We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, way overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University
Ranked #26 of 160 Hotels in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Visited recently for my daughter's college orientation. We chose this hotel,even though quite expensive, for the location and the room was nice, although nothing special. Be warned that self parking is $30/day, valet is $35....the self parking lot felt secluded and I did not feel safe walking back alone late at night. Internet service runs another $9.95/day. We hope to visit often over the next 4 years but will make other arrangements.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Ellen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taylor H, Front Office Manager at Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us during an exciting time for you and daughter for college orientation. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the location and the room, but I would like to apologize to you for not knowing the prices of parking and internet ahead of time. Hopefully during the next four years you will choose to stay with us and if there is anything I can do to better accomodate you, please feel free to contact me directly at the hotel.

Thanks again for staying with us and I look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (923)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

534 - 540 of 923 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed for a sporting event at Vandy in the spring.the location was great, walking distance to bars, food, Vandy, & sights(the Parthenon). The staff was outgoing & helpful. Breakfast buffets were good. Highly recommend for location, experience & value.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wLLb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Stayed on a Saturday night. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. Room was pretty standard for marriott, plenty of space, clean, comfortable bed, etc. Had a view over the campus/stadium which was nice. Location is on Vanderbilt's campus across the street from the football stadium and only about 5-6 blocks from the west end/music row/midtown bars and restaurants. Cab to downtown was under $10. Only real negative was that parking was a little expensive considering this isn't a major city and it wasn't in downtown.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

stayed in May '14, for a business trip. the staff was excellent - kind, helpful, knowledgeable. the location was perfect - where else can you look into vanderbilt's football stadium and the parthenon (almost at the same time!). the breakfast was fast and good. the rooms were as expected for a marriott - clean, comfortable, safe, efficient and well-appointed,

i will be back!

Room Tip: decide - parthenon or football.......
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank p-mshires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed for one night only, and this is the worst hotel I have stayed in in a while. Our bill for one night was over $300. They charged $30 to self park, and when I asked if we could get a king bed instead of 2 doubles, the guy told me that it would be $375 to upgrade! He was not very nice and didn't seem to care at all. Our bathroom had mildew on the tiles, and it was loud, and we brought our white noise machine and none of us could sleep despite it! We all got around 4 hours of sleep and were exhausted the next day. We could hear every door slam and the whole room vibrated when our neighbors left their hotel room.

The worst part of this experience was the parking attendant for the self park that cost $30 for one night. The parking is across the small street from the hotel, and poorly marked as to where self parking is. When we went to leave, we went to the wrong gate, and it would not let me use my room key to leave, so I called the attendant because there were 7 cars in back of me. She rudely told me that I would have to back up, so I had to get 7 cars to back up in the garage, and they were not happy, nor was I.

They also gauge you by charging for wireless coverage per day in your room, and the entire experience was just bad. We were disappointed, especially because Marriott hotels are usually consistently good. We will stay somewhere else the next time we visit Nashville.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taylor H, Front Office Manager at Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt during your recent visit to Nashville, TN. I would like to apologize for the issues you had during your stay and I have sent you a seperate email regarding these items you have listed.

I hope next time you are in the Nashville area you will stay with us again.

Thanks,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We celebrated our 21st anniversary in Nashville. We only live about 50 miles away but this was the perfect spot for a weekend getaway! Walking distance to some great restaurants. If it were football season, a fabulous view of the Vanderbilt football field. Short distance to the night life of downtown Nashville. And cabs are always readily available.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisa p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We had a great stay, comfortable beds and enough room to have friends in for a drink. We had a park view and walked over in the afternoon. The service was great, didn't eat there since there were so many other places to dine in the city. It is located in the same parking lot with a couple of great restaurants so if you don't want to leave the area you don't have too. The free shuttle didn't work well for us, they didn't tell us that we could or would have to reserve a spot, so we would have needed to wait for the third trip to get on, paid a taxi to get downtown, $9. We tried to call the shuttle to pick us up from the restaurant we were at in the Gulch and take us downtown, but that would have taken 20 minutes, another taxi. We did get to use it on Saturday, but they do quit at 11 and we were having to much fun downtown. Great bands in the bars and the best people watching around!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jukie08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taylor H, Front Office Manager at Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at the Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt. It's exciting to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and you had the chance to enjoy the park and the downtown atmosphere.

We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Nashville, TN.

Thanks,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nashville hotels
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites Nashville Vanderbilt
0.5 mi away
Loews Vanderbilt Hotel
Loews Vanderbilt Hotel
#11 of 160 in Nashville
1,861 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Nashville-Vanderbilt (Downtown)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Nashville - Vanderbilt - Elliston Place
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Nashville / Vanderbilt
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Nashville Vanderbilt/West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University

Address: 2555 W End Ave, Nashville, TN 37203-1423
Region: United States > Tennessee > Davidson County > Nashville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Nashville
#24 Business Hotel in Nashville
#30 Romantic Hotel in Nashville
#33 Family Hotel in Nashville
Price Range: £145 - £334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University 4*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Vanderbilt University campus, Marriott Hotel Nashville/Vanderbilt University is one of the area's premier West End Nashville hotels. We are a top choice for those looking for a convenient hotel near Vanderbilt University and we offer a great location close to other preferred destinations in Nashville, Tennessee. Our hotel overlooks the historic Vanderbilt University stadium, Centennial Park, and the famed Parthenon. In addition, our top-rated Nashville hotel offers a free downtown shuttle to check out all Music City has to offer. Park25 Bistro, featuring Chef Kimo Akana, serves an eclectic American menu that is comfy, local, and creative. Other amenities at our hotel include Marriott's new Entertainment Package to stream from personal Netflix, Hulu, and Pandora accounts. Marriott Hotel Nashville/Vanderbilt University also provides a renovated fitness center, self/valet parking, and a concierge level. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Nashville At Vanderbilt University Hotel Nashville
Marriott Vanderbilt University
Nashville Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing