We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we were looking for”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nashville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Nashville Downtown Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Macomb, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Just what we were looking for”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

After extensive research I was very confident in choosing this hostel during my long weekend in Nashville.
-My friends and I were on a strict budget so we brought all of our own food. The kitchen was GREAT for every meal and included everything we needed.
-Since I read the reviews before booking I knew to ask for a room with a window but the rooms across the hall from us did not have windows. -just a warning
-The rules on the website were very unclear though. Food and alcohol were not allowed up in the rooms and liquor was NOT allowed at all! If they had the contract we had to sign on there website, I would've preferred to know the rules ahead of time.
-I suggest bringing a blanket or sleeping bag since the hostel was kept very cold
-the common area was perfect and the staff was very friendly
-Bathrooms were very clean!
-Location was superb! We walked everywhere!
Overall, the hostel was just what we were looking for and I was very impressed with the facility

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaitlyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    82
    18
    5
    1
See reviews for
2
22
106
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

We are slightly bewildered by the other reviews here. Our stay was not enjoyable.

We believe that this hostel's success largely is based upon its lack of competition alone - there seem to be no other large hostels in Nashville.

When we arrived, we were immediately made to sign a manifesto of rules. We never heard anything positive or friendly from the staff - everything was put in the negative, a string of 'do nots'. There is also a charge for any extras including computer use.

We recognise that this is a hostel and therefore basic - but personable, helpful members of staff are often a given in much cheaper hostels than this. Equally, we have stayed in safe and orderly (and fun) hostels which do not need to resort to borderline aggressive signs and prohibitions to achieve this environment.

The hostel is clean and functional to a degree. However, our dorm contained no window and no furniture beyond two bunkbeds - not even a hook for a towel.

The common room is a social area where people mix; however this is more a statement about the people who stay here rather than the hostel itself.

Yes, the hostel is in a central location and yes, if you are just looking for a clean bathroom it does the job. However, unless you particularly enjoy the institutional (ex-cons, boarding school kids, lapsed nuns.....), you will better off somewhere else.


  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank HarrietN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Through my 5 weeks of travelling in the US and staying in hostels this was one of the best if not the best hostel I stayed at.

Very modern and extremely clean rooms with great lounge and dining areas.

Great location!

Everything you could want from a hostel and I only paid $40 a night which was very reasonable to me!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lauren D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a long weekend as part of a roadtrip. The staff were fine, but we have met a lot friendlier and more helpful. The location is amazing, really that is what you're paying for. The 24 hour social area was really good, lots of spontaneous musical jams and pool tournaments.

Our main issue with it was that it turned out to be one of the most expensive places to stay on our trip so far, which is not what you'd expect for a hostel! They charge for computer use, towels and $12 a day parking. I would recommend it because of the other tourists that we met there really helped make our trip, but just don't think of it as a bargain!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NDH_Hostel_Host, Manager at Nashville Downtown Hostel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
We are glad that we were able to provide centrally located lodging option for your party. Our WIFI is free but the workstation computers are fee operated. We do not have a parking lot but we pass along discounted parking rate from local parking operators.

We aspire to be one of the best value hostels in the U.S., not the cheapest hostel. Much of the cost associated with our operation is from the amazing location. We believe this is well worth the cost saving from transportation, time and effort all designed to offer the best value for you.

We are glad that you were able to experience our unforgettably magical hostel vibe. We believe someday you will look back and fondly remember the spontaneous jam sessions, billiard tournaments and the great social elements of our hostel rather than not being the cheapest bargain in Nashville.

Please send us email about the specifics of how our staff can assist our guests better. We are truly interested in being the best and friendliest hostel staff in the U.S. Thank you for taking the time for review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronx, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I really didn't want to leave... The staff was extremely friendly, helpful, knowledgeable, and inclusive. The place itself was super clean. I've been to hostels in Europe, North America, Central America and South America. I can't recall of a place that was cleaner or so chic. In fact it's cleaner than most hotels I've stayed in. The kitchens look more like something you'd see in the back of a restaurant than a hostel.

This may have been happenstance but I would be remiss if I didn't mention it. There are times when traveling that things feel magical, in place, and harmonic. I had one of those nights at this hostel. The vibe was great and meeting people was pretty easy. Even for the shy like me.

The only negative comment I can make is that I could hear music from an adjacent building at night (I was on the 3rd floor in the Jimmy Hendrix room). Aside from that and the possibility of having room mates that don't respect your sleep (that can happen at any hostel) you'd be hard pressed to find a better place to stay.

Jose from wornoutboots.com

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JosesWornOutBoots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
1 review
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Nashville Downtown Hostel is now my go-to place to stay every time I come down with my friends for a concert! Getting a room was easy, everything was super clean, and everyone was very friendly. The staff recommended restaurants and gave us the number to a cab service. We enjoyed it so much that we're staying again next week!














  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meekamika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint-Just-Saint-Rambert, France
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Incredible staff team. Amazing location. Cleanest hostel you'll ever gonna go to. Seriously nothing bad about this hostel. You will have an amazing time in Nashville, you will enjoy every single piece of it, make beautiful friends and have an awesome time listening to live music and sleeping in a cosy comfy pretty hostel. Don't hesitate to book a room, but watch out, you might stay longer than you think ! ;)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lemn11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nashville hotels
Downtown Nashville
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
#10 of 155 in Nashville
2,782 reviews
Downtown Nashville
Hotel Indigo Nashville
Hotel Indigo Nashville
#23 of 155 in Nashville
1,196 reviews
Downtown Nashville
Hermitage Hotel
Hermitage Hotel
#4 of 155 in Nashville
1,568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Nashville
Courtyard Nashville Downtown
Courtyard Nashville Downtown
#44 of 155 in Nashville
237 reviews
Downtown Nashville
Sheraton Grand Nashville Downtown
Downtown Nashville
The Capitol Hotel Downtown Nashville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nashville Downtown Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nashville Downtown Hostel

Property: Nashville Downtown Hostel
Address: 177 1st Ave N, Nashville, TN 37201-1905
Region: United States > Tennessee > Davidson County > Nashville > Downtown Nashville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Nashville
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nashville Downtown Hostel is a playground for global backpackers. Come experience the hostel established by a global backpacker who values safety, comfort, and convenience in a friendly home away from home. We have 48 private rooms / 250 dormitory beds. We are open 24 hours x 7 days week with front desk staff presence. Our guests have 24 hour access via security code door. We have bike and locker storage where you can drop off your luggage while you explore the town. You are welcome to check-in as early as 7am but facility fee applies for the usage of bed, shower, kitchen, and WIFI outside of overnight hours (3pm to 11am the next day). The facility fee applies for Non-overnight guest. For the security measure everyone entering the property must show proof of travel, we require either an international passport or U.S. Driver's license with matching major credit card or bank card. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing