We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, with a few misses”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Nashville - Downtown
Ranked #41 of 160 Hotels in Nashville
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We chose this hotel for our 4 night stay in Nashville due to its proximity to the Country Music Hall of Fame. Staff were friendly and helpful. Check-in was easy enough, and our room seemed clean and comfortable and nicely appointed with a sofa and desk with lots of outlets for chargers, etc. We did have a couple issues with our room and location.

We were facing 4th Avenue, directly across the street from the service entrances for the newly built Omni Hotel. All hours of the day and night big semi trucks and garbage trucks came and went...with their beeping as they backed into the bays on ground level. We were on the 4th floor, and even then we could hear garbage trucks entering to load and unload the big dumpsters. We could also SEE the dumpsters inside the bays full of hotel garbage.

The second irritant was the so-called "fitted" sheet on our king bed. The thing was totally too small, and even before we used the bed we could see that the top corners of it were barely pulled over the top of the mattress. The darn thing came loose numerous times during the night. With the prices this place charges, they could certainly afford to have properly fitting sheets! BTW, we did not have our room serviced during our stay - we prefer that most everywhere we go.

And there was one waste basket for the entire room. Not sure if that was an oversight on the part of housekeeping. We collected excess trash in plastic bags and disposed of it ourselves.

The free breakfasts each morning were great! The nice selections of foods, fruit, juices, coffee and tea were much appreciated. Also, it's nice that they keep coffee, hot water and lemonade available all day. And the location of the hotel can't be beaten if you want to visit many of the sights in the area. Just be aware there is A LOT of construction going on in every direction...noise and congestion are everywhere.

Room Tip: Ask for a room NOT on the 4th Avenue side of the hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank neeliec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dianne_Lee, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Nashville - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Thanks for your comments about your stay with us. We do apologize for the invonveniences you detailed and will share with our staff to make needed improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,807)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,206 - 1,212 of 1,807 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2013

Common sense is needed at this place. They were pressure washing the entrance while everyone was trying to check in ---they should have scheduled during a less busy time --- perhaps just after lunch? When I did make it to the line, there were 7 people...and only one person behind the desk. Once I waited a few minutes, they did manage to call a second person. Check in was ok.

The room size was nice....but smelled a bit moldy. Not sure why.

While there were may lights in the room, they were poorly placed and they used bulbs that were low wattage. Hard to see without the blinds open.

One of the two phones in the room did not work. I used the one that DID to report about the second as well as to schedule a wake up call. The call never came....I guess it was a good thing that at the crack of dawn, someone was sanding something just outside so loudly it woke me. Perhaps that was it?

I also needed to do some work and asked for a late check out (and reported about the lack of a wake up call) The desk person seemed indifferent about the wake up call.
said she had to check if I could have the late check out. She finally came back and said 12:45. That must not have been communicated to the cleaning staff as twice my calls/work was interrupted with the maids knocking on the door. Anyway, with some minor changes and organization, it might be a decent place.

Room Tip: Don't choose second floor near the entrance. NOISE!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WNC G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dianne_Lee, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Nashville - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Thanks for your comments about your stay with us and we will discuss improvements that we can make here at our hotel. We appreciate your time and bringing these issues to our attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We had a great Time in Nashville that included our stay at the Hampton. I was very comfortable and the breakfast was fantastic. It was only a short walk to Broadway. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Geoff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dianne_Lee, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Nashville - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to your return when in Nashville. Thanks for reviewing our hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Great location by the Country Music Hall of Fame and only a couple of blocks from Broadway and all the bars and great restaurants. The complimentary breakfast had all the hot and cold items anyone would want.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank 610kevind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dianne_Lee, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Nashville - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

So glad you enjoyed our hotel and Music City USA! We look forward to having you visit us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

A pleasant surprise and good value. This is a real downtown hotel with the added value of the Hampton breakfast, friendly service and free wifi. The location is perfect for walking to the downtown venues.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank ladydeedeedee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dianne_Lee, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Nashville - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Thanks for your comments about our hotel and we are delighted you enjoyed both your stay with us and all of the FUN attractions in Nashville...come again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Very nice hotel conveniently located near to major attractions and right across from the Country Music Hall of Fame. Decor and free internet were great. Rooms were nice and clean and the service was top notch. A bit expensive but then most hotels in Nashville were on the pricey side

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Boterodan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dianne_Lee, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Nashville - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Thanks for taking time to send a review and thanks for letting others know you enjoyed our hotel and Music City USA!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

I thought it was a clean and friendly hotel. It is not glamorous or have room service, but it does have a pretty good breakfast in the morning and local places that will deliver. The location was great and the staff was very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Kathleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dianne_Lee, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Nashville - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Your comments are valuable to us and we appreciate you taking time to send them along! Hope to see you again here at our hotel when in Nashville!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nashville hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Nashville Downtown
#19 of 160 in Nashville
1,314 reviews
Downtown Nashville
Hotel Indigo Nashville
Hotel Indigo Nashville
#15 of 160 in Nashville
1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Nashville - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Nashville - Downtown

Address: 310 4th Avenue South, Nashville, TN 37201-2210
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Davidson County > Nashville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Nashville
#15 Romantic Hotel in Nashville
#15 Business Hotel in Nashville
Price Range: £165 - £373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Nashville - Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton Inn & Suites Nashville Downtown is located across the street from the Country Music Hall of Fame and just blocks from the Music City Center, live music on Broadway, and events at Bridgestone Arena. Our hotel offers complimentary breakfast, complimentary internet, and a convenient location close to everything Nashville has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Nashville - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Nashville - Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Nashville - Downtown Hotel Nashville
Hampton Inn Nashville
Nashville Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing