We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, but it's a Motel!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Inn at Opryland, A Gaylord Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Inn at Opryland, A Gaylord Hotel
Ranked #64 of 154 Hotels in Nashville
McKinney, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good location, but it's a Motel!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

If I only had to review the lobby it would get a 10, very nice. But then we found out that our room was on the outside "Motel". Walked into our room and got an instant small of mildew, old smoke and our room was 95 degrees. Called the front desk to try to get moved and they said sorry but we cannot help you.
Left for a conference the next morning and when we got back our room was 90 degrees again! It took until the day we left to get the ac fixed! We figured out why our room smelt like smoke, cause the area outside our room was used as a smoking stop!! Cigarette butts all over the ground...gross. The bar food was good and fairly priced. I WILL NOT ever stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank needmorevactions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,086 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    233
    315
    268
    166
    104
See reviews for
255
315
30
261
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (374)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
277 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

Stayed in this hotel during the repairs to the Gaylord at Opryland, so things in the area were not running up to par. The lobby is awesome and the Applebee's there is excellent. The rooms are average but the beds are very comfortable. No wifi in the rooms, so I spent a lot of time in the lobby working and watching TV. The hotel provide a paid shuttle bus to downtown which is helpful, but beware; do not miss it on your way back or they will leave you. It happened to my son at 2:00 am. Front desk service is very goosd and they go out of their way to help you with anything. There are some restaurants in the area and the mall nearby is a plus.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pedro T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quiana T, Manager at The Inn at Opryland, A Gaylord Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Hello Pedro T.! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am very happy to read that our front desk staff was very helpful to you and your family and that you enjoyed our beds.

Additionally, if you loved the Applebee's that we used to have here at the Inn, you will truly love our new restaurant called the Opry Backstage Grill! It features southern cuisine coupled with singing servers, two things that Nashville is famous for.

We have also updated our property to include complimentary wifi internet service.

Looking forward to seeing you the next time that you are in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
387 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

We were only here for 1 night,luckily. The hotel was clean and staff was friendly. There was only 1 elevator, our room was on the third floor just off the elevator. You could hear everyone coming and going,conversations,kids running up and down the halls at all hours of the night. The sleep number beds were not our cup of tea. There was a refrigerator and safe in the room as well as a small closet. The bathroom was a tight fit with toilet and shower. If you aren't planning on spending much time at a hotel this might be an ok place to crash but I wouldn't advise for more than a few days or for business travel. This may be a Gaylord hotel but nothing about it felt Gaylord, it felt more Inn.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Williamsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quiana T, Manager at The Inn at Opryland, A Gaylord Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Hello Ms. Katie,

Thank you so much for your feedback. I am happy to read that our hotel was clean and our staff was friendly as we do pride ourselves on those attributes! We understand that the sleep number beds are not loved by all and offer an alternative comfortable pillow top mattress. Please request this if you visit us in the future as we would love for you to give us another try as the hotel tends to settle down a bit as school draws nearer.

Thanks again for your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
240 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

Check-in was an unmitigated disaster. I waited in line over 15 minutes to check-in, while the understaffed desk tried to find rooms and straighten out reservations. Finally someone in management woke up and they opened 2 other stations at the desk. My first question to the clerk was "is this really a Marriott?". It is a large atrium hotel and as a platinum member I was on the top floor and away from the pool. The atrium is an absolute echo chamber, but it did not bother me on this particular stay. If they had an event in the atrium though I would have heard it. The exercise room is decent, but they never were able to get the empty water replaced on the cooler, so you might want to bring your own (this is even after I called to let them know it was empty).
The rooms are in good shape and mine was clean and the furniture and carpet were in good condition.
Be warned that this hotel is partially an interior hotel (atrium) and partially an exterior corridor hotel. This place is on a busy road, next to a busy Parkway. I have to think those exterior rooms are noisy.
You will find just about every fast food restaurant or family restaurant within close proximity. I ate dinner in the hotel restaurant. Think of it as a "Cracker Barrel" with BBQ.
Breakfast is not included in your rate. As a Platinum they offer "points" or $10 off breakfast. Breakfast is served in the atrium café, I did not try it but it looks like a "Fairfield" breakfast that instead of being complimentary you pay for it.
The WIFI worked well.
For my travel needs, once is enough at this place.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherpa2286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quiana T, Manager at The Inn at Opryland, A Gaylord Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Hello Sherpa2286,

Thank you for your feedback. I do apologize for your delay at check-in as we do strive to check our guests into the hotel within 5 minutes or less. I am glad to read that we did open up additional lines to expedite the check- in process and as a Platinum member of our Marriott Rewards program, we were able to honor your request for a high floor away from the pool area to mitigate any noise disturbances.

I am very happy to read that your room was clean and the complimentary wireless internet service worked well.

Thank you again for your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill
Level Contributor
266 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

We stayed one night here. There is no way I could have made it through another.

The hotel is organized around a central atrium. However, this basically acts as a concrete echo chamber. There is no soundproofing, either between the rooms and the hallway or the next room over. The hotel rents out the "atrium" space until 11:30 or midnight, even when the group renting doesn't have all the rooms - meaning that you'll be listening to the birthday party or family reunion with screaming children well past when you may want to go to bed. Additionally, the bars in TN don't close until 3:00 am - so expect to hear people coming back until at least 3:30 am. Now, the people aren't attempting to be loud - the construction is so poor that people even speaking at normal levels outside your door sound like they're in your bed. Definitely bring your own earplugs - but I'm not sure even the standard 33 dBa reduction would have been enough.

Also, a note for Marriott Platinum or other levels - don't expect your preferences to be honored. Despite Platinum status and a request for high floor, far from elevator, we were placed directly across from the elevator. Had to request pillows, which then took 45 minutes to arrive. No lounge or breakfast coupons.

We were staying on points, and it wasn't worth it for that. I felt horrible for the people paying $179 for the "experience" this hotel provided. To be fair, they've tried to redecorate the rooms - but without more soundproofing or a different design, nothing will make this place better.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank helsimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013 via mobile

Overall the hotel was very good. The only major problem we had was when we made reservations they said we could get a roll away bed. Upon arrival we were told our room type could not have a roll away or air mattress. Since we had 5 people and 2 double beds this was a problem. We ended up having to buy our own air mattress to use. Besides this it was a great hotel. The shuttle service offered to the mall, general Jackson, and Grand Ole Opry was great!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Micbryls15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quiana T, Manager at The Inn at Opryland, A Gaylord Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Hello Micbryls15.

Thank you so much for your great post! I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and our complimentary shuttle service to the near by attractions. I apologize for not being able to provide an additional bed for your room as it is a fire hazard but it sounds like you were able to make it work regardless.

We look forward to hosting you in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clermont, Florida
Level Contributor
255 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013 via mobile

The hotel is nicely maintained, and has southern charm. I love the atrium. Walking through that wherever you go just adds ambiance. Room was great. Love the select comfort bed. I gave them a four, as the staff needs some fine tuning, especially housekeeping. The clock was 4 1/2 hrs fast, took forever to figure out how to set. Food was left in fridge from previous guest. By the smell, it wasn't the last one. In the AM, room card wouldn't let me back in. There was no DO NOT DISTURB card in door pocket. Housekeeping knocked 3 times between 8:30 and 9:30 am, even though I told each of them I was leaving at 9:45 Hotel has awesome potential. I hope management reads this, and re-trains employees.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quiana T, Manager at The Inn at Opryland, A Gaylord Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Hello Jeffrey,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your most recent stay. I am happy to read that our hotel is well maintained and you loved the Atrium area as most guests enjoy this area to take advantage our breakfast experience located there or as a place to relax or use our complimentary wireless internet service to get some work done.

Overall I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and we will certainly use your feedback to improve our service here at do strive to provide flawless service to our guests.

Thanks again and we hope to see you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nashville hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Nashville - Opryland
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Nashville
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Suites Near Opryland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Nashville at Opryland
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Nashville/Opryland
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Nashville @ Opryland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Opryland, A Gaylord Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Opryland, A Gaylord Hotel

Property: The Inn at Opryland, A Gaylord Hotel
Address: 2401 Music Valley Drive, Nashville, TN 37214 (Formerly Radisson Hotel at Opryland)
Region: United States > Tennessee > Nashville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn at Opryland, A Gaylord Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our ideal location on Music Valley Drive next to Gaylord Opryland Resort and the Grand Ole Opry allows easy access to Nashville's world-famous attractions. We are also close to one of Nashville's premier shopping and entertainment complexes, Opry Mills Mall. Our Nashville hotel welcomes guests with warm hospitality and modern amenities in a vibrant, music-inspired atmosphere, making our hotel perfect for vacations, events and meetings alike. On-site conveniences include restaurants serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner; our large indoor pool; a newly renovated fitness center; plus 15,000 square feet of stylish meeting and event space. Come experience all Nashville has to offer from one of its most hospitable locations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Inn at Opryland, A Gaylord Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Hotel Nashville
Radisson At Opryland
Radisson Nashville
Nashville Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing