We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Nashville / Vanderbilt
Ranked #21 of 155 Hotels in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hospitality”
Reviewed 25 June 2009

We stayed at the Hampton Inn during the CMA Music Festival June 2009 and couldn't fault it. Everyone was so friendly and made our stay so welcoming. The breakfasts were great and set us up for the day. There a couple of good restaurants across the road from the hotel and could definitely recommend them. Nothing was a bother for the staff and they even got us a timetable for the local buses. Would use this chain of hotels again.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scottie076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    648
    356
    109
    40
    17
See reviews for
332
368
33
247
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2009

This was not our first choice and when reading some reviews after booking it we were quite concerned. The hotel is not new but by no means is it as bad as some reviews here made it seem. Carpet and decor might be called dated. The lobby and front desk area is small but was well staffed and there were no issues with our reservation. The elevator location is a bit odd down the hall from the lobby past first floor rooms. Note – these first floor rooms are right off the lobby and breakfast area.

Our 3rd floor king room was good size with a pull-out couch and full desk. There is a window box type air conditioner which cooled the room sufficiently. Closet and drawer space for unpacking is modest – we had to remove the extra blanket and ironing board from the closet to accommodate our clothes. King bed was very comfortable and the linens were soft and impeccable. The bathroom is small but fully functional although the counter space is seriously deficient for women. Full size blow dryer is nice. Coffee maker is a per cup type not a small pot (we bring our own coffee and filters). Maid service did not try to wake us when we had the “resting” tag in our door lock and when we stayed in one day past noon they left a bag with extra towels and coffee.

Free breakfast was decent with a hot entrée choice, cereal, baked goods, fruit, yogurt and beverages. FREE parking was a big plus and we didn’t have a problem finding a space even during CMA MusicFest week when the town is packed. It has a small pool which we didn’t use. Plenty of restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JW_LW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gorgeous hudson valley
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2009

After staying at sooo many great hotels, the odds are pretty good that you'll find a dud..and this Hampton Inn was a Major Dud. I had booked our room months in advance of our trip--top floor, upgrade if possible. Being a Diamond HHonors member, you get what you ask for. At check-in I was put on the 3rd floor, (first mistake) asked for an upper floor but was told without hesitation, those rooms were assigned to others. Some of the people hadn't checked in yet and were not Diamond HHonors members...didn't matter, they were not going to budge. I even asked for a rate reduction since my requests hadn't been met..."Nice try, but I can't do that" We could have a room next to the Fitness center or a room on the 3rd floor. Checked out the room on the 3rd floor and pictures follow. The only one that's not too clear is what I call 'junk' on the wall...I hoped it was either mayonnaise or hand lotion or something..but it was gross....Called HHonors, they tried to help and were able to move me out of my room to a room on the 4th floor, double beds, who cares..it was cleaner that the room on the 3rd floor across from the elevator.
The hotel was sold out for the weekend...good for them. But the lack of customer service and hospitality was not befitting of a Hilton Property. My complaints were answered with this phrase.."well, you're catching us right before renovations." But as I can see from the recent postings, they still haven't been renovated.... It is frustrating to pay $199 for a room which at best should go for $89. You are very close to the University--it's a college town and we loved the town, not the hotel....

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2toots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2009

I stayed at this Hampton the second weekend of May to attend the Vanderbilt graduation ceremonies. I have always been pleased with Hamptons until now. We were given a "nonsmoking" room but walked in to a punch-you-in-the-face waft of disgusting, decades-old smoke. We complained and were told that it was in fact a non-smoking room, but that it had just been converted from "smoking" one week earlier. Seriously? Are you kidding me? Of course, we asked to be moved and were told they were all sold out until the next day. I didn't want to complain too much because I was with family, but it is ridiculous that we paid $200 for that first night. I had a sore throat and my clothes smelled like smoke the whole weekend!
Also, the breakfast sucked and the room wasn't very clean. The whole thing was just overpriced and disappointing. As far as I'm concerned, these jerks owe me money for ruining my trip. Don't stay here.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tito-El-Bandito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McMinnville, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2009

My husband and I booked a room here in early March because we were scheduled for the delivery of our son at Baptist Hospital (two blocks away) very early the next morning (we live about 1.5 hours away). Everything was fine during check-in, but as we progressed to our room, I began to get a bad feeling about the place. The hotel has obviously not been renovated in some time, and it shows. When we arrived at our room, it was ok - not great, but nothing too bad. It seemed to need more thorough cleaning as other reviewers have suggested. But as soon as I flipped on the bathroom light, I was greeted by an enormous cockroach. At that moment, I picked up my phone, called the Loews Vanderbilt Plaza up the street, and we left. I will say that the hotel was good enough to refund our charges, but that hardly makes up for being infested with roaches. I suppose that serves me for trying to save money by booking the Hampton Inn. We've now stayed at the Loews on several different occasions, and it is always great. The lovely woman at the Loews check-in desk was even nice enough to discount our room rate when we told her what had happened.

My suggestion: The Hampton Inn at Vanderbilt needs thorough cleaning and remodeling before it will be worth its name or price tag.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MNinTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petoskey, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
499 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 328 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2009

We always stay at Hampton Inns and were disappointed with this one in Nashville. We only chose it because it was a short distance (less than 1 mile) to visit some family in the Vanderbilt area. When I checked in the clerk told me I had no reservation, so I had to go back to the car for my confirmation number and when I returned a second clerk found it immediately. One of two elevators were inoperable and a note in the room explained that they were in the process of fixing it, yet we talked to a couple in the lobby who said they had stayed there over a month ago and it was broken then too. The wait was so long on some occasions that we took the stairs.
The rooms are dated and the bathrooms are so small you have no place to open a make-up bag on the sink without fearing it plunging into the toilet. The mattress was sagging and the linens felt like they'd been laundered 10,000 times....threadbare! The NBC channel was fuzzy on the old television set (not too happy about that while trying to watch the end of an exciting NCAA basketball game!!) The breakfast was a typical stuff (bagels, cold cereals, juice/coffee) but the dining area is inadequate for the number of guests.
If they're remodeling it might improve, but I won't stay there again until things are spruced up a bit.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dre51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dothan, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2009

Some of the staff were really nice - others were quite rude. Only one of the elevators was working - waited for 10 minutes for an elevator when checking out. Continental Breakfast was weak for a Hampton - I expect better from them. Good location. You can tell that this is an old hotel. Limited parking.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bamagal89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nashville hotels
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Nashville - Vanderbilt - Elliston Place
0.2 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Nashville Vanderbilt
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Nashville/Vanderbilt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Homewood Suites Nashville Vanderbilt
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Nashville Vanderbilt/West End
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Music Row
Best Western Plus Music Row
#53 of 155 in Nashville
1,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Nashville / Vanderbilt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Nashville / Vanderbilt

Property: Hampton Inn Nashville / Vanderbilt
Address: 1919 W End Ave, Nashville, TN 37203-2319
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Davidson County > Nashville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Nashville
#14 Family Hotel in Nashville
#18 Business Hotel in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Nashville / Vanderbilt 2.5*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton Inn Nashville/Vanderbilt is two blocks from the Vanderbilt University campus in the city's West End area. Walk to over 50 restaurants from our 169-room hotel, which is just minutes from downtown. See over 300 species of plants, shrubs and the Bicentennial Oak on campus. Vanderbilt Medical Center, Baptist Hospital and Centennial Medical Center are within a mile of the hotel. Lunch on 'meat and three' or a burger and shake at Rotier's or Elliston Place Soda Shop, two legendary Nashville restaurants that have served Vanderbilt students for over sixty years. Shop for out-of-print books and vintage clothes at nearby Elliston Place or take a short ride to The Mall at Green Hills, Nashville's premier shopping destination. Hear great music at historic Ryman Auditorium, the Grand Ole Opry, or nearby Exit/In and Bluebird Cafe. Bridgestone Area also hosts concerts. View a scale-sized replica of The Parthenon and Athena statue in Centennial Park. Tour The Hermitage, home of President Andrew Jackson, or Cheekwood Botanical Gardens and Museum of Art. Watch the Vanderbilt Commodores or Tennessee Titans play football. Attend a conference at Music City Center, Nashville's convention center. Whether you're visiting Nashville for business, a Vanderbilt graduation ceremony or a tournament at Centennial Sportsplex, you will enjoy our comfortable guest rooms with free high-speed internet access and 32-inch HDTVs. All rooms feature refrigerators, work desks and convenient lap desks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Nashville / Vanderbilt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Nashville/Vanderbilt Hotel Nashville
Nashville Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing