We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good find!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
12 South Inn Suites
Ranked #5 of 23 Nashville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed booking online with ease. We had called another highly rated B&B and the proprietor never returned our call. John was a great host. The suite was very comfortable and we had consummate privacy throughout our 3 day stay. The breakfasts in room were refreshing. Highly recommend!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (143)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 143 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2014

My fiance and I visited Nashville for New Years and stayed at the 12 South Inn suites. My first impression was that this was not the "normal" threadbare bed and breakfast. It is immaculate, the fixtures are updated and best of all, there is no group breakfast where you are required to socialize with a group of strangers! (sorry, but I like to sleep in and get to breakfast when I want). What they did have was a great fresh fruit salad, greek yogurt, orange juice and a heavy supply of water and coffee, a microwave and small fridge and pastries in your room. This did not get refreshed every day, nor did towels or linens, but John, the owner, was readily available to call for anything you might need and let us know when he planned to come by and refresh things. John greeted us warmly and filled us in on the local places to go. If you want a place that is absolutely spotlessly clean and private, I'd highly recommend 12 South Inn Suites. One thing to note, this is in a residential neighborhood, and there are things within walking distance but you will have to drive to get downtown, etc. Also, there is an occupied rented apartment on top of the suite we stayed in. You can hear the neighbors moving about above your head, but they are very quiet and we did not find this disturbing. The only reason we did not rate this a 5 is that you are unable to control your own thermostat in your room. It is locked and set to a temperature determined by John. If you ask, he will adjust it to a different set temperature quickly, but it was a just slightly irritating not to be able to do it yourself.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BermudaCarolinaGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

Pros: Spacious clean modern room (we stayed in the queen room), comfortable bed. The room has a small kitchen area with a fridge, microwave and basic utensils. I really liked the breakfast they provide in the room- a selection of pastries, a big bowl of fruit salad, different flavours of Greek yoghurt and plenty of drink options. The owner was there to greet us on arrival and provided us with loads of really useful information. He is not based on site but explained that we can call him for anything. The best thing about this place is the location. It is walking distance to 12th Avenue South which has loads of great independent restaurants, bars and shops. We ended up eating out here every night.

Cons: Can't think of any cons!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Where2Next06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Just returned from a two night stay at 12 South Inn Suites. I really liked the location, with the 12th Avenue South restaurants close by and downtown attractions only about 10 minutes away. The Jr. King room was great. The bed and linens were excellent. You can watch the big screen TV from the bed or from a comfortable chair by the fireplace. The work table and Wifi lets you slip in a little work while you are there. The coffee blend is outstanding, and the juice / yogurt is a nice morning touch. Others reviews talk about the "fresh baked" pastries - I'm guessing store bought instead. The bathroom is a little cramped and could use updating, but that's pretty much nitpicking. This was an excellent find and beat the heck out of staying in hotel during our trip to Nashville.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GAHighRoller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

I had the best experience in 12 South Inn Suites. I really recommend this B&B for a good place to enjoy Nashville. The process is really profesional, the house is gorgeous, the relation Price-quality I consider is much more tan fair, and the hosting of John is really amazing. I loved my private porch and the coffee, that coffee!!! Also the location is very convenient, near a lot of restaurants and very easy to arrive to downtown. For sure I will choose 12 South Inn again if returning to Nashville.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GuiomarGarcia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Just got back to the Atlanta area after spending two wonderful nights at 12 South Inn. Mr. John Schenk, the innkeeper and owner, was graciously waiting for us upon our arrival. We were impressed with the simplicity and at the same time the charming accommodations in an unpretentious neighborhood. The sitting area with its spacious bathroom and adjacent bedroom with its own desk and small coffee table next to a very large and comfortable bed were just perfect for us. In the sitting area we had fresh baked pastries with a small refrigerator stocked with fresh fruit salad, orange juice and yogurts. The innkeeper's coffee blend with a coffee maker, as well as a microwave and simple utensils were also provided. The facility was spotless, private and wifi friendly. It has its own free parking as well as a small porch were you can enjoy your morning coffee and read the paper. Its proximity to downtown made it easy to drive to the different venues. Overall, we had a terrific anniversary weekend.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank edicito_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We were greeted warmly by John upon our arrival to this Nashville gem! We spent 3 wonderful nights in the King Suite with a spacious bedroom, very comfy bed, separate living area with a second tv, mini fridge, coffee maker, and microwave, spacious bathroom, and nice private porch! They left us with a lovely continental breakfast for all 3 mornings on our arrival day so that we wouldn't be disturbed and could enjoy it at our leisure. There were scrumptious pastries, different flavors of Greek yogurt, fresh fruit, OJ, coffee, and water. Our suite was very clean and decorated beautifully! John also had us pick our code for the door lock, which is changed with each guest so it's very secure. Wifi is included too. We also had off street parking with our suite. We will definitely stay here again when we're in town visiting our child at Vanderbilt! We've tried several hotels near the campus which have been adequate, but 12 South Inn Suites is really special and we were able to walk to some nice restaurants nearby, too!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peggy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nashville hotels
Loews Vanderbilt Hotel
#12 of 157 in Nashville
1,730 reviews
Omni Nashville Hotel
#6 of 157 in Nashville
5,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Nashville
The Hermitage Hotel
The Hermitage Hotel
#4 of 157 in Nashville
1,611 reviews
Downtown Nashville
Hotel Indigo Nashville
Hotel Indigo Nashville
#20 of 157 in Nashville
1,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 12 South Inn Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 12 South Inn Suites

Address: 918 Knox Ave, Nashville, TN 37204-2620
Region: United States > Tennessee > Davidson County > Nashville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Nashville
Price Range: £466 - £793 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The accommodations available at the 12 South Inn Suites consist of four comfortable suites.Our King Suites are appointed with a king sized bed; en-suite ceramic tile bath, with a stand alone rain head shower, and a separate deep soaking tub. They also have a separate living room, private entrance from it's own private deck. The Junior King Suite is appointed with a king sized bed; en-suite ceramic tile bath. It also has it's own private porch and private entrance. In addition our Junior King Suite has a Tennessee limestone mantel fireplace, with remote control gas logs.Our Queen Suite is appointed with a queen sized bed and en-suite ceramic tile bath. It has it's own private porch and entrance. The Queen Suite also has a Tennessee limestone mantel fireplace,with remote control gas logs. All suites are constructed with hardwood floors, solid maple hardwood doors with crystal door knobs. Accommodations also include a large flat screen TV, free Wi-Fi wireless internet service, coffee makers, stocked with our own special 12 South Inn Suites coffee blend, and dorm sized refrigerators. . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your 12 South Inn Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing