We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good room, great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newport South
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Newport
Waterville, Maine
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good room, great staff”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Choose this property because of its location on our road trip to Gatlinburg, only 45 minutes away. We were greeted immediately and cheerfully, with registration quickly accomplished with no glitches. Room was large, clean and comfortable. Free Wifi worked great. Got a recommendation from the front desk clerk for a nearby restaurant for dinner which was excellent, as promised. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hixnewport, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newport South, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for your kind comments. We love to hear that we helped make your stay enjoyable. We hope you will stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    62
    14
    5
    2
See reviews for
61
46
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orangeburg, South Carolina, USA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Stayed here on our recent trip to Nashville. This place is relatively new and is spotlessly clean. We were treated royally and the breakfast was to die for!! It was definitely a great place to stay and would choose it again..

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jayneherron26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hixnewport, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newport South, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review. Your comments are very kind and encouraging. We hope you will visit the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Newport South again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

We had the room with the king bed and jacuzzi tub. The room was clean with tall ceilings. The tub was big enough for my 6'5" husband and myself who is 5'9" (first time ever!) TV was dwarfed by the rest of the room. Would stay again!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hixnewport, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newport South, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
It was very nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I am glad that you were able to relax and enjoy the jacuzzi. I hope that you will have the opportunity to visit the Holiday Inn Express & Suites again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

This was the second year we stayed at this hotel on our return of Florida. I'm happy to once again report it remain a top notch hotel. Friendly help full staff right from the get go. Greeted as a valued points member. Suggested restaurants in the area as well as information on the hotel. The room was very clean and comfortable. Just can't say enough about this hotel and it's location. I must add here that we were traveling, in separate vehicles, with another couple who decided the cost was to much and stayed at another. Well the next morning they said "you get what you pay for", they had a terrible night. No so with this hotel. I just hope they continue to keep it up todate.

Room Tip: If your heading north after your stay, try 25E a little slower but worth the drive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NelsonKid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hixnewport, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newport South, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
It was great to have you as our guest again. It is always exciting to have our guests return when they are in the area. Your loyalty and positive comments are very encouraging. We hope to see you again next year. Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Newport South.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on the way from Saint Simons Island, GA to Michigan. After driving through a hard rain most of the day, we decided to skip Asheville and push through further. Glad we did! This is a newer HIE that is well maintained. Great breakfast and very courteous front desk staff. A great stop after a long day of driving in tough weather. We usually stop exclusively at HIE's during our road trips and this is one of the best. The room was very nice.

I would have given it a five rating had it not been for two staff members smoking right at the front door as we were packing the car under the canopy. This is a no smoking hotel, staff should not smoke at the entry to the hotel.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Al A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hixnewport, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newport South, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and had a good breakfast to start your day. Your comments are an encouragement to our staff. We greatly appreciate your loyalty and hope to see you again soon. Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Newport South.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hope, Indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

We made an emergency trip from Indiana to Tennessee this past weekend to visit family that was in the hospital it was last minute so I was thankful I was able to get a room with my emplyee discount so last minute! The hotel staff was all so very nice and kind to us. The let us extend our check out time so that we were able to get a few more hours of sleep before the dirve home which was very much appreciated! The hotel was nice and clean and very comfortable! The housekeeping staff has done an excellent job and I would definitely reccommend this hotel to anyone and if we are able to get accomidations when we return for our yearly visit in Sept we will be staying agan! I thank you all for being so wonderful! If I receive a survey I can assure you it will be all 10's!!! Thanks again
April R

Room Tip: We have stayed multiple times all in different rooms I truly don't think you can go wrong even b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank April R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hixnewport, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newport South, responded to this review, 25 December 2013
We are glad we could help you out and that your stay was good. We enjoyed having you as our guest. We hope to see you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalamazoo, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Stayed in Newport Thanksgiving week. We wanted to stay close to the mtns. Location was perfect. We had beautiful views of the snow covered mountains nearby. We were close to several attractions. Hotel was very clean & comfortable. Everything looked new and well maintained. Several choices for breakfast. Staff was always pleasant and knowledgeable. We look forward to our trip back in the spring.

Room Tip: Choose a suite. Added comfort for small price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liziebeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hixnewport, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newport South, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
I am glad you chose to stay with us. We are always excited to hear that a guest has enjoyed their stay. Thank you for being our guest. We hope to see you again in the spring.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport
3.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Newport
Comfort Inn Newport
#2 of 9 in Newport
170 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 9 in Newport
150 reviews
14.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#2 of 8 in Dandridge
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Dandridge
Hampton Inn Dandridge
#1 of 8 in Dandridge
467 reviews
14.6 mi away
Jefferson Inn
Jefferson Inn
#3 of 8 in Dandridge
109 reviews
22.6 mi away
Best Western Sevierville/Kodak Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newport South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newport South

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newport South
Address: 1022 Cosby Hwy, Newport, TN 37821-7321
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Newport
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newport South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest addition to the Foothills of Smoky Mountains, is the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Newport, Tennessee! We are conveniently located to I-40 at exit 435, just a short drive to Gatlinburg, Pigeon Forge, Smoky Mountains National Park, Knoxville and The University of Tennessee. With our world class service and many restaurants within walking distance, you ll discover why our guests have selected us as their preferred hotel in Newport! This state-of-the-art 100% smoke-free hotel features special in room amenities such as free high-speed Internet access and free local calls. Whether you are staying with us for business or pleasure, take time to relax and enjoy our indoor heated swimming pool, business center, wireless Internet access in all public areas and fitness center. Points of Interests: Companies:, Bush Brothers Newport, Con-agra Newport, Tennessee Valley Authority, and AeroPro LLC. Hospitals: Baptist Hospital of Cocke County, Cherokee Health Systems, and Mariner Health of Newport. Universities: University of Tennessee, Walter State Community College, & Pellissippi State. Local Attractions:Smoky Mountains National Park, Ripley s Aquarium of the Smokies, Cherokee Casino, White Water Rafting, Bristol Motor Speedway, and Ober Gatlinburg. Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express and Suites Newport, TN. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newport South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Newport South

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing