We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Last Minute, but Good Stay!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newport South

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newport South
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Corbin
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Last Minute, but Good Stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

My husband and I were going to Biltmore for a day, and after we drove all the way into Asheville, we couldn't find a room anywhere! We ended up having to drive 70 miles outside of Asheville, and thank goodness, we found this hotel on Priceline for $85 a night ($110, after taxes). It had been newly renovated, and I loved the colors! It was very clean, and the beds were comfy. The breakfast needed more options, but other than that, we were extremely pleased.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hixnewport, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newport South, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
I am so sorry that you had to stay away from your destination, but I am glad that you found us. I am also excited that IHG is testing some new breakfast items. Hopefully, we will have some more options coming soon. Thank you for staying with us and we hope that you will visit the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Newport South again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    62
    14
    4
    1
See reviews for
60
43
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tennessee Ridge, Tennessee
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

No complaints; did its part to bolster the old HI byline, "The best surprise is no surprise."
The prices are too high; the only reason I did not give this one an Excellent rating.
$142,00 PLUS tax is a bit steep for a couple of old folks just needing a few hours sleep
and a shower.
Next time, will try Best Western at the same exit. Recently refurbished, great reviews and better prices.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hobbits2nfro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hixnewport, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newport South, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
I would like to thank you for staying at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Newport South. As a valued guest, your comfort and satisfaction will always be guaranteed while you are with us. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you again. Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Newport South.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berea, Kentucky, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

Excellent room, quiet hotel, clean room! GREAT swimming pool. Nice staff! Even tucked in Charlie Brown (our little boy's stuffed animal) while straightening our room...nice added touch! Thanks for the restaurant recommendation.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hixnewport, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newport South, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Our staff is very pleased that they were able to help make your stay enjoyable. Your comfort and satisfaction is always a top priority. We hope that you and Charlie Brown will have the opportunity to visit our area again soon. Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Newport South.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee Ridge, Tennessee
Level Contributor
76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

The hotel was right off the interstate. I really liked the decor. The hot breakfast was really good. The staff was friendly. Would stay there again. We did use our reward points so it was free. Rooms were very clean.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oceanlover1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hixnewport, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newport South, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Thank you for the kind review. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Newport South. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

We have stated at the HIE in Newport a few times primarily because it has a "heated pool", however, we have yet to stay there when the pool is even considered warm. I notified the HIE staff with each visit, but when I return, the same problem remains unresolved. For the July 2013 stay, I provided feedback on Holiday Inn's website. After a series of emails, the HIE manager emailed me that the pool stays at a constant 83 degrees. Ah, we haven't experience that. And, I asked her to check it out with a pool thermometer without a response. Tired of the runaround.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hixnewport, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newport South, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
I would like to apologize for the issues you have. Once again, we do check our pool WATER temperature regularly with a thermometer. It is constantly maintained between 83 and 85 degrees. I am sorry, but I do not know any other way to explain it so that you can understand. We take great pride in maintaining our property and providing guest services and comfort to our guests. We always strive to maintain the highest level of guest satisfaction. Naturally, we always hate to lose our valued guests, but I do hope that you will be happy with your next property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Ontario
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

Stopped in Newport on our way home from Florida with the kids for the night after a long day of driving. This was our third attempt at finding a decent place to pull off for the day that wasn't outrageously priced or a dump. The property is new, modern and spotlessly clean which are all musts on our list. The hotel was not very busy for a Friday night and it was quiet. Great location for those driving through. Free internet access as well.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DBH486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hixnewport, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newport South, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Dear DBH486,

We are very glad that you found us and had an enjoyable stay. Anytime that you are in the area, please stop and visit us. Thank you for staying at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Newprot South. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summerville, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
90 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

Rooms were clean and the Hotel Staff was friendly. I would recommend this hotel if staying in Newport, TN. Breakfast was hot and there was always plenty to eat.
If I had any issues it was that the GYM was too small and it seemed like the equipment was always in use. It was unfortunate because the location of the Hotel did not allow a place to run, outside. (no side walks, business highway)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hixnewport, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newport South, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
I am very glad that you enjoyed your visit with us. Your comments are an encouragement to the staff and management. Thank you for taking the time to let everyone know how wonderful your stay was. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us. Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Newport South. We hope you will visit with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport
3.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Newport
Comfort Inn Newport
#3 of 9 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 9 in Newport
3.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
14.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#2 of 8 in Dandridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dandridge
22.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Sevierville @ Stadium Drive
14.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Dandridge
Hampton Inn Dandridge
#1 of 8 in Dandridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newport South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newport South

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newport South
Address: 1022 Cosby Hwy, Newport, TN 37821
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Newport
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newport South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest addition to the Foothills of Smoky Mountains, is the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Newport, Tennessee! We are conveniently located to I-40 at exit 435, just a short drive to Gatlinburg, Pigeon Forge, Smoky Mountains National Park, Knoxville and The University of Tennessee. With our world class service and many restaurants within walking distance, you ll discover why our guests have selected us as their preferred hotel in Newport! This state-of-the-art 100% smoke-free hotel features special in room amenities such as free high-speed Internet access and free local calls. Whether you are staying with us for business or pleasure, take time to relax and enjoy our indoor heated swimming pool, business center, wireless Internet access in all public areas and fitness center. Points of Interests: Companies:, Bush Brothers Newport, Con-agra Newport, Tennessee Valley Authority, and AeroPro LLC. Hospitals: Baptist Hospital of Cocke County, Cherokee Health Systems, and Mariner Health of Newport. Universities: University of Tennessee, Walter State Community College, & Pellissippi State. Local Attractions:Smoky Mountains National Park, Ripley s Aquarium of the Smokies, Cherokee Casino, White Water Rafting, Bristol Motor Speedway, and Ober Gatlinburg. Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express and Suites Newport, TN. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newport South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Newport South

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing