We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice stay with great restaurant nearby”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University
Ranked #37 of 154 Hotels in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
419 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Nice stay with great restaurant nearby”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel was clean and the staff friendly. We took advantage of their shuttle to go downtown. I think the next time we go to Nashville we will probably stay in a hotel closer to the downtown. The Row Restaurant close to the hotel that is excellent for breakfast.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Marie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taylor H, Front Office Manager at Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great comments regarding the hotel and the friendly staff. We hope that next time you come to Nashville that you choose to stay with us once again.

Thanks,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    330
    218
    123
    45
    25
See reviews for
167
153
38
262
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carol Stream, Illinois
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

Had the pleasure of staying at this hotel Easter weekend - All the staff we met were friendly and professional. Went to a fantastic Easter Brunch with friendly and smiling restaurant staff - also nice executive chef and assistant chef who came out of the kitchen and talked to their guests. Food was plentiful and the speciality dishes were delicious. The prime rib just melted in your mouth!! And the desserts........ :-) We used the courtesy shuttle to go to church and the driver was kind and helpful. The bedding was plush and very comfortable. Overall a nice holiday weekend.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor room with a view toward the pantheon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stargazer_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carbondale, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

My husband stayed here for 3 nights in April 2014. Loved the hotels, so beautiful, and clean.
Our room had a wonderful view of the park, and it was quite spacious as was the bathroom.
The staff were all very friendly and helpful, especially the valets, and shuttle drivers. We loved having the shuttle to take us downtown and pickup - very convenient. The young men who drive were very professional and friendly!! (giving us tips on were to go - and the good restaurants).
I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the Nashville area, The restaurant on site was nice too; we ate there one morning, and in the Concierge lounge (what a view of the stadium!!) the other morning... 5 stars to all!!!!

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view.... high floors - can't go wrong, and take the shuttle, easier than f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charbros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

wow! great staff -,we were right across from Centennial park, too far to walk to the District downtown so the free shuttle was fantastic! all you had to do was call and they would come get you in 10/15 minutes - awesome! and all the drivers were super personable and funny! they also helped guide you to some cool spots too! Loved my pillows and the room - great place to stay

Room Tip: we had a choice of overlooking the park or the college football stadium, we chose the park - the sun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tlyn1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

Upon arrival the front desk was very accommodating and friendly. It was a pleasure staying here plus next to the Vandy campus. I would stay here again also has a PF changs next to the property or on the premises. The afternoon night manager was great and informative. I will be returning soon.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank endoritzr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taylor H, Front Office Manager at Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us at the Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt during your recent visit. The staff at the hotel is truly pleased the location of the hotel met your needs and the staff was accomodating and friendly. We look forward to seeing you again soon in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

I travel a lot due to work related assignments and this was by far my worst experience. I stayed in this hotel for 2 weeks and they basically ruined my perception of the whole Marriott brand. They lost laundry valued on 1000 USD and they only were willing to reimbursement half of that price because I wasn't travelling with the receipts. They took almost 7 days to inform about this decision and until now, I still don't have a clear response about my situation. Extremely overprice for the quality of the rooms and cleanliness of the place is far from perfect. If you are a sport fan, you will enjoy it, since it's in the middle of the Vanderbilt University area, and just in front of the Vanderbilt Stadium. All room ended on 1 will have a beautiful scene of the stadium and you will enjoy games just from your window. The fitness center is small and the room service menu is truly limited. On the good side, the restaurant is wonderful and breakfasts are just amazing, with plenty of season fruits, different kind of breads, omelettes and juices. Be sure to enjoy the good will of the front desk staff, always available for your questions and with a smile on their faces. Overall, the Marriott at Vanderbilt is a nice property, with 4 stars amenities but poorly managed and with an incredible lack of the Marriott spirit brand. I truly hope that Corporate Managers get more involved on their customer service team and pay attention to this kind of situations. I will recommend the Loews Hotel for a truly comforting experience and do not hesitate to visit the incredible city of Nashville, which despite this horrible event, truly gets the most beautiful scenarios of the Southern land.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the upper floors, since it's a "sport" hotel, it gets crowded on some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cebas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, IN
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Marriott Nashville at Vanderbilt for one night on Sat. April 5th in celebration of our wedding anniversary. (The night before we had spent at the Franklin Marriott, about 20 min. away.) My husband had booked both of these hotel stays on Marriott's website, redeeming his points for both nights.

Upon checking in, my husband (who is a Gold Elite member that spends 60+ nights a year in Marriott hotels) was told that they had him listed as checking in the night before, and that because he was a no-show, the points had already been debited and there was nothing they could do to fix the situation, other than offer him a discounted rate of $279 + tax for a room. After talking to three different employees and explaining that there had been a mistake (as we were listed in their system as staying at their Franklin hotel the night before), we were torn on what to do. (We were in a tough spot, too, because this was the weekend of the NCAA Women's Final Four, so pretty much every hotel was booked or ridiculously expensive.)

After my husband verified on his email reservation that he simply clicked the wrong date, and that it was a simple mistake on his part, one staff member told him that he would need a different manager to fix the situation, but that person wouldn't be in until Monday (but we were again welcome to cough up $279+ for a room).

My husband finally called Marriott Customer Care, and 45 minutes later, the situation was resolved. Customer Care cleared the mistake and we were allowed to stay on points as we had reserved. My point is this: surely he's not the first person to accidentally click a mouse a millimeter in the wrong direction, but the staff couldn't (wouldn't) do more for someone who is clearly a loyal guest? It took a 45 minute ordeal and calling their 800 number to get it resolved?

That debacle aside, the rooms were very nice, the valets and shuttle drivers were exceptional, and the hotel itself was very clean. Didn't experience much of the cafe (other than the $7.34 I spent for a can of pop and a 16 oz. water) or other facilities like pool, etc.

I would stay here again, because it really is a very nice hotel, but I was surprised/disappointed that the staff didn't do more to help my husband, especially given the amount of business he gives Marriott.

Room Tip: Room 1037 will give you a great view of the Parthenon!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MegBon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taylor H, Front Office Manager at Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for celebrating your anniversary weekend with us at the Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt during your recent visit to Nashville, TN. I wanted to apologize for the arrival experience you received and please know I have reviewed with my staff how to handle this situation moving forward.

I would also like to thank you for the kind comments regarding the rest of your stay and the wonderful experience you had.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future and please contact me directly if there is anything I can do for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nashville hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Nashville-Vanderbilt (Downtown)
0.5 mi away
Loews Vanderbilt Hotel
Loews Vanderbilt Hotel
#9 of 154 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,535 reviews
0.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Nashville at Vanderbilt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Nashville Vanderbilt/West End
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Nashville - Vanderbilt - Elliston Place
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Nashville / Vanderbilt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University

Property: Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University
Address: 2555 W End Ave, Nashville, TN 37203-1423
Region: United States > Tennessee > Davidson County > Nashville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Nashville
#24 Business Hotel in Nashville
#30 Romantic Hotel in Nashville
#42 Family Hotel in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University 4*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Vanderbilt University campus, Marriott Hotel Nashville/Vanderbilt University is one of the area's premier West End Nashville hotels. We are a top choice for those looking for a convenient hotel near Vanderbilt University and we offer a great location close to other preferred destinations in Nashville, Tennessee. Our hotel overlooks the historic Vanderbilt University stadium, Centennial Park, and the famed Parthenon. In addition, our top-rated Nashville hotel offers a free downtown shuttle to check out all Music City has to offer. Park25 Bistro, featuring Chef Kimo Akana, serves an eclectic American menu that is comfy, local, and creative. Other amenities at our hotel include Marriott's new Entertainment Package to stream from personal Netflix, Hulu, and Pandora accounts. Marriott Hotel Nashville/Vanderbilt University also provides a renovated fitness center, self/valet parking, and a concierge level. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Ebookers, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Nashville At Vanderbilt University Hotel Nashville
Marriott Vanderbilt University
Nashville Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing