We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good staff, bad room”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nashville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Nashville Downtown Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good staff, bad room”
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

We (friend and me) took a private room for three nights, but it was a bit of a letdown. Although the location is perfect if you want to go partying downtown, the room was awful. It had two bunk beds, and that was it. Not even a table or chair to put some stuff like clothing on. No nightstand, locker, nothing. To add insult to injury, the room had no (NO) outside window and no a/c, only a small fan which made an annoying sound. In the end, we payed 398 dollar for three nights in what is essentially a large cupboard.
Staff was friendly and helpful and the location great, that's why I give it three stars. For the room: one star. At least it was pretty quiet at night.
Claustrophobics need not apply.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Bart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NDH_Hostel_Host, Manager at Nashville Downtown Hostel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
We hope you were able to experience the essence of our hostel which is a great community vibe in safe, comfortable and convenient setting. We will take your advice and see how we can improve the furnishing in the room without cluttering the space set up for basic bunk room. Even our private rooms are “European Style” or “Family Style” with bunk beds. We aim for basic, clutter free, clean and simple, minimalist industrial design. Some guests discount interior windows but these set ups were designed for minimal outside noise. We have several exterior window rooms and all rooms have interior windows. Guests looking for quieter sleep experience request interior windows only room.

Much of the cost associated with our operation is from the amazing location. We typically price our private room rate at around 1/3 the price of hotels in the downtown core. (Please compare the after tax rate 14.25% sales and hotel tax plus $2.50 per night per room city tax as we quote tax include price while hotels quote pre-tax price). Our location is better than these high priced hotels for accessing “The District” that is Broadway and 2nd Ave. N. We are the only official lodging establishment actually in “The District”.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    80
    17
    5
    1
See reviews for
2
20
100
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Affordable and clean this is a great place to stay if you are traveling alone or with a friend. It's also located right in downtown so you can walk anywhere! A good place to stay while exploring Nashville.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alicia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Stayed for one night, having driven in the staff were very helpful getting the car parked nearby without too much fuss. The hostel was undergoing some renovations so smelt of fresh paint, however all facilities were new and provided everything we needed. The hostel is ridiculously close to many bars, clubs and restaurants, for a night out it would be ideal. Normally a hotel person I would happily visit again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 May 2014

6 of us-all women stayed here. only 3 of us had stayed in hostel before so other 3 were nervous. place was clean, newly renovated areas great, washrooms clean, building secure, cost great, staff nice and helpful even though they appeared very busy all the time. hostel is work in progress due to renovations-they are doing great job with this old building-so glad we had opportunity to stay here! if I was going to nit pick I would say: rooms a little stuffy at times (we kept our door open a lot when in room which didn't bother us), mattress little noisy, would benefit from air freshener in lobby. That's it!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abbey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 15 May 2014

I've stayed at many hostels worldwide and I think this is the best. Great kitchen facilities. very, very clean. very safe. very friendly and you're right in the heart of it. And the community room even has a piano in tune! very clean showers. nice quiet spaces, and spacious. I will always stay here when I visit Nashville.

Room Tip: they have a variety of rooms, Co-ed for 8 is what I selected and I had no problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sprinkle6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

The most chilled out, coolest and down to earth staff you'll ever meet!
The vibe this hostel had was amazing and the staff were so involved with all the travellers who stayed there.
The hostel is very roomy, clean and regularly up kept by the staff. They will tell you all the best places to go see and where to party!
Around the corner is a underground Pub called "The Beer Cellar" where you'll find over 90 beers on tap! Amazing stuff!!
And dont forget to ask one of the staff members called "Steve" to show you the video of him getting hit by a car! ;) hehe
Miss you guys! Cant wait to come back again!

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Zee_Dee_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
83 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I've stayed at many hostels throughout the world, and Nashville Downtown Hostel is one of the tops!

The staff is friendly and very thoural (gave a full tour of the building and walked me up to the room…which was a nice touch). The common area is incredibly clean, welcoming, and lots of extras to entertain you (including board games, 'beer fridge', etc). Lots of fridge space and pots / pans for cooking.

We rented a private 8 person room for 8 of us that were visiting for the half marathon. We were on the third floor, which was brand new…everything was spotless and clean! Only hoping they keep it that way!! Bathrooms were great (there were two private bathrooms and a shared bathroom with 4 showers).

Location could not be more perfect. I will 100% check availability here before a hotel next time I'm in Nashville.

Thanks for the great visit!

Room Tip: Third floor is new!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nashville hotels
Downtown Nashville
Hotel Indigo Nashville
Hotel Indigo Nashville
#23 of 154 in Nashville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,162 reviews
Downtown Nashville
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
#11 of 154 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,694 reviews
Omni Nashville Hotel
#6 of 154 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Nashville
Sheraton Grand Nashville Downtown
Downtown Nashville
Courtyard Nashville Downtown
Courtyard Nashville Downtown
#39 of 154 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Hilton Nashville Downtown
#19 of 154 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nashville Downtown Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nashville Downtown Hostel

Property: Nashville Downtown Hostel
Address: 177 1st Ave N, Nashville, TN 37201-1905
Region: United States > Tennessee > Davidson County > Nashville > Downtown Nashville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Nashville
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nashville Downtown Hostel is a playground for global backpackers. Come experience the hostel established by a global backpacker who values safety, comfort, and convenience in a friendly home away from home. We have 48 private rooms / 250 dormitory beds. We are open 24 hours x 7 days week with front desk staff presence. Our guests have 24 hour access via security code door. We have bike and locker storage where you can drop off your luggage while you explore the town. You are welcome to check-in as early as 7am but facility fee applies for the usage of bed, shower, kitchen, and WIFI outside of overnight hours (3pm to 11am the next day). The facility fee applies for Non-overnight guest. For the security measure everyone entering the property must show proof of travel, we require either an international passport or U.S. Driver's license with matching major credit card or bank card. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing