We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grill 73--A Hidden Treasure!”
Review of Grill 73

Grill 73
Ranked #1 of 63 Restaurants in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Russian
Description: American - Russian Cuisine Eat In or Carry Out Tuesday - Saturday: 11 am - 8 pm Sunday: 11 am - 3 pm Do you have a dinner to plan and nowhere to go? Do you need a place to go for a family outing? Need a place for a private dinner? Planning to host or throw a party? Or do you not ever have enough time to prepare for a party or event? Call Val for reservations or to schedule a catered meal.
Restaurant details
Description: American - Russian Cuisine Eat In or Carry Out Tuesday - Saturday: 11 am - 8 pm Sunday: 11 am - 3 pm Do you have a dinner to plan and nowhere to go? Do you need a place to go for a family outing? Need a place for a private dinner? Planning to host or throw a party? Or do you not ever have enough time to prepare for a party or event? Call Val for reservations or to schedule a catered meal.
Dubuque, Iowa
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Grill 73--A Hidden Treasure!”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

My daughter and her family and I were visiting the Smoky Mountains. They had a cabin near Gatlinburg. Our son had told us that the trip to Grill 73 would truly be worth it--and was he right! He had been there previously. We had the Russian pirochke, Russian salad, Cabbage rolls, Borsch, Smoked rib stew and scalloped potato pie. We wanted a variety to try and what was leftover, we were able to take home. Each dish was delicately prepared and each dish was outstanding. The pirochke were all handmade from scratch which take so much time in preparation. The Russian salad was so flavorful with the bits of ham and turkey, vegetables mixed in a delicious sauce. Cabbage rolls were perfectly rolled and tasty, and the Borsch the best ever, the smoked rib stew was truly over the top as well as the scalloped potatoe pie perfectly layered. With all this being so delicious, the most requested is their Philly Steak/cheese Sub! We loved the quaint atmosphere and the wonderful owners! Best Ever! Their iced tea is the best also!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Iowatraveling5grand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    23
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newport, Tennessee
Level Contributor
95 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Always great!”
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

Waiting like a kid for Christmas for them to open back up for the year. One been craving their cabbage rolls since early December. What a great find!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank mnelson825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevierville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A New Favorite”
Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

This was my first visit to Grill 73 & will not be the my last. I found this restaurant on TripAdvisor and thought it would be interesting for a business lunch. (An equal drive for the 3 attending) We each tried something different and loved the food. Very Clean, Quant, & Friendly. We loved that the locals who were eating there were more then happy to share their favorite foods and the fact that they "Loved" this place.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MilesandTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, Tennessee
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Local Gem”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

The Russian couple revamped the old Howard Justus gas station into a neat restaurant. This is an extra clean eatery. It is one of our local favorite places to have a change of pace. In the summer time you can sit at table across the highway beside the Pigeon river. Be sure to ask about specials on the week ends. Call ahead in January to see if closed early.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GoodBadUgly2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taft, Tn
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Surprise, surprise surprise!!!!”
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Imagine finding a Russian Restaurant in the hills of Tennessee. The iced tea had a slight flowery taste and was so refreshing. When we asked, we were told it is Czar Nicholas II tea, an authentic Russian tea. Just 2 old country gals drinking Russian tea in the Tennessee country beside the French Broad River. My older sister has never eaten a beet in her life, so she ordered the cabbage rolls and I had the Borscht. I encouraged her to try my soup and with great hesitation she did. She loved it! We ended up sharing half and half. I will judge a restaurant on how much I like the coleslaw, this place gets thumbs up all the way. The owners are delightful friendly people and we look forward to a return visit.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ivoryjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Grill 73? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing