We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Carriage Rides Through Time
Open today: 10:15 - 15:45
Save
Review Highlights
Very informative

Diane was a wonderful driver & guide. Very personable & gave a lot of info. Great addition to the... read more

Reviewed 12 September 2018
Lorraine J
via mobile
Amazing...

Took a day trip to see The Hermitage and decided to take a trip back in time...it was amazing to... read more

Reviewed 4 September 2018
Nyoka D
via mobile
Read all 20 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Nashville
from US$25.95
More Info
from US$39.00
More Info
from US$55.00
More Info
from US$49.16
More Info
Reviews (20)
Filter reviews
20 results
Traveller rating
16
1
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
16
1
3
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 20 reviews
Reviewed 11 November 2014

Reasonably priced, great tour guide (Lucky) and horse (Blue). Entertaining to ride down Broadway amidst all the vehicular traffic in a horse drawn carriage.

Date of experience: November 2014
1  Thank KaarenC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn B, Owner at Carriage Rides Through Time, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2014

While we thank you for taking the time to write such a great review, we believe you posted your review on the wrong profile. Carriage Rides Through Time operates solely on the private property of The Hermitage, rather than the streets of Downtown Nashville. However our horses and tour guides would love to see you at The Hermitage for our informative, historical tour.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

this was a last minute trip and the carriage ride made this trip one of the best ever!
The tour guide we had , Craig was excellent! Not only the trip was fascinating he made it so much more fun! I really advise coming! this was a trip for family's with young ages and teens!

Date of experience: April 2014
1  Thank Abby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn B, Owner at Carriage Rides Through Time, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

We are glad you enjoyed the tour, Craig is AMAZING!!! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review!
Dawn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

The tour itself was incredibly informative, the tour guide Craig was serious enough to discuss the slave tour, but comedic enough to keep us interested despite the hot day. I wasn't really told about the tour, it wasn't until my kids were complaining about being hot and tired that I decided to go on ahead and take the tour. The ticket prices were a bit expensive, but my two girls loved being able to see and pet the horses. Overall, the tour was a great way to see the grounds without walking. I would reccomend it to everyone. Nicely done.

Date of experience: June 2014
1  Thank Alicia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn B, Owner at Carriage Rides Through Time, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review! We are glad you enjoyed the carriage tour and took a break from the heat!
Dawn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

We would definitely recommend this as a great way to see the enormous grounds of The Hermitage and learn a bit more about the lives of the enslaved people living there at Jackson's time. If we had merely walked out to the area where the slaves lived it would have been a long walk and we probably wouldn't have gotten that much out of it. The carriage ride was a great way to add more to our tour, and it added to the feeling of really going back in time.

3  Thank Jon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn B, Owner at Carriage Rides Through Time, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

We are so glad you enjoyed your tour! Thank You for taking the time to write us a review!
Dawn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Touring the same land where up to 150 enslaved lived and labored was a surreal experience. Our tour guide was personable, yet I found her comments about lives of the enslaved to be flippant. It seemed she was trying "to keep things light" and wasn't comfortable speaking about the topic in a direct way. However, as we all know, slavery is not a light part of American history and one which we need to speak honestly and directly about. To do otherwise feels disrespectful. I think with the right training, this guide has the potential to be much better.

Date of experience: April 2014
1  Thank FezzD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn B, Owner at Carriage Rides Through Time, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

I want to first thank you for your review and secondly let you know the issue has been corrected. In no way can I tolerate the type of behavior you have described. If you would like to discuss this further please contact me at the information listed on the profile page. Thank You, Dawn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews