We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find in a quiet Nashville neighborhood!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nashville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
12 South Inn Suites
Ranked #8 of 24 Nashville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We were greeted warmly by John upon our arrival to this Nashville gem! We spent 3 wonderful nights in the King Suite with a spacious bedroom, very comfy bed, separate living area with a second tv, mini fridge, coffee maker, and microwave, spacious bathroom, and nice private porch! They left us with a lovely continental breakfast for all 3 mornings on our arrival day so that we wouldn't be disturbed and could enjoy it at our leisure. There were scrumptious pastries, different flavors of Greek yogurt, fresh fruit, OJ, coffee, and water. Our suite was very clean and decorated beautifully! John also had us pick our code for the door lock, which is changed with each guest so it's very secure. Wifi is included too. We also had off street parking with our suite. We will definitely stay here again when we're in town visiting our child at Vanderbilt! We've tried several hotels near the campus which have been adequate, but 12 South Inn Suites is really special and we were able to walk to some nice restaurants nearby, too!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peggy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2013

Looking for something nicer than your typical off-hiway motel, then this B&B is for you. A little on the pricy side, but room is luxurious and very, very clean.Fireplace and Wi-Fi a big plus. Bed linens were very comfy and the bed scrumptious. Mini-frig,coffee maker and microwave are in the room and frig is stocked with fresh fruit salad, O.J., half&half for coffee and their special blend of coffee. They also provide enough muffins and pastries for a real continental breakfast for your morning repast.
12 South Inn is housed in a very up and coming neighborhood with what I would call mansions from the "old days." It was very relaxing to just drive around and admire the neighborhood. 12 South Inn is close to lots of restaurants, bars, and pubs with music almost everywhere. We give it a 5 star rating.

Room Tip: Junior King Suite is fabulous for a couple. Also, has a porch and swing for evening wine or morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatnyT1220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Situated in a quiet tree-lined street within walking distance of the vibrant 12 South business district, 12 South Inn Suites offers well-appointed private entrance suites and a wonderful base to explore this booming southern city. Innkeepers John & Liz live off premises but are as helpful, suggesting and accommodating as you need. Local restaurants Urban Grub and Taqueria del Sol are very good; the Gulch and downtown are but minutes away. The Jr. King Suite bed was quite the bomb! Try this; you'll really like it.

Kim Segebarth
S. Euclid, OH

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kim s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

My husband and I had a wonderful stay at 12 South Inn Suites in Nashville. The room was beautifully appointed, the neighborhood was quiet, and the inn was within easy walking distance to restaurants, coffee shops, ice cream/handcrafted popsicle shops, and interesting boutiques. It was a very private, relaxing retreat! Our host, John, provided excellent information on how to get into downtown or out to the Bluebird Cafe to listen to music. We will definitely stay here whenever we visit Nashville!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ewctravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

I stayed in the Queen Suite during a recent stay in Nashville where I did sightseeing in downtown Nashville, attended a show at the Grand Ole Opry, attended a show at the Ryman, ate breakfast at the Loveless cafe, and spent time down in Franklin. For all of the things I did, this location could not have been more perfect.

Located in a residential neighborhood, I walked twice (about a 5 min walk) to 12 South Street to eat a gourmet popsicle at Las Paletas (I had the avocado, delicious, and Las Paletas is a favorite spot of Sheryl Crow, I've read), and a burger at Burger Up (excellent burger, and the truffle fries were SO good). A bit further up 12 South (north from Burger Up a couple of blocks) is the Frothy Monkey, what I've been told is the hippest coffee house in Nashville. Had a cappuccino and a veggie frittata there on a Tues morning, but no sighting of Keith Urban, who frequents this place.

This location is a short drive to I-65, which connects one easily to I-40 East, which will get you to 155 N for the Grand Ole Opry. Easy breezy (although finding the proper parking lot for the GOO was a different story, once in the complex).

Weaving a bit through the neighborhood, one is w/in about 10 min drive to the plantation Belle Meade, and about 30 min from the Loveless Cafe. The directions from 12 South Inn are quite straightforward to these places, and I used google maps on my phone to find everything. Note - I showed up at Loveless at ~noon on a Sunday, and they had a 1.5 hr wait (kinda expected that). Didn't stay, so showed up at ~ 10:30 am on Monday, and there were plenty of seats. Had fried green tomatoes, hash brown casserole, biscuits (of course!) and grits, and loved every bite. To get downtown from the Inn is a matter of a couple of left-hand turns, and about 5-10 min of driving. SO easy.

At the Inn, there are permanent renters who live in the upstairs property, but they are very quiet. You do hear footsteps on occasion, but nothing intrusive. John and Liz stock the little refrigerator very well with juice (orange), water, yogurt and fresh-baked goodies. I wanted to try breakfast and big lunches out, so unfortunately didn't indulge much in these items. But they are there if you want them.

I hope to get back to Nashville, and when I return, the 12 South Inn is the first on my list for a place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank suz_work2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We so enjoyed our stay at 12 South Inn Suites. Room was perfect size, very clean, just the right amount of furniture, simple and elegant decor, not cluttered with tchotchke. Bathroom has plenty of areas to set your toiletries and it was very clean, too. We stayed 3 nights in late July - hot and muggy. No issues with the room's temperature - a ceiling fan helps keep it comfortable when needed. Food was fresh and good - just enough for us to nosh on for breakfast before heading out for the day. Owner was lovely - helpful, agreeable and shared info about the neighborhood. Asked for decaf coffee, which he brought to us later that afternoon. No interruptions, no need to be anywhere (such as breakfast). Love this place, the area and quick drive to downtown Nashville.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FC2YQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

A great find in a quiet neighborhood. Exceedingly convenient to downtown and local neighborhood gems. Our room was exceptionally clean and very well appointed. Climate controlled to 72 degrees...very comfortable. Quiet and relaxing. Loved being able to sit on our private porch for morning coffee...we will return for future visits!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nashville hotels
Loews Vanderbilt Hotel
#11 of 160 in Nashville
1,860 reviews
Downtown Nashville
Hotel Indigo Nashville
Hotel Indigo Nashville
#15 of 160 in Nashville
1,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Inn at Fontanel
#1 of 160 in Nashville
268 reviews
SoBro Guest House
#1 of 24 in Nashville
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 12 South Inn Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 12 South Inn Suites

Address: 918 Knox Ave, Nashville, TN 37204-2620
Region: United States > Tennessee > Davidson County > Nashville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Nashville
Price Range: £107 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The accommodations available at the 12 South Inn Suites consist of four comfortable suites.Our King Suites are appointed with a king sized bed; en-suite ceramic tile bath, with a stand alone rain head shower, and a separate deep soaking tub. They also have a separate living room, private entrance from it's own private deck. The Junior King Suite is appointed with a king sized bed; en-suite ceramic tile bath. It also has it's own private porch and private entrance. In addition our Junior King Suite has a Tennessee limestone mantel fireplace, with remote control gas logs.Our Queen Suite is appointed with a queen sized bed and en-suite ceramic tile bath. It has it's own private porch and entrance. The Queen Suite also has a Tennessee limestone mantel fireplace,with remote control gas logs. All suites are constructed with hardwood floors, solid maple hardwood doors with crystal door knobs. Accommodations also include a large flat screen TV, free Wi-Fi wireless internet service, coffee makers, stocked with our own special 12 South Inn Suites coffee blend, and dorm sized refrigerators. . ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing