We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central Clean and well run”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nashville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Nashville Downtown Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level Contributor
139 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Central Clean and well run”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Stayed here for 1 night. Had a private room which cost $100 for 2 people. The hostel is big and modern and our room was in a new wing still under renovation which meant we had a trek to the closest showers which was a pain. If I had of been there for longer I would have asked to move or left. There wasn't a toilet on our corridor either we had to go out to a lobby area again this was bit of a trek but not as far as the shower.
Rooms are basic, bed, locker, small mirror and a hanging rail. Sheets are left on bed for you to make up yourself and you have to bring dirty sheets down to lobby on checkout. Towels are $1 to rent. The kitchen and communal areas are very well maintained and a cool place to hang out. There is an iron, ironing board for use (foc!) and a washing machine and dryer in the lobby (pay). Tea and coffee are complimentary and there is a huge fridge for you to store food/drinks just label them. Seems to work well. There was another male guest walking around the next morning drunk carrying a bottle of beer (even though there are signs stating you cannot bring drink to your room). When I came out of the shower he was swaying about outside the door, he was harmless but all the same it was a bit unnerving. It was early in the morning and no one else around. To sum up, great location - minutes from Broadway, free wifi, modern, clean.

Room Tip: Ask for room close to bathrooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellinTash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    82
    18
    5
    1
See reviews for
2
22
103
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Big and clean hostel. Nice staff, daily recommendations for stuff to do and right in the center about 1-2 minutes from Broadway street and the music/bars.

No breakfast included though,wich is quite uncommon among hostels in US.
And since it's a big hostel it's quite un-charmy and without an unique style.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hsundin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I stayed at the downtown hostel for 4nights and I had a great time. The communal area is huge and very cosy, they have a clean kitchen and a pool table too The rooms and shower facilities are also clean, adequate size, and the staff are really friendly and helpful. Downside would be that you have to pay extra for towels.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

This is one of the nicest hostels I have ever stayed at and I have been staying in hostels over 30 years. EVERYTHING and I do mean everything is either within walking distance or close to the free bus. We had a private room and found it great for the 3 of us. There is construction going on BUT do not fear we never heard a noise while they were working. The rooms are clean & comfortable. The staff is very friendly & helpful. My 2 notes to be aware of; 1. Towels cost you extra 2. Quiet Area's aren't always enforced (either that or the college students don't understand what a quiet area means!)

Room Tip: We stayed in a private room that slept 5 (there were 3 of us) and was well worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KCscrapper827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall, UK.
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Stayed here for 1 night in Nashville with a group of people. There were 6 girls in our group so we got a dorm to ourselves with no strangers! The hostel was really big, rooms were really nice and overall it was really clean! Not far to walk and you are in the main town/bar area. Great fun in Nashville, and very cheap to stay here :)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danni_Sanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

I have stayed in a few hostels over the years and it's now at the point where I do prefer spending a bit more for my own space but I decided to stay in a hostel in Nashville because it was cheaper and right in the city area. I really liked this place- very laid back, the rooms were safe and clean and the location was great! When I first arrived I nearly missed it because it's not noticeable but once you get in its fine! You also get sheets and a blanket so that's great!

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank AussieHannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russellville, Arkansas
1 review
Reviewed 2 April 2014

I brought a group of 9 students from Arkansas Tech University to Nashville for Alternative Spring Break. This was a fabulous option for us. The females stayed in a dorm style room, the males stayed in a personal room, and I stayed in a personal room. It was very clean and the staff was so kind and helpful. The kitchen is well run and the community area met our needs. Lots of games to choose from as well as multiple seating arrangements. The location could not have been more perfect. It was one block from Broadway and 2nd which is where all the restraunts and "fun" is. The students loved it and had no complaints. I would recommend this to any group!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArkansasTech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nashville hotels
Downtown Nashville
Hotel Indigo Nashville
Hotel Indigo Nashville
#22 of 155 in Nashville
1,184 reviews
Downtown Nashville
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
#11 of 155 in Nashville
2,746 reviews
Downtown Nashville
Courtyard Nashville Downtown
Courtyard Nashville Downtown
#43 of 155 in Nashville
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Nashville
Sheraton Grand Nashville Downtown
Downtown Nashville
Hermitage Hotel
Hermitage Hotel
#3 of 155 in Nashville
1,551 reviews
Omni Nashville Hotel
#6 of 155 in Nashville
5,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nashville Downtown Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nashville Downtown Hostel

Property: Nashville Downtown Hostel
Address: 177 1st Ave N, Nashville, TN 37201-1905
Region: United States > Tennessee > Davidson County > Nashville > Downtown Nashville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Nashville
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nashville Downtown Hostel is a playground for global backpackers. Come experience the hostel established by a global backpacker who values safety, comfort, and convenience in a friendly home away from home. We have 48 private rooms / 250 dormitory beds. We are open 24 hours x 7 days week with front desk staff presence. Our guests have 24 hour access via security code door. We have bike and locker storage where you can drop off your luggage while you explore the town. You are welcome to check-in as early as 7am but facility fee applies for the usage of bed, shower, kitchen, and WIFI outside of overnight hours (3pm to 11am the next day). The facility fee applies for Non-overnight guest. For the security measure everyone entering the property must show proof of travel, we require either an international passport or U.S. Driver's license with matching major credit card or bank card. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing