We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Bargain!”

Tennessee State Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$39.00*
and up
Nashville Trolley Tour
Ranked #22 of 245 things to do in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Tennessee State Museum is one of the largest state museums in the nation with more than 60,000-sq.-ft. of permanent exhibits and a 10,000-sq.-ft. changing exhibition hall where temporary exhibits are on view. The museum's interpretive exhibits begin 15,000 years ago with prehistoric humans and continue through the early 1900s with special sections on Native American Indians, explorers, pioneers, the Antebellum age, the Civil War, and the beginning of a new century. The State Museum is open every day except Mondays, and admission is free.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a Bargain!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

I have been meaning to visit the TN State Museum for a couple years now, being a resident of Nashville. I finally had a friend visiting and showed him around town, stopping here. It's hard to critique the TN State Museum without considering the fact that it's FREE. It's done very well and perfect for people who love history and relics. It's definitely wirth checking out, and the staff is so friendly.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Musiccitypubcrawl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    350
    222
    40
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
69 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Educational and FREE!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

anytime a museum with a lot of history is free, it is automatic a 5...two floors of history and right downtown.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank indyphotographer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great TN History”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

It is a wide variety of TN history including that of US president Andrew Jackson.

It has great displays, artifacts, and a spacious venue

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank kelly m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarksville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good collection of artifacts”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

Went here with friends primarily to view civil war displays. Our friends really liked the vast collections. I really liked how much of the items were found locally. It's free entry and we parked in the Music City Garage.
The had great activities for kids and you need about 3-4 hours to get around everything.

Helpful?
1 Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warren, Indiana
Level Contributor
291 reviews
125 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Don't Miss This!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

We have never visited a state museum (except our own) on a vacation. But after reading the reviews on Trip Advisor, we felt we needed to include this attraction. We were not disappointed. It's unbelievable that it is free. We spent 3 1/2 hours there! Another plus is that everyone we encountered who works there was very helpful. They encouraged us to visit the Military Branch Museum (from Spanish-American War to WWII) located in the War Memorial Building across the street as well as the state capitol. Don't miss this!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Frugalmama57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tennessee State Museum also viewed

Nashville, Davidson County
 
Nashville, Davidson County
 

Been to Tennessee State Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing