We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Capitol Hotel Downtown Nashville
Ranked #47 of 154 Hotels in Nashville
Santa Fe, United States
1 review
“Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Great staff, great rooms ... great breakfast. can't wait till the remodel is finished! Gwen is fantastic manager or leader ... Ben was helpful ... Michael and Darryl were great valets and all of the front desk ladies were helpful, polite, courteous, etc.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Jonathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    236
    154
    70
    68
See reviews for
106
253
30
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wadsworth, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

This hotel has always been our favorite place to stay because the price versus what you got was a great value until last week. We were horrified upon arrival to find that the room rates have doubled! Yes they have repainted, new TV and linens and tile in the bathroom...NOT worth the extra money! It is still an old hotel with small rooms and bathrooms! The personnel at the front desk were NOT friendly or helpful. The attitude we got was if we didn't like it then go somewhere else. We are planning another trip to Nashville in Oct with 4 other couples and will definitely NOT be staying here.... or any other time we visit Nashville.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nashville hotels

Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel looks like a parking garage from the outside.It's being renovated, so there's a lot of mess and noise. They should lower the prices because of the constructions.
It's close to most downtown attractions though.
It was very noisy at night. We could hardly sleep. Drunk people
in front of the room talking. You could hear every word from the people next door. The rooms are small. The balcony is dirty (especially now with the constructions). People were smoking on the balkony (uug!). The staff at the reception wasn't very friendly and helpul. The lady at the breakfast room was very nice!

They charge 16 USD extra per day / car for the parking (+tip). We spent way too much money on that hotel.

The breakfast buffet didn't have anything healty. So I skipped it.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ak86188113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

The people were nice but the stay was terrible. The hotel was under construction and the place reeked. They charged us $180, but it should have been $50 in my honest opinion. They were, however, working hard to better the stay and kept talking about future visits.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexAlvarez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoover, Alabama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

We, 2 friends and I, had a "girls" trip to Nashville to see KISS/Def Leppard and I was originally scheduled to stay Wednesday night at a Marriott by the Airport......I decided to go up early with my friends and stay with them at the Best Western........BAD CHOICE! I guess, since I work for Marriott, I just EXPECT more but this hotel is really bad. My friend and I were drying our hair and a fuse in the room BLEW and we were out of power AND air for about 45 minutes. I've worked in the hotel industry for 30 years and I've NEVER had this happen!! Then, when we called downstairs to let them know that we had NO POWER, Gwen was very rude to us. Her tone of voice was HORRIBLE and I would NEVER speak to one of my guests that way!!! I later called the GM and, guess what, he is also RUDE!! On a positive note, the man who parked our car was AWESOME and the breakfast girl was very friendly and nice........maybe THEY should be GM and front desk associate!!

Room Tip: Choose another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Good value for money for downtown hotel. Within easy walking distance of Broadway. WiFi OK but a little slow. Breakfast was good. We had no problems with noise. Hotel was undergoing renovation, but that did not cause any issues.
Car parking here is valet parking, object at cost of this, but had no issues getting car when we required it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Al_Smith_Barlbro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

This hotel was under construction. I knew that when I booked the room. They made it sound like it was only in part of the hotel. WRONG! It is the entire hotel. The walkways to the rooms were terrible and unsafe. There were wires sticking out of the walls, garbage bags leaking on the floors, and open railings off the second story right next to the breakfast room. When I arrived I felt as if I was disturbing the valet and the front desk staff. The rest of the staff were very kind. I WONT stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Crystal H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nashville hotels
Downtown Nashville
Hotel Indigo Nashville
Hotel Indigo Nashville
#23 of 154 in Nashville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
Downtown Nashville
Sheraton Grand Nashville Downtown
Downtown Nashville
Courtyard Nashville Downtown
Courtyard Nashville Downtown
#40 of 154 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Nashville
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
#12 of 154 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Capitol Hotel Downtown Nashville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Capitol Hotel Downtown Nashville

Property: The Capitol Hotel Downtown Nashville
Address: 711 Union St, Nashville, TN 37219-1707
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Davidson County > Nashville > Downtown Nashville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 154 Hotels in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Capitol Hotel Downtown Nashville 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Capitol Hotel Downtown Nashville is in the heart of downtown, within walking distance to entertainment & dining venues. Our 100 sleeping rooms have been newly renovated. Free deluxe hot breakfast buffet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Capitol Hotel Downtown Nashville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Downtown Hotel Nashville
Best Western Nashville
Nashville Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing