We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newport South
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Newport
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Nice new clean hotel driving back from Hilton head first hotel after smokey mts. Typical breakfast, pool a little cold, stayed in double room with pull out couch nice larger room with teen age kids. Hotel built in 2009 I think seems new, a little hard
To find the entrance. Staff was really friendly

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beth m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hixnewport, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newport South, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Newport South. Thank you for taking the time to write such positive comments about our hotel. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. I hope that you will have the opportunity to visit our area again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    63
    14
    5
    3
See reviews for
66
46
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dearborn Heights, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

This is what I like about HIE! It was clean, comfortable, and the staff was nice... even the staff in the breakfast area! :) I would recommend it and I would stay again if in the area. (One thing though. This HIE and many others do not have ventilation in the bathrooms. It would nice if it did so the mirrors and walls and everything doesn't get steamy.)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hixnewport, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newport South, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Newport South. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. I hope you will have the opportunity to stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Newport TN. I will have to say this is the worst Holiday Inn stay I've had. The cleanliness was good and the staff for the most part was good. The lady in the breakfast area was the worst. Complained about having been there since 5:00 A M it was 9:00 A M at this point. We have always tipped the person taking care of the breakfast area, but this lady missed out. She was rude.
On to the room. To pay $185 a night you would think the remote for the T V should work, it didn't. Also, you would think the refrigerator would work, it didn't. I dare say we will not be staying at this particular location again. We have always done our best to stay at Holiday Inn Express and up until this point have never had a bad time.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rpwillis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hixnewport, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newport South, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
We would like to thank you for letting us know about the problems you experienced. It is the Holiday Inn Express and Suites Newport South’s goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve. I apologize for any problems you may have experienced during your visit with us and can assure you that the issues you mentioned have been addressed. Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Newport South; and I hope that if you are in the area again, you will consider staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed our stay! Staff was very friendly upon check in. Pool facility was not what i expected (especially for the price you pay), it was small & cold. Did not feel like a heated pool. The breakfast was not that great. The rooms were very spacious & comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Surbersgirl50406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hixnewport, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newport South, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
I would like to thank you for letting us know about your stay with us. I am very sorry for any problems you may have experienced during your stay. It is the goal of the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Newport South to make sure that all of our guests are always happy with their stay. The feedback we receive from our valued guests enable us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. I would like to thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Newport South and hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

This hotel was the perfect overnight stay on our way to Hilton Head. It is right off the highway and right before you hit the mountains it has plenty of restaurants and gas stations near by as well. The hotel is very clean, with spacious modern rooms. The free breakfast was just what we needed before hitting the road in the morning and the pool was great for our little one to get some energy out after sitting in the car all day and before hitting the road again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank casey f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hixnewport, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newport South, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
We are so excited to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Newport and that the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Newport South was an enjoyable part of your stay. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Newport South. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

We stopped at this hotel on our way home from vacation and were pleasantly surprised. It seems very new, everything was very clean and nice. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom amenities were Bath and Body Works brand. Staff was friendly and the front desk person was very helpful and attentive to finding us a room without a reservation. If you are looking to for a hotel in this area, it is definitely the nicest, newest hotel in Newport.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hayley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hixnewport, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newport South, responded to this review, 23 June 2013
It is always heartwarming to know that our guests have enjoyed their stay. Having you as our guest was an honor and privilege. Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Newport South. We hope that you will stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clinton, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We are always satisfied with the Holiday Inn hotels, but this one was especially nice. Clean comfortable rooms. Friendly and helpful woman at the check in desk. Will definitely stay here again on our way through.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aly8738
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hixnewport, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newport South, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
I am so excited to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Newport South. It is such an encouragement when our guests have an enjoyable stay. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, and we hope to have the opportunity to serve you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport
3.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Newport
Comfort Inn Newport
#2 of 10 in Newport
174 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 10 in Newport
153 reviews
14.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Dandridge
Hampton Inn Dandridge
#1 of 8 in Dandridge
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Jefferson Inn
Jefferson Inn
#3 of 8 in Dandridge
112 reviews
14.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#2 of 8 in Dandridge
235 reviews
14.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dandridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newport South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newport South

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newport South
Address: 1022 Cosby Hwy, Newport, TN 37821-7321
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Newport
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newport South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest addition to the Foothills of Smoky Mountains, is the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Newport, Tennessee! We are conveniently located to I-40 at exit 435, just a short drive to Gatlinburg, Pigeon Forge, Smoky Mountains National Park, Knoxville and The University of Tennessee. With our world class service and many restaurants within walking distance, you ll discover why our guests have selected us as their preferred hotel in Newport! This state-of-the-art 100% smoke-free hotel features special in room amenities such as free high-speed Internet access and free local calls. Whether you are staying with us for business or pleasure, take time to relax and enjoy our indoor heated swimming pool, business center, wireless Internet access in all public areas and fitness center. Points of Interests: Companies:, Bush Brothers Newport, Con-agra Newport, Tennessee Valley Authority, and AeroPro LLC. Hospitals: Baptist Hospital of Cocke County, Cherokee Health Systems, and Mariner Health of Newport. Universities: University of Tennessee, Walter State Community College, & Pellissippi State. Local Attractions:Smoky Mountains National Park, Ripley s Aquarium of the Smokies, Cherokee Casino, White Water Rafting, Bristol Motor Speedway, and Ober Gatlinburg. Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express and Suites Newport, TN. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newport South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Newport South

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing