt
Address: 1715 Broadway Avenue, Nashville, TN 37203-2709
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Davidson County > Nashville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Nashville
#4 Green Hotel in Nashville
#13 Romantic Hotel in Nashville
#16 Family Hotel in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Nashville/Vanderbilt 3*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in mid-town Nashville conveniently located off I-65/I-40 on Broadway Avenue. Within a short distance of our newly built hotel is Nashville's bustling downtown area, the famous Music Row, and both Belmont and Vanderbilt Universities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Nashville/Vanderbilt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Nashville/Vanderbilt Hotel Nashville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing