We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, not so great valet parking”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Loews Vanderbilt Hotel
Ranked #10 of 154 Hotels in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Franklin, North Carolina
1 review
“Great hotel, not so great valet parking”
Reviewed 24 July 2013

The hotel itself is well-appointed, check-in staff were efficient and pleasant. The fitness center has state-of-the-art equipment and convenience measures such as chilled towels, headphones for the equipment TV's and chilled lemon ice water. The only problem there was that I visited the fitness center in the mid-afternoon and mid-evening hours and there were no drinking cups for the ice water on either visit. The center had not been checked to replenish items in-between.

I used the valet parking since, being in a city, that seemed to be the best way to go and very convenient. It was convenient however my car sat outside the hotel, in the way of cars coming in and going to the interior self-parking garage, and in the hot sun until my early afternoon departure. I spoke with two staff members about it who were very pleasant but not concerned. In hindsight, I would have been much better to have paid the lesser self-parking fee and parked in an interior parking area rather than to have had my car sitting out. It's rather hard to believe there were only 3 cars, out of a busy hotel, that used the valet parking. If there were others, where were they parked?

Breakfast at Mason's Restaurant was wonderful. The staff were very accommodating and my made to order omelet was fantastic.

My room was an "upgrade", according to the check-in staff. However, what this meant was that I had a handicapped accessible room with an unusual shower situation and a shower floor that was not clean and was slimy. The room was spacious but table tops could have been cleaned better as I did see some dirty areas on them. The bed was SUPER comfortable and clean!

This is my first hotel review and I only did it because these few things stood out as issues with an otherwise beautiful hotel. I recommend it but also recommend self-parking rather than valet service.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FranklinPaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsVanderbiltHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Loews Vanderbilt Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Greetings FranklinPaula,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Loews Vanderbilt Hotel. We would like to apologize for the few inconveniences you experienced during your stay such as the missing water cups from the fitness center, the valet parking, and the condition of your upgraded guestroom. Please rest assured this information will be passed on to the appropriate Team members. However, it is pleasing to hear that your breakfast in our Mason’s restaurant was wonderful as you say. Please come back and stay at the Loews Vanderbilt if traveling to Nashville. We would love to make things more comfortable for your return visit.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,569 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,065
    311
    109
    55
    29
See reviews for
278
364
41
619
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Douglasville, Georgia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2013

When you want to travel away from home and feel comfortable and safe then Loew's Vanderbilt is the place to be. The hotel is costly but you get what you pay for and much much more. This is a beautiful hotel and I enjoyed my visit there.

Room Tip: Get a top floor the view is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DAllen123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsVanderbiltHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Loews Vanderbilt Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Hello DAllen123,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at the Loews Vanderbilt Hotel. We are glad to hear you had an enjoyable visit and would certainly love to have you back.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murfreesboro, Tennessee, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Loews Vanderbilt Hotel for a quick anniversary getaway and were blown away. The hotel was gorgeous, the room was incredible with great views of the city and the staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful. It's the perfect distance from downtown, just a quick drive over the interstate. We will definitely be staying at the Loews Vanderbilt for years to come and are already looking forward to our next getaway. I will be recommending the Loews Vanderbilt Hotel to everyone I know staying in Nashville.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsVanderbiltHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Loews Vanderbilt Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Greetings Rachel S,
Thank you for the great comments of your recent visit to the Loews Vanderbilt Hotel. Though you were not far from home we love that you and your husband chose to celebrate your wedding anniversary with us! We would most certainly enjoy you staying with us again on another staycation or just a night out on the town.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
319 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Spent the weekend here with my wife. Bed was very comfortable although difficult to get the room cool enough. Room was nice. One robe, ice on even floors let you know its a mid level hotel. Hotel restaurant, Mason's, was a pleasant experience. Good area and cajun food. Very good service. Bar was terrific with great featured cocktails and outstanding service. The car service guys were outstanding. Quick, cooperative and friendly.

Room Tip: Get an even floor room if you want easy access to ice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allen727286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsVanderbiltHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Loews Vanderbilt Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Hello Allen727286,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments following your recent stay at the Loews Vanderbilt Hotel. We are excited to hear that you and your wife enjoyed Mason’s and Mason Bar as they are a new addition to our hotel post renovation. We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with the functionality of your HVac system in your guestroom. We would love to have you visiting again when in Nashville.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parkland, Florida
Level Contributor
179 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013 via mobile

Great hotel with beautiful interior. Lobby is stunning with plenty of places to gather comfortably. Be sure to request a higher floor and make sure you are not right by the elevator. Your room will be great with those two requests. There is a parking fee to be aware. The bar is fabulous with very nice drinks. We love to walk and a few times walked to downtown. It is a distance but doable. We also walked to several restaurants that were great. The tavern was amazing and the pancake pantry was worth the wait. Fantastic stay that we really enjoyed.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizd3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsVanderbiltHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Loews Vanderbilt Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Greetings lizd3,
Thank you for writing a review cornering your recent visit to the Loews Vanderbilt Hotel. These are all great comments of the hotel and its location. Yes, we do have a parking fee of $30.00 for valet and $26.00 for self-parking, but that includes in and out access during your stay. There is limited parking around the hotel so we try to stay within competitive rates. Please come visit us again when traveling to Nashville.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

My hubby and I spent a night out at Loews Hotel and had a wonderful time. The hotel's atmosphere was stylish and swank. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We had a great dining experience at Mason's restaurant inside the hotel. The fried green tomatoes were amazing! We were very pleased with everything.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsVanderbiltHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Loews Vanderbilt Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Hello M J,
Thank you for taking the time to write a quick review of your recent visit to the Loews Vanderbilt Hotel. We are glad to hear that it was an enjoyable one and would love to have you back in the near future.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

So, about two weeks ago my wife and I were in Florida with some friends and ate at the #1 rated steakhouse in the US - Bern's Steakhouse in Tampa. While the service there was fantastic and the food was very good, my meal at Mason's was hands-down, no-contest, much better than at Bern's. From the appetizers; I had the bone marrow which was excellent, my son had their "devil of an egg" which he stated was the best deviled egg he ever had! The bacon jam and mustard caviar was fantastic on the eggs. My wife had the fried green tomato that had crab, peas, feta cheese and a smoked pepper aioli and she ate every last bit - she loved it. The for our meal, my wife had the shrimp and grits which she gets at many restaurants and she thought it was the best she's had. My son had the mason burger with a fried egg on it and truffled french fries along with a side of their grits. He loved everything about the burger and particularly the grits. My meal was their fried chicken galantine with spicy collards on a bed of mashed turnips. If you've never had a galantine, it is a forced meat in this case with chicken, bacon and rosemary. It was absolutely fantastic. The portion sizes were great and allowed us to have the appetizer, meal and desserts without being overly stuffed. Our desserts were also excellent. Definitely worth going back to over and over again - don't miss this place!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RGToth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nashville hotels
Omni Nashville Hotel
#6 of 154 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,223 reviews
Hutton Hotel
#18 of 154 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thompson Nashville
#7 of 154 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
Downtown Nashville
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
#11 of 154 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,696 reviews
Hilton Nashville Downtown
#19 of 154 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Vanderbilt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Vanderbilt Hotel

Property: Loews Vanderbilt Hotel
Address: 2100 W End Ave, Nashville, TN 37203-5200
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Davidson County > Nashville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Nashville
#5 Luxury Hotel in Nashville
#6 Business Hotel in Nashville
#6 Family Hotel in Nashville
#8 Romantic Hotel in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Vanderbilt Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Loews Vanderbilt Hotel Nashville, the only AAA Four-Diamond hotel in Tennessee for over 29 consecutive years. The Loews Hotel in Nashville is your home base in Music City, where legendary Loews service meets true Southern hospitality. Our 340 newly renovated guest rooms, including 9 chart-topping suites, are both energetic and inviting - just like our charming city. Club Level rooms feature additional amenities and access to the exclusive Club Lounge. Loaded with amenities including Mason's Restaurant, complimentary fitness center access, 24-hour room service, and area shuttle, both families and business travelers can consider Loews Nashville Hotel their home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Loews Vanderbilt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Nashville
Nashville Loews

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing