We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Carreta Mexican Restaurant - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
La Carreta Mexican Restaurant
Cuisines: Mexican, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: (423) 625-3941
Newport, Tennessee
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2012

This is the best mexican food in the newport area. It could use a little work on the atmospere. But a nice place. Staff is very friendly.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Douglas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    8
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Sizzlin'!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2012

We were on vacation and after a long day of being tourists in Gaitlinburg we were all ready for food close to the cabin we all stayed in. We drove 10 minutes to Newport for mexican food. We didn't know what to expect but we got a delicious dinner! My sister, who is extremely picky, even liked the food!
Three of us ordered fajitas, which were wonderful. They give you the sizzling pan of meat and veggies, the plate of "salad", and three large tortillas. There was so much food that even after stuffing all the tortillas there was some left over to take back with us. All of us left stuffed and very happy.
Our waiter was also great. He didn't keep us waiting and all of our food and drinks came quickly, from chips and salsa to main course and from water to coors light.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevierville, TN
Level Contributor
53 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

We are locals and eat at this establishment at least twice a month. It is an outstanding value. Although the food is not of the caliber of the big-city restaurants like Chey's, it is very good, and the wait staff is very accommodating. Try the made to order Pico de Gallo made with fresh jalapenos, onions, cilantro, and tomatoes for a spicy addition to your meal.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tomzoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morristown, Tennessee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worth my 30 min drive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

I have mexican restaurants in my town but this place is worth the drive. I think it's a chain but the owners have been the same for years. Have never had food here that wasn't great.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Karen1024_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
corpus christi
Level Contributor
46 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“If you don't know what real Mexican food is; this is the place to eat”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

Tamales were a joke. You don't make tamales with pure corn masa and split them down the middle afterward to add the pork meat and cover with ground beef that taste like horse meat. The burrito had some sort of red sauce on it that made it too soggy and ruin the dish. Fajitas had more onions and green peppers than actual meat. Beans and rice tasted as if they have been sitting on the back burner all day. Won't be going back........

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CorpusChristiKeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Carreta Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing