We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, safe and quirky in Nashville”
Review of Music City Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nashville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Music City Hostel
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Clean, safe and quirky in Nashville”
Reviewed 27 October 2010

Due to torrential rain I opted to stay in Music City Hostel rather than camp - arrived at very short notice and the staff were more than helpful. The hostel itself is a series of buildings divided up into different rooms. Everything was lovely and warm, a little ramshakle but ultimately incredibly cosy. Good, hot showers with excellent pressure and a kitchen facilities for cooking, as well as a lounge area with piano and guitars littered around, should the mood strike the more talented traveller;)

The main draw for this hostel is the location. A $7 taxi ride from the downtown Nashville gets you to the hostel. I do not believe there are any hostels closer to the city than this. Everyone was very friendly and it felt like a very safe place (and I'm a single female traveller).

Negative points for expensive washer/dryer and internet services and I would imagine in a more humid heat, the dorms would feel a little more claustrophobic. Aside from that, I would definitely recommend this hostel to any young, musically-interested traveller, looking for something a bit different in Nashville!:)

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maeveobrien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    21
    12
    4
    5
See reviews for
2
11
30
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2010

$25 per night for girl's small dorm room one person. $6 to wash one load of laundry (that's very high - a laundromat charges $2US) and you have to use their detergent, free coffee and tea all day in kitchen/TV room area. Most people stay at the hostel off and on during the daytime because it's a nice place for visiting and the indoors is cooler (it's very hot outside during September). The location is downtown and near highways but the actual area is safe, there is a hospice down the street and a daycare next door (playing kid noises in early morning). There are two communal guitars, one is missing a string. There is a full one page list of rules to initial upon check-in. Internet access is excellent if you have your own laptop and free. A pretty high charge for internet rental to use their desktop computers. Plastic mattress covers on the mattresses (a GOOD thing) and no carpet (another good thing for public health and safety). All here is very clean and hygenic although I'm not a fan of the new washing machines because they usually don't reach 160 degrees hot water temp (needed to kill germs ETC). My room has been remodeled and is new including the bathroom. There's places to lounge outside on the front lawn (and a hammock!). From the reviews I expected a more laid back hostel but Nashville is a popular destination with many hostel guests so they probably needed clearer rules. Staff very friendly and gracious especially Patty.
No age discrimination at all here (good thing).
FOUR STARS.
Would have given five stars if it was $22 a night, if it was more homey/cozy, more communal working instruments or a separate jam room or small stage (eugene, oregon whittaker hostel has an entire fully equipped indoor bandroom), if laundry was $3, paid internet less $, if lawn-mowing didn't happen 8am in morning.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heckynoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 June 2010

Nashville's Music City Hostel is one of the best.I have been in many around the world and
this one is excellent.Ron and the staff-Amy,Murta.Dakota etc do all they can to ensure a
great stay.
There is always someone to talk to,lots of music from budding singer/songwriters.
A very clean happy place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cathy020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2010

Best value hostel I've stayed in for a long time, and the best "time with friends" atmosphere (most hostels nowadays feel more like mini-hotels than anything). It's safe, and for a hostel it's totally charming. Felt a little like a well-populated Bed & Breakfast Inn!

Ryan, Mirta, Tracy who work there are all great -- Ryan even lent me an umbrella when it rained (which also helped shield me from the summer sun later) and Mirta is an aspiring singer (you might be able to catch her performing while you're there).

You'll see people strumming on the guitars, chatting on the deck by the office, and hanging out by a fire on the lawn (in a firesafe enclosure) at night. There's a plastic wading pool big enough for a few adults to stretch out in, though I only ever saw 1 person in it.

Only downsides for me:
* It's not downtown, though it's not horribly far (~25 min walk, 15 min by bus, ~$7 by taxi to downtown). You can also walk to Vanderbilt University (~20-30 min). I just had bad shoes that discouraged me from walking.
* Not a lot of room to spread out/re-organize your stuff, especially if you're on a top bunk. One night I moved into the common room to repack my suitcase, otherwise I mostly put my stuff on my roommate's bottom bunk while I was taking things out of/putting things into my suitcase each morning/night.

More about the Hostel:
* Computers for rent by the hour, or bring your own (free wi-fi!).
* Free parking on the street or in their lot in the back.
* All rooms have a common area with it's own Kitchen and full-size Refrigerator.
* Off the office there's also a community Kitchen with free milk, pancake mix, dishes & silverware (bring your own eggs & cereal).
* Grayline Tours picks up and drops off at the hostel -- awesome! Wish I'd had time to do the Civil War tour, looked fascinating.
* TIP: All doors require you to press the "lock" button after closing the door to lock them. Make sure you remember to do this!

Nashville FYI's:
* If you're not into crowds, go to the downtown bars & Honky Tonk row late night on weekdays (Saturday is the most packed).
* Best music I heard was at:
1. Station Inn (in The Gulch) -- Don't usually need reservations. Approx $6 by cab from the hostel.
2. Bluebird Cafe (need a car or take bus toward Green Hills Mall, just check the schedule carefully so you can be sure you can get back!). You need reservations here pretty well in advance (can do them online). Appetizers seem to be better than entrees here.
3. Robert's Western World -- Best place for music on Honky Tonk row, if you ask locals. Brazilbilly (a.k.a., Brasilbilly) was fabulous!!

Loved Nashville (the live music is fabulous if you know where to go) and would definitely stay at Music City Hostel again! :)

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank veeandchip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlottesville, va
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 March 2010

The owner's philosophy is that the people make the hostel, and Music City lives up to that. Expect friendly staff, chill sessions in the common rooms, guitars by the fire, and visitors from all over the world who've come to enjoy this fantastic city. Can't recommend Nashville or Music City Hostel highly enough.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daveserafino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mars
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2010

No frills but decent place in a ?failed motel? set up. Good enough area of town. Kitchen was cool and lots of young musicians hang there.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Thatvagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheltenham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2009

i really enjoyed staying here. the owner is always floating around offering advice and making sure everyone is having fun. the atmosphere is more like a family home rather than a hostel. if you're travelling alone as i was you're guaranteed to meet up with people to head downtown with.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank edwardtheman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nashville hotels
0.4 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Nashville Vanderbilt
0.7 mi away
Homewood Suites Nashville Vanderbilt
1.3 mi away
Omni Nashville Hotel
Omni Nashville Hotel
#6 of 154 in Nashville
5,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Nashville Downtown/The Gulch
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Nashville / Vanderbilt
0.4 mi away
Loews Vanderbilt Hotel
Loews Vanderbilt Hotel
#10 of 154 in Nashville
1,595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Music City Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Music City Hostel

Property: Music City Hostel
Address: 1809 Patterson St, Nashville, TN 37203-2110
Region: United States > Tennessee > Davidson County > Nashville
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are conveniently located in midtown Nashville, within walking distance to Downtown Entertainment district and Vanderbilt University. We have private apartments, private rooms and dormitory beds. We aim to provide safe, comfortable, and convenient lodging experience. For security, we require either a Passport or a photo identification at check in. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Music City Hotel Nashville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing