We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hostel I've stayed at in the US”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nashville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Nashville Downtown Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 October 2013

This hostel was great, I've stayed at some good hostels in Europe and this is the only hostel I've stayed at in the US that comes close to some of the European ones.

Everything was really clean, the downstairs communal area was large as was the kitchen next to it, I really appreciated how cool the hostel was, I assume they had air conditioning.

Before I went the lack of lockers put me off, whilst there are none in the rooms there are some lockers on the first floor which I was able to put all my things in.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
Thank BruceBruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (296)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

220 - 226 of 296 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2013

This hostel is more like a catholic school dorm than a "hostel." Not only were we over charged (something like $50 a night) we were treated as children. I have stayed at many hostels and never in my life have I been asked to sign a two-page fine-print "rule sheet" stating that I am not, as a 22 year old US citizen, allowed to drink hard alcohol, invite others in my room after 11pm, open windows, play loud music, etc., etc. This place requires a key to get through every single door, every single elevator, every hallway, every bathroom, which of course provides a nice secure prison feeling, but is a pain in the tush when its 3am and you're drunk and want to smoke a cigarette/ go to the bathroom. We were kicked out of this hostel at about 4am with no refund (and after being threatened to be charged $500) due to "excessive partying" (I mean come on, it was a road trip on our way home from Mardi Gras). Long story short, if you're passing through Nashville on a quiet night and are looking for an expensive dorm room to crash in, be my guest. If you're looking for an amazing european hostel feel where you meet amazing people, avoid this place at all costs. You'll be better off and save money at a hotel.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank flowernomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RonL47, Manager at Nashville Downtown Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

We operate an award winning world class hostel by removing destructively selfish and drunk individuals who at 3 am so rudely impose noise and discomfort on others. Our rules and guidelines are designed specifically to discourage irresponsible and obnoxious individuals from entering our facility. Our hostel is a great place to meet amazing individuals and world travelers who are community conscious, self aware and contribute positively to the surrounding. We welcome guest who believe in safety and comfort for themselves and others. Our community believes in individual accountability. Most of our guest enjoy drinking alcohol but does not engage in destructive behaviors this group exhibited.

This guest and her irresponsible friends blasted loud music in the room at 3am and woke other guests. They also broke window frames to force open the window and smoked in the room. They also disassembled and rearranged furniture. Their were obnoxiously drunk spilling soda and beer all over the floor.

Respectfully,
Ron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013 via mobile

If the term 'hostel' puts you off then think again. This is a super friendly, clean and cheap place to stay. It's right in Downtown and the staff are so lovely and helpful. There's free coffee 24/7 and a lovely communal area to eat, watch TV , play music or meet new people.
Seriously, it's fab. I would definitely stay there again. We had a private room between 2 of us and it was fine.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Stayed here as part of a Trek America tour, We had 2, 8 bed dorms and have to say this hostel was fantastic. Great location just a few blocks away from all the bars and restaurants.

This Hostel had great laundry facilities, clean bathrooms and hot showers, Free WiFi and Linen and towels were included in the price. The hostel is very secure requiring a keycard to get in after hours and to use the elevator.

The common room area on the first floor is awesome, lots of instruments, books, computers, pool table, board games and a football table.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank googlejoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

My daughter and I stayed here one night on our road trip out west. it is really a nice place and managed very well. Great common area, incredible kitchen and clean bath areas. They offer both private baths or women's/men's separate shower areas (4 showers), but still private enough. Glass elevators up to sleeping floors with another lounge area on each floor. There are clean linens on the bed, you make it up and tear it down when you keave. The large common area on main floor has couches, pool table, computer, stage and some musical instruments around if you feel the urge to pick one up. There is also a flat screen TV. Laundry facilities on site as well. Can't beat the location - right downtown, on the river and walk out into the action.
We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: We chose a 4 bed female room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laurie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

A clean, modern and very well maintained hostel in downtown Nashville, a stones throw from the main street and the famous Wild Horse Saloon! The bathrooms were clean and always close by; good showers too! The wifi was very temperamental and didn't tend to work in rooms, but did work in the shared areas. Opt for a room with fewer people in for a quieter stay. I'd definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harsantjosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

When I arrived at the hostel it was after a frazzled trip. I was stuck in Nashville, and many things were up in the air. I'd stayed at other hostels, and helped run a hostel, so I know they can vary widely.

Honestly the beds were hard - pressure points meant being so sore by morning it wasn't restful. I know there's a balance though, but being honest more comfortable beds, or an option or something would be nice.

Beyond that, I still give excellent ratings. The reasons are many - the staff was awesome. The place was clean, easy to navigate, secure and nice. Hangout areas were there so if you wanted some quiet alone time that was possible or more social areas were available. The location is AWESOME!! The little bar on the corner under the hostel has some pretty decent food, reasonable prices. And just a block up is a variety of food, music and other things down 2nd avenue. Journey over to Broadway and up a couple streets for ice cream and a candy shop, and more music hotspots that you never know who you might see.

It's also near the river...many areas near where Nashville tv series was filmed. I didn't use the kitchen while there, but it looked clean and organized. Plenty of hot water in showers while I was there. Like I said the only part I'd change is the hardness of the beds, and that might just be me. If you're traveling in and like a softer bed, bring a cushion or something. But excellent accommodations, friendly staff, Very accommodating and much appreciated.

Room Tip: Bring extra padding if you like soft beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JanH1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nashville hotels
Downtown Nashville
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
#12 of 157 in Nashville
2,896 reviews
Downtown Nashville
Hotel Indigo Nashville
Hotel Indigo Nashville
#19 of 157 in Nashville
1,248 reviews
Downtown Nashville
Sheraton Grand Nashville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Nashville
The Hermitage Hotel
The Hermitage Hotel
#5 of 157 in Nashville
1,613 reviews
Downtown Nashville
The Capitol Hotel Downtown Nashville
Omni Nashville Hotel
#6 of 157 in Nashville
5,821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nashville Downtown Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nashville Downtown Hostel

Address: 177 1st Ave N, Nashville, TN 37201-1905
Region: United States > Tennessee > Davidson County > Nashville > Downtown Nashville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Nashville
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nashville Downtown Hostel is a playground for global backpackers. Come experience the hostel established by a global backpacker who values safety, comfort, and convenience in a friendly home away from home. We have 48 private rooms / 250 dormitory beds. We are open 24 hours x 7 days week with front desk staff presence. Our guests have 24 hour access via security code door. We have bike and locker storage where you can drop off your luggage while you explore the town. You are welcome to check-in as early as 7am but facility fee applies for the usage of bed, shower, kitchen, and WIFI outside of overnight hours (3pm to 11am the next day). The facility fee applies for Non-overnight guest. For the security measure everyone entering the property must show proof of travel, we require either an international passport or U.S. Driver's license with matching major credit card or bank card. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing