We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Typical Sportsman Grill and More*”
Review of Sportsman's Grille

Sportsman's Grille
Ranked #540 of 2,038 Restaurants in Nashville
Price range: US$1 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Typical Sportsman Grill and More*”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This bar and grill is known for the best selection of typical bar and grill menu items and also offers one of the finest gourmet fish selections I have ever tasted....the Large Ocean Sea Fish selection: a generous filet of white fish, grilled, broiled or batter dipped with a great rice side (very favorable) and second side. The best choice is the grilled fish with the flavored rice and the grilled vegetable kebob. It also comes with the Grill special sweet corbread waffle. This is a combination that is a joy to experience - better than offerings at several very expensive restaurants in Nashville..also their "Fried Catfish basket or platter (all you can eat - meaning two extra pieces if you want them), wonderful Spaghetti Bolonese, and a Bacon Cheeseburger that wins any competition. Many other specialties nightly also are very special. I consider it a Nashville must.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chippy136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    15
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfort food”
Reviewed 21 May 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

I am a regular here. Great casual place to get a burger and a beer and watch a ball game. BBQ on cornbread is also good.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem!”
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

Been coming here for over 16 years now. Great place to have a casual dinner or lunch with great food and daily specials. Soups of the day are always good. Burgers, catfish, and Philly Cheeseteak sandwich are so good! Always have a decent selection of draft beers and great sweet tea! This one is smaller than the one in Brentwood, TN and is easy to miss if you have never been here before. Feels like home.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Damian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee
Level Contributor
60 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great spot for large groups.”
Reviewed 20 January 2014

I love the steak and biscuits! They are always cooked to order, and I am also a bit addicted to their fried pickles.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank BlueSkies615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tuscumbia, Alabama
Level Contributor
237 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Good food but VERY noisy”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Very interesting place. The space was once a burger place, many years ago, which went out of business. New owners refurbished and remodeled, including purchasing the tin ceiling tiles and booths from a famous old eatery known as Candyland. Nice atmosphere but it's jam packed with tables to get the maximum number of patrons in. This, along with the very reflective tin ceiling makes it extremely noisy. Expect to have to talk loudly for your companions to hear you, which, of course, everyone else is also doing. Very hard to hear and, if you wear a hearing aid, forget it.

We were there for Sunday lunch and it was jammed. Service was pretty good but the wait staff seemed stretched to their limits. Food was good. I only had the grilled ham and cheese sandwich since I had gorged at Famous Dave's the night before.

Since I wear two hearing aids, I wouldn't return on my own because of the noise.

Pricey.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Temblor123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sportsman's Grille also viewed

Nashville, Davidson County
 
Nashville, Davidson County
Nashville, Davidson County
 

Been to Sportsman's Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing