We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sad facade, but great rooms!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Capitol Hotel Downtown Nashville
Ranked #44 of 155 Hotels in Nashville
Oslo
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Sad facade, but great rooms!”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed two nights and would gladly have stayed more. Walking distance to 'everything' and comfortable beds. Front desk could be a tad more service minded, but hey - we all have bad days. I'm especially impressed how the manager sorted out our bill (charged too much) with a smile! Would definately come back and look forward to seeing the result of the ongoing facade renovation :-)

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MereteML L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    264
    169
    75
    69
See reviews for
121
278
34
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The motel is under construction and they are making vast improvements from what I could see. I would stay again fair price, booked online for 120.00. The down 17.00 a day to park plus you must valet park and I am not a fan of valet parking. The rooms have been updated and are pretty nice with everything th by you may need. Beds are pretty hard though, good for me as I dont mind but bad for my wife. Rooms seemed to be clean though no complaints. Staff was very friendly and glad to assist if they could with directions, food etc.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carterunit47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed here with 4 other couples for a weekend visit. Easy access to the hotel from the highway, just a couple of turns. We traveled on motorcycles which they easily accommodated for parking very close to the entry. Parking guys were terrific - pleasant & friendly. The staff that checked us in left a lot to be desired...one was able to get us 4 of us checked in in the time it took the other one to get 1 couple checked in. Neither was pleasant at all, almost like we were disrupting them by having them check us in. At the time the reservation was made, we were told 2 king rooms & 3 double rooms. Upon arrival, all doubles. Disappointed but fine. Elevator is really tiny and very slow, so many of us ended up frequently using the stairs. Hotel is remodeling, which we knew ahead of time. Outside still has a lot to be done - railings, etc. were pretty bad. All rooms are exterior entries from the balcony area. Rooms have been re-done, but our bathroom had two walls with huge areas of drywall patch/paint that looked terrible and no towel bars had been put up. The bathroom door opens into the sink & blocks the hanging area for clothes, so that was a bit of a pain for 2 people. No exhaust fan either so it gets pretty steamy. Other than the wall patch issue, the overall room was nicely done. Small, but we weren't in Nashville to spend a lot of time in the room. One big positive is the breakfast that is included. They have a really large selection, including the typical bagels, toast, fruit, cereal & yogurt that most places have, but they also have scrambled eggs, sausage & waffles, juices, pastries. Very nice! "Exercise room" consisted of 1 treadmill & I believe 1 other piece of equipment. Very tiny, seemed to be an afterthought of "guess we'll shove something here so we can say we have a workout room". I will say the front desk person who checked us out on Sunday was extremely pleasant to deal with so maybe we caught them at a bad time on Friday? Hotel location is great, off the main street but an easy walk to Music Row by just a few blocks. We would stay here again, just know the expectations.

Room Tip: Courtyard view gets you off the main entry street, but there really wasn't much traffic anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paniolo5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Bay,WI, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Great location and super helpful staff. The breakfast was great. This property is a good value for the money. There is some construction going on and that makes it a little messy in the hallway, but it never interfered with our plans. Some of the guests were slightly loud, but it is Nashville and people are on vacation!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2014

If you're looking for a spot to vacation and a spot close to downtown, the Best Western is perfect. It is in walking distance and incredibly safe. The room wasn't huge, but we made it work. The shower had good water pressure which I find important. I wouldn't recommend for business, or else come with an ethernet cord because we could not get the wifi to work for the life of us.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Chloe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, United States
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Great staff, great rooms ... great breakfast. can't wait till the remodel is finished! Gwen is fantastic manager or leader ... Ben was helpful ... Michael and Darryl were great valets and all of the front desk ladies were helpful, polite, courteous, etc.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Jonathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wadsworth, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This hotel has always been our favorite place to stay because the price versus what you got was a great value until last week. We were horrified upon arrival to find that the room rates have doubled! Yes they have repainted, new TV and linens and tile in the bathroom...NOT worth the extra money! It is still an old hotel with small rooms and bathrooms! The personnel at the front desk were NOT friendly or helpful. The attitude we got was if we didn't like it then go somewhere else. We are planning another trip to Nashville in Oct with 4 other couples and will definitely NOT be staying here.... or any other time we visit Nashville.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nashville hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nashville hotels
Downtown Nashville
Sheraton Grand Nashville Downtown
Downtown Nashville
Hotel Indigo Nashville
Hotel Indigo Nashville
#21 of 155 in Nashville
1,207 reviews
Downtown Nashville
Courtyard Nashville Downtown
Courtyard Nashville Downtown
#43 of 155 in Nashville
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Nashville
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
#11 of 155 in Nashville
2,807 reviews
Downtown Nashville
21c Museum Hotel Nashville
21c Museum Hotel Nashville
#46 of 155 in Nashville
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Capitol Hotel Downtown Nashville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Capitol Hotel Downtown Nashville

Property: The Capitol Hotel Downtown Nashville
Address: 711 Union St, Nashville, TN 37219-1707
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Davidson County > Nashville > Downtown Nashville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 155 Hotels in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Capitol Hotel Downtown Nashville 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Capitol Hotel Downtown Nashville is in the heart of downtown, within walking distance to entertainment & dining venues. Our 100 sleeping rooms have been newly renovated. Free deluxe hot breakfast buffet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Capitol Hotel Downtown Nashville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Downtown Hotel Nashville
Best Western Nashville
Nashville Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing