We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great b&b located in a great neighbourhood”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nashville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
12 South Inn Suites
Ranked #4 of 24 Nashville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great b&b located in a great neighbourhood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

Pros: Spacious clean modern room (we stayed in the queen room), comfortable bed. The room has a small kitchen area with a fridge, microwave and basic utensils. I really liked the breakfast they provide in the room- a selection of pastries, a big bowl of fruit salad, different flavours of Greek yoghurt and plenty of drink options. The owner was there to greet us on arrival and provided us with loads of really useful information. He is not based on site but explained that we can call him for anything. The best thing about this place is the location. It is walking distance to 12th Avenue South which has loads of great independent restaurants, bars and shops. We ended up eating out here every night.

Cons: Can't think of any cons!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Where2Next06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    18
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
13
107
4
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
118 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

Just returned from a two night stay at 12 South Inn Suites. I really liked the location, with the 12th Avenue South restaurants close by and downtown attractions only about 10 minutes away. The Jr. King room was great. The bed and linens were excellent. You can watch the big screen TV from the bed or from a comfortable chair by the fireplace. The work table and Wifi lets you slip in a little work while you are there. The coffee blend is outstanding, and the juice / yogurt is a nice morning touch. Others reviews talk about the "fresh baked" pastries - I'm guessing store bought instead. The bathroom is a little cramped and could use updating, but that's pretty much nitpicking. This was an excellent find and beat the heck out of staying in hotel during our trip to Nashville.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GAHighRoller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

I had the best experience in 12 South Inn Suites. I really recommend this B&B for a good place to enjoy Nashville. The process is really profesional, the house is gorgeous, the relation Price-quality I consider is much more tan fair, and the hosting of John is really amazing. I loved my private porch and the coffee, that coffee!!! Also the location is very convenient, near a lot of restaurants and very easy to arrive to downtown. For sure I will choose 12 South Inn again if returning to Nashville.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GuiomarGarcia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

Just got back to the Atlanta area after spending two wonderful nights at 12 South Inn. Mr. John Schenk, the innkeeper and owner, was graciously waiting for us upon our arrival. We were impressed with the simplicity and at the same time the charming accommodations in an unpretentious neighborhood. The sitting area with its spacious bathroom and adjacent bedroom with its own desk and small coffee table next to a very large and comfortable bed were just perfect for us. In the sitting area we had fresh baked pastries with a small refrigerator stocked with fresh fruit salad, orange juice and yogurts. The innkeeper's coffee blend with a coffee maker, as well as a microwave and simple utensils were also provided. The facility was spotless, private and wifi friendly. It has its own free parking as well as a small porch were you can enjoy your morning coffee and read the paper. Its proximity to downtown made it easy to drive to the different venues. Overall, we had a terrific anniversary weekend.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edicito_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

We were greeted warmly by John upon our arrival to this Nashville gem! We spent 3 wonderful nights in the King Suite with a spacious bedroom, very comfy bed, separate living area with a second tv, mini fridge, coffee maker, and microwave, spacious bathroom, and nice private porch! They left us with a lovely continental breakfast for all 3 mornings on our arrival day so that we wouldn't be disturbed and could enjoy it at our leisure. There were scrumptious pastries, different flavors of Greek yogurt, fresh fruit, OJ, coffee, and water. Our suite was very clean and decorated beautifully! John also had us pick our code for the door lock, which is changed with each guest so it's very secure. Wifi is included too. We also had off street parking with our suite. We will definitely stay here again when we're in town visiting our child at Vanderbilt! We've tried several hotels near the campus which have been adequate, but 12 South Inn Suites is really special and we were able to walk to some nice restaurants nearby, too!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peggy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Machias, Maine
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

Looking for something nicer than your typical off-hiway motel, then this B&B is for you. A little on the pricy side, but room is luxurious and very, very clean.Fireplace and Wi-Fi a big plus. Bed linens were very comfy and the bed scrumptious. Mini-frig,coffee maker and microwave are in the room and frig is stocked with fresh fruit salad, O.J., half&half for coffee and their special blend of coffee. They also provide enough muffins and pastries for a real continental breakfast for your morning repast.
12 South Inn is housed in a very up and coming neighborhood with what I would call mansions from the "old days." It was very relaxing to just drive around and admire the neighborhood. 12 South Inn is close to lots of restaurants, bars, and pubs with music almost everywhere. We give it a 5 star rating.

Room Tip: Junior King Suite is fabulous for a couple. Also, has a porch and swing for evening wine or morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatnyT1220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Euclid, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

Situated in a quiet tree-lined street within walking distance of the vibrant 12 South business district, 12 South Inn Suites offers well-appointed private entrance suites and a wonderful base to explore this booming southern city. Innkeepers John & Liz live off premises but are as helpful, suggesting and accommodating as you need. Local restaurants Urban Grub and Taqueria del Sol are very good; the Gulch and downtown are but minutes away. The Jr. King Suite bed was quite the bomb! Try this; you'll really like it.

Kim Segebarth
S. Euclid, OH

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kim s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nashville hotels
Downtown Nashville
Hotel Indigo Nashville
Hotel Indigo Nashville
#23 of 154 in Nashville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Omni Nashville Hotel
#6 of 154 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,105 reviews
Thompson Nashville
#5 of 154 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 12 South Inn Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 12 South Inn Suites

Property: 12 South Inn Suites
Address: 918 Knox Ave, Nashville, TN 37204-2620
Region: United States > Tennessee > Davidson County > Nashville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The accommodations available at the 12 South Inn Suites consist of four comfortable suites.Our King Suites are appointed with a king sized bed; en-suite ceramic tile bath, with a stand alone rain head shower, and a separate deep soaking tub. They also have a separate living room, private entrance from it's own private deck. The Junior King Suite is appointed with a king sized bed; en-suite ceramic tile bath. It also has it's own private porch and private entrance. In addition our Junior King Suite has a Tennessee limestone mantel fireplace, with remote control gas logs.Our Queen Suite is appointed with a queen sized bed and en-suite ceramic tile bath. It has it's own private porch and entrance. The Queen Suite also has a Tennessee limestone mantel fireplace,with remote control gas logs. All suites are constructed with hardwood floors, solid maple hardwood doors with crystal door knobs. Accommodations also include a large flat screen TV, free Wi-Fi wireless internet service, coffee makers, stocked with our own special 12 South Inn Suites coffee blend, and dorm sized refrigerators. . ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing