We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comments post renovation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Loews Vanderbilt Hotel
Ranked #12 of 155 Hotels in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Comments post renovation”
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Great hotel, excellent staff, however some changes, post renovation, were not for the better. First the music in the 10th floor lounge used to be selected and played by the 10th floor concierge Miguel Torres and it was always great. Now it is just elevator music. Not interesting or particularly enjoyable. Second, the main floor concierge station was moved from a central easily seen and accessible to an out of the way location. Third, the shoe shine station, which had the city's best shine man, was moved to almost in the men's restroom. It is almost invisible and I doubt if he has any customers.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 245Charles1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony P, General Manager at Loews Vanderbilt Hotel, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Thank you for your continued business through our renovation! We wish to meet everyone's expectations with the changes we have made. Thank you for your feedback in regards to the music on the concierge lounge. We very much value your opinion, and we will take this into consideration.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,635 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,113
    322
    110
    59
    31
See reviews for
299
379
43
641
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

Beautiful hotel, great location with fantastically helpful staff; however the Wi-fi was not included in the room price and was very expensive. No complimentary water in room; which is unusual and with tax one normal size bottle was over $8 which is excessive, especially as there were no water fountains and the water from tap tasted of chemicals. Would recommend it but take your own bottles of water!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Desertsaffron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony P, General Manager at Loews Vanderbilt Hotel, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay at the Loews Vanderbilt. It is great to hear you enjoyed the hotel and service! For future reference, we do have water fountains on our lobby and mezzanine level near the public restrooms. Also, we have taken feedback like yours and other guests, and our internet is now complimentary in the guest rooms. We hope to have you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Took my adult daughter to Mason's for dinner. Menu was eclectic but well thought out. Kudos to the Chef. Our server, Brian was attentive but was really impressed with Ben. He made some great suggestions for each of us. Took time to listen and was spot on all our meals. My girl went home happy and satisfied as did I.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kwintoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony P, General Manager at Loews Vanderbilt Hotel, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Thank you for your kind remarks about your dining experience in Mason's. It is great to hear that you were provided excellent food as well as service. We look forward to having you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

No breakfast. No wifi in rooms. Dingy narrow hallways and cheap scuffed doors, creating a noisy effect even on a quiet Monday night. Wrinkly sheets that suggest a fundamental misunderstanding of how to make a bed. Toilet paper a gorilla-arm length from WC. No HBO or premium channels. Weak showers. Bad service: mini bar requires a key, to be requested at front desk. Huh? Stinky mini fitness room and no pool. No shop. Creepy wall of animal hide behind reception. $70 hold on credit card for incidentals (seriously--$70? So that's what you should assume you will add to your bill, apparently). Hallways reek of some weird cleaning agent. Staff is depressed and unhelpful at best.
On the other hand, there is a grossly overpriced weird bar on the main floor that they pretend is a hot spot. Much as I hate TGI Fridays and all of the cheeseball overpriced junk there, it is around the corner and a MUCH better option than a plate of dry chips with weirdly horrible salsa.
They took down the sign about the hotel bar's happy hour (which lasts until 6) at 5:20, as if to keep people out. Avoid the happy hour wine option: nasty.
And it is a cold snap so even the staff are in winter coats. I slept in my bathrobe (best part of stay is supercozy bathrobe).

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KatyMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsVanderbiltHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Loews Vanderbilt Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2015
Hello KatyMike,
Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay at the Loews Vanderbilt Hotel. We would like to apologize about how disappointed you were with your accommodations along with everything included in our hotel. It is never our wish for guests to leave unsatisfied of their time here. We would hope if ever in Nashville again that you give us another opportunity to show you what the Loews Brand has to offer.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We kicked off our mini-tour of the South in Nashville and stayed here for a couple of nights. It turned out to be a good choice and we couldn't fault the quality of the room or the level of service. Breakfasts were excellent - I still think about the challah bread French toast which was simply amazing. We also had a good evening meal at the hotel. I suppose we would have preferred to be more centrally located but the hotel offers a very good shuttle service.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rockandbaconrolls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony P, General Manager at Loews Vanderbilt Hotel, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Thank you for your feedback and positive remarks about Mason's restaurant during your recent stay. I am so glad that you enjoyed our French toast. There are many other unique items on the menu that I am sure you would enjoy as well. We look forward to having you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, New Jersey, Usa
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

My family stayed at Loews between Christmas and New Years. We found the location ideal for touring the Vanderbilt campus and for visiting sites in and around Nashville. The campus was a short walk away, and we were especially pleased to be able to walk over to the Parthenon. The hotel restaurant, Mason's, was amazing, far better than any of us expected. All the staff we encountered were very helpful and friendly. The lobby and facilites were very nice. So here are my minor quibbles: beds were not as firm as I would have liked, daily parking rate was very high and it should have been more clearly posted (paid as much or more for self-parking here as we did in NYC!) , the courtesy shuttle that is advertised as free to all locations within a 3 mi radius of hotel was not something we ever got to use, either because we were told there was a 1.5 hours wait for the shuttle or the location we wanted to visit was 3.1 miles away and they wouldn't take us there. It was fine because we had a rental car, but it meant everyone in the family had to go to same place rather than kids going to a movie and grown ups going downtown as we had thought we would be able to do.

Room Tip: Don't count on courtesy shuttle as it is often not available or won't take you as far as you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daitokoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony P, General Manager at Loews Vanderbilt Hotel, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Thank you for giving feedback about your stay over the holidays. I am so glad to hear you experienced the convenience of our location as well as great service. I apologize that you were unable to utilize our complimentary shuttle during your visit. Thank you for informing us of your wait time. I will pass this information to our Valet Manager so that we can consider different methods to avoid this for you and other guests in the future. Please come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Stayed here during a week of Nashville Sightseeing. Very nice and clean rooms.. Valet and Bellhop were very nice, actually every staff member I met was very nice. I didn't find too much that I wanted to eat at the on-site restaurant, Mason's. I am not sure what style of cooking it was (maybe fusion). The other restaurant is a Ruth's Chris, but I didn't bring the right clothes for that level of fancy. But, I had the Vanderbilt's room service twice, and both times it was good. It's also located near a bunch of places to eat if you wanted to go out.

The gift shop is small, and it doesn't sell bottles of wine like the Loew's Portofino Bay does. But it has essentials if you need them.

I would stay here again if I came back to Nashville. Also, after the first night I switched from Valet to self-parking, which is attached to the hotel & it was very easy to get back into the hotel from the parking area.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LostChi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony P, General Manager at Loews Vanderbilt Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
I am so glad to hear you enjoyed your recent stay at the Loews Vanderbilt. Our restaurant, Mason's, is a Southern style cuisine with French influences. I am sorry that you did not find something on the menu that interested you, but thank you very much for trying our room service. We do hope you will return to Nashville, as we would love to have you as our guest again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nashville hotels
Omni Nashville Hotel
#7 of 155 in Nashville
5,475 reviews
Downtown Nashville
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
#10 of 155 in Nashville
2,786 reviews
Hutton Hotel
#18 of 155 in Nashville
1,896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Nashville
Hermitage Hotel
Hermitage Hotel
#4 of 155 in Nashville
1,570 reviews
Hilton Nashville Downtown
#19 of 155 in Nashville
1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Vanderbilt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Vanderbilt Hotel

Property: Loews Vanderbilt Hotel
Address: 2100 W End Ave, Nashville, TN 37203-5200
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Davidson County > Nashville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Nashville
#6 Luxury Hotel in Nashville
#6 Family Hotel in Nashville
#6 Business Hotel in Nashville
#8 Romantic Hotel in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Vanderbilt Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Loews Vanderbilt Hotel Nashville, the only AAA Four-Diamond hotel in Tennessee for over 29 consecutive years. The Loews Hotel in Nashville is your home base in Music City, where legendary Loews service meets true Southern hospitality. Our 340 newly renovated guest rooms, including 9 chart-topping suites, are both energetic and inviting - just like our charming city. Club Level rooms feature additional amenities and access to the exclusive Club Lounge. Loaded with amenities including Mason's Restaurant, complimentary fitness center access, 24-hour room service, and area shuttle, both families and business travelers can consider Loews Nashville Hotel their home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Loews Vanderbilt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Nashville
Nashville Loews

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing