We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and fabulous staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University
Ranked #37 of 155 Hotels in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Level Contributor
152 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great location and fabulous staff”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Right on campus with views of the Vanderbilt football field and the Parthenon. Close to downtown and many restaurants. The staff was always excited to help us and everyone was so friendly. This is now our preferred hotel when visiting Nashville especially Vandy.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 386trugrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taylor H, Front Office Manager at Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Vanderbilt University. We are extremely pleased that you stay met your expectations and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

784 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    356
    229
    124
    48
    27
See reviews for
177
162
39
277
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
McAllen, Texas
Level Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

I came to Nashville for a company-sponsored training. The reservation for this hotel was done 2/24/14 for a 3 night stay starting 3/3/14. I called from the airport on 3/3/14 where I was coming from and spoke with Peter that my flight was delayed and I will be checking in late. He said he will make the necessary annotation. When I did come in at 11:00P.M. I was surprised at first that the front desk staff told me that I am not in their system for the 3 nights but was only booked for 1 night. That overnight stay is dated 3/5/14. He even asked me if I have the right Marriott. Now I am beginning to be upset at this point as I am tired of traveling and delays at the airport. All I want is to get some sleep and be ready to attend my training. There are some people that came in after me to check in and it was a breeze for them. It made me think that maybe since I belong in a minority group that I do not warrant the same service or that they can "push" me around without me saying anything. After a while and a lot of computer keystrokes later, they conveniently "found" me a room. I also used their complimentary shuttle the coming and going to my destination on the first day as it is within the 2 mile radius of the hotel. The morning shuttle was prompt. The afternoon shuttle was not. I called to be picked up at 3:17 P.M. but wasn't able to be there @the assigned time of 3:30. I called again & was informed that they'll come back in 15 minutes. It's already 4P.M. when I called again and was told that it'll take another 10 minutes. Still waiting up until 4:30 when I was about to call again and the shuttle finally showed up. Mind you, the temperature all this time that I was waiting outside was low 20's! It's freezing! I'm outside so that I can't miss the shuttle if and when it does pass by. Suffice it to say that I didn't use the shuttle again for the rest of my stay. Oh, and did I mention I found some hair in the bathtub before I even shower on the night I checked in?

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simpletexasgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taylor H, Front Office Manager at Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us at the Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt during your recent trip to Nashville, TN. It saddens me to know the issues you had once you arrived to hotel regarding your reservation since you had called ahead to let us know that you were on your way from the airport. The customer service shown at the time of checkin is not how we operate at the hotel and I will use this as a learning experience for our associates so next time it will be a fast and accurate checkin during the time of arrival.

I would also like to apologize for the amount of time it took for the shuttle to pick you up during the cold weather. The shuttle is on a first come first serve basis with higher demand in the evenings than in the morning.

Sorry once again for the issues you experienced and we hope to see you again when traveling to Nashville, TN.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
878 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

Booked a room at the last minute on a road trip to Nashville. Lobby and common areas were very nice. Hallways seemed a little dated but the rooms were suprisingly nice. Very comfortable. Hotel is right on Vanderbilt campus and across the street from the Parthenon. I would definitely stay here again, especially if going to see a game at Vanderbilt.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taylor H, Front Office Manager at Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us during your last minute road trip to Nashville, TN and for the great comments regarding the hotel. The hotel is a prime location for Vanderbilt sporting events due to the location and proximity to campus and we look forward to seeing you again when traveling to Nashville, TN.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

This hotel is great for middle to upper class guests. Although not cheap, you get your money's worth. Rooms are comfortable, food and room service is very good. Best of all, your are just down the street from all the happenings downtown. about 10mins away. So you can enjoy the downtown atmoshere and still get quiet sleep in your room. There are eating establishments within walking distance. Dont reallyt need a rental car there!

I give this hotel the highest marks......................

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taylor H, Front Office Manager at Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with us at the Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. The kind remarks your shared with us have been shared with the team here at the Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Nasvhille, TN.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
165 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

For a full service Marriott - and at a full service price, this was very disappointing. I am a Platinum member, so they did upgrade me to a suite. The suite was a terrible disappointment, It was large, but the furniture was horribly dated and resembled a mediocre 1980s hotel. The bathroom was not upgraded at all. The shower was a small walk in with old tiles and a cheap shower door. The grout in both the shower and on the bathroom floor was very dirty, and there was a drain in the middle of the bathroom floor. I expect much more from a suite.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WJ2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taylor H, Front Office Manager at Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us at the Nasvhille Marriott at Vanderbilt University during your recent trip to Nashville, TN and for sharing your comments with us regarding your stay. We are disappointed to know the upgrade you received did not meet your expectations and we have passed on your comments to our Housekeeping and Engineering team since we are constantly striving to better the hotel.

We hope to see you next time you are in Nashville, TN and we hope that your suggestions and improvements meet your expecations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

One can expect a certain level of quality when you stay at Marriott. The chain does a great job of maintaining consistency. That being said, some are better than others.
This hotel stands out as one of best. They go out of their way to ensure a great stay. That even includes having someone just inside the entrance to guide you if you need help. Particularly outstanding is the Concierge Lounge. Gail should be used as a model of how to be a concierge hostess: helpful, accommodating, and super friendly. The evening fare was more than appetizers. Corn beef and cabbage soup one night and shrimp bisque the next. Wow. I also enjoyed having dinner at the bar downstairs. Good food and good bartenders. Finally, i should say that Eddie at the front door was super helpful and a heck of a nice guy.

Room Tip: Get a view of the Parthenon which is beautifully lit at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taylor H, Front Office Manager at Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for recently staying with us and we are glad you enjoyed your time while in Nashville, TN. We are pleased that our hosts provided an excellent experience for you from arrival to departure and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nazareth, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
301 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Stayed here one night to visit Vanderbilt U. Obviously, very convenient for that purpose. Hotel itself is just average for a Marriott. Self-parking is not close and connected as in other Marriotts. But spaces are plentiful. Rooms are average size, beds are typical. We had a nice view of the "Parthenon". What stands out is the extreme friendliness and helpfulness of the staff, uniformly. From the valet parkers to the front desk, each staff member was very nice and willing to answer questions.
Fitness room was average.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjc43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan W, Manager at Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
The hotel takes the comments very seriously. We are just upgraded the entire bed/bedding combination and you'll find the rooms much more to your liking. We certainly hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you.

Our staff and their gracious hospitality is what we live for. We receive copious comments commending the service and demeanor our staff members. We thank you for acknowledging their efforts.

We look forward to your next visit with anticipation. Thank you again for your patronage.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nashville hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Nashville-Vanderbilt (Downtown)
0.5 mi away
Loews Vanderbilt Hotel
Loews Vanderbilt Hotel
#10 of 155 in Nashville
1,598 reviews
0.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Nashville at Vanderbilt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Nashville Vanderbilt/West End
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Nashville - Vanderbilt - Elliston Place
0.9 mi away
Hutton Hotel
Hutton Hotel
#17 of 155 in Nashville
1,853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University

Property: Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University
Address: 2555 W End Ave, Nashville, TN 37203-1423
Region: United States > Tennessee > Davidson County > Nashville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Nashville
#24 Business Hotel in Nashville
#30 Romantic Hotel in Nashville
#42 Family Hotel in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University 4*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Vanderbilt University campus, Marriott Hotel Nashville/Vanderbilt University is one of the area's premier West End Nashville hotels. We are a top choice for those looking for a convenient hotel near Vanderbilt University and we offer a great location close to other preferred destinations in Nashville, Tennessee. Our hotel overlooks the historic Vanderbilt University stadium, Centennial Park, and the famed Parthenon. In addition, our top-rated Nashville hotel offers a free downtown shuttle to check out all Music City has to offer. Park25 Bistro, featuring Chef Kimo Akana, serves an eclectic American menu that is comfy, local, and creative. Other amenities at our hotel include Marriott's new Entertainment Package to stream from personal Netflix, Hulu, and Pandora accounts. Marriott Hotel Nashville/Vanderbilt University also provides a renovated fitness center, self/valet parking, and a concierge level. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Nashville At Vanderbilt University Hotel Nashville
Marriott Vanderbilt University
Nashville Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing