We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sad Place”

Sagebrush Steakhouse
Ranked #31 of 64 Restaurants in Newport
Price range: US$5 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Sagebrush is a casual dining Steakhouse. Our menu is full of appetizing items with an emphasis on hand-cut steaks. We also offer award winning ribs, fresh seafood & chicken, as well as a variety of garden fresh salads, appetizers, homemade desserts and a full bar. We pride ourselves in serving a great meal with value & variety in a family friendly environment. Dine In - Take Out - Catering
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
57 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Sad Place”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

After reading all the great reviews on tripadvisor we thought we would give Sagebrush a try.
From the outside the restaurant looks nice enough. Upon entering two ladies were just leaving and I asked "how was It?" Her reply was that this is a hit or miss place. Upon entering we were greeted by a nice friendly hostess, big smile and greeting, was nice. A slight problem started when they could not decide where to seat us, in fact a little tisk between them ensued, lol.. Not kidding.
Finally were were led to a table and on our way noticed table after empty table left uncleaned.
We were seated in a booth and all the empty booths around us were not cleared. It was not in our plan to eat our meal looking at filthy tables. We simply got up and headed out the door.
I can't rate the food or steaks here as we never tried them. From our experience we have at least learned to run from a restaurant that cares so little about the condition of their place. Sorry just my thoughts and you might fare much better.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Atmosphere
Helpful?
Thank Arkus A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    31
    23
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newport, Tennessee
Level Contributor
158 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Average Steak place”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Have dined here 5-6 times in last 3 years during travels to Newport and its normally good
sometimes a bit slow but normally ok. The tips and peppers are good as well as the
NY strip have to say the ribeyes were just so so lots of fat. Last trip I walked over from the motel 6 just to get burger and it was very good.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank surfgermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sterling Heights, Michigan
Level Contributor
333 reviews
240 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“You will like it”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We always stop at the Motel 6, half way to and from HHI S. Carolina, and notice that the parking lot is always full. Must be a good place. This time we were so tired, we decided to just walk over, and we are glad we did. They have a very large menu, something for everyone. We had the best waitress, but I did not write down her name. She was friendly and a lot of fun. I had the chopped steak with onions and gravy. Wow, what a meal. It was huge. We all enjoyed our meals, and we will definitely return next year.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maryann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Decorah, Iowa
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good place to eat”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Located right next to Motel 6 where we stayed, Sagebrush was very convenient to access. We were a bit late, so not too many people in the place. Good food, though a bit salty, good service, and a very good beer after a long day of driving.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeff6666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trinity, Florida
Level Contributor
145 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised.....and much more than steaks.”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We were pleasantly surprised at the service and the quality of the food at this restaurant. Knowing that this is part of a chain of (value) steakhouses that we have never eaten at, we felt we would just take our chances and eat here while staying overnight in a nearby motel.
The menu is much more varied then the usual steakhouse of this ilk, so there is a lot more to chose from including some good fish
The young man who waited on us was very professional and ensured that everything was to our satisfaction. His name was not on the receipt for acknowledgement here, but he and his wife had just had a baby a few days before our visit and he was all aglow as Mom and Baby stopped by for a visit.
Tip: I thought there was too much sugar on both the baked sweet potato and the cobbler dish i ordered. Could have just been the chef that night. Suggest you tell them to go lightly if you order either item.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vinomanfla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Sagebrush Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing