We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for the money”
Review of Motel 6 Newport

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Motel 6 Newport
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Newport
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We were looking for a no frills place to stay while on travel and this place fit the bill perfectly. Room was no frills, but clean and serviceable. Room was notably quiet on the third floor. Would definitly stay there again.

Room Tip: 3rd floor very quiet. We were across from the elevator and still had a very peaceful stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jesse K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TammyR89, Guest Relations Manager at Motel 6 Newport, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay and was able to relax. It was great having you as our guest. I hope you will have the chance to visit Motel 6 Newport again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (97)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2014

We stopped late and decided to take a chance in motel 6 not knowing what we'd get for the low price we were paying but the rooms are clean and quiet. Nothing fancy but we just wanted to sleep. Would definitely do another motel 6 again if they are all like this one.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nurseratchet2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TammyR89, Guest Relations Manager at Motel 6 Newport, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I am glad that your stay was enjoyable. I hope you will have the opportunity to visit the Motel 6 Newport again soon. Thank you for being our guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We would give this place a better rating if not for the lazy staff. The room was small but clean (for the most part) and suited our needs. There were drops of urine from the previous guest on the toilet seat. Other guests must have been smoking in the hallways and elevator because it was smoky and stinky. Besides all that, the room was fine and the sheets were clean and comfy. The vending machine only accepted $1 bills. In the morning when my husband went to load our things in the car, the key card wouldn't work on the exterior doors. He asked several housekeepers to help him get in, but they were smoking their cigarettes and told him to walk all the way around the building to the front door to get back in. What an inconvenience, since he had to make several trips, and the women were all able to open the door for themselves when they were done smoking. The young man at the front desk wasn't any help either.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LoCloA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

I have never been in such a nasty hotel in my life! I cannot believe anyone could have rated this above 1 star. There was some sort of hair in all of the beds, a dead bug in the bathroom, a terrible odor, and rude and lying staff. I would rate with 0 stars if I could.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Melissaowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

My family and I called yesterday to get a reservation for the weekend. The man at the desk assured us that this would be a family friendly establishment, and he felt great about having his family stay there. We also checked reviews and saw that this seemed to be a decent place to stay.

Upon arrival, there were some interesting characters checking in, but oh well, we thought.

Upon getting to our adjoining rooms on the first floor, we discovered multiple types of hair (pet, private area, and head) in three of the four beds. There was also hair on one of the plastic cups. A small roach-like bug was also seen in one of our bathrooms.

We inquired about these problems at the front desk and were told that they could give us new bedding that we could change ourselves.

We understood this was a holiday weekend and no 5 star resort, but the level of service and amenities were not even close to being acceptable for a family.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank sailor17n61w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Room is basic lodging with no frills. It was very clean and relatively comfortable. Staff was friendly and attentive. Location was convenient to the interstate as well as to Newport. And the price was less than half of the other chain motels in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Franklin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Motel 6 is known for low prices and limited amenities, and this property conforms to that reputation. The price here was half that of some other motels in hardscrabble Newport. Of course, with Motel 6 one shouldn't expect luxury, and it's not here. Your room will have soap, towels and washcloths, a small ice bucket, a rounded-screen, cathode-ray-tube TV, and not much else. Don't look for an alarm clock, hair dryer, or iron and ironing board, although the front desk loaned the latter two items to a guest. The motel provides coffee but not breakfast. Traffic noise from I-40 was a constant companion in the third-floor even-numbered room, and the building is nearly perpendicular to that roadway. However, the room was impeccably clean, the mattress was comfy, and ice was always available from the machine downstairs. This is a reasonable option for budget-conscious travelers.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rod_Ed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport
3.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Newport
Comfort Inn Newport
#2 of 10 in Newport
182 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 10 in Newport
164 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newport South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Morristown Conference Center Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Newport
Hampton Inn Newport
#4 of 10 in Newport
21 reviews
14.7 mi away
Jefferson Inn
Jefferson Inn
#3 of 8 in Dandridge
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Newport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Newport

Address: 255 Heritage Blvd, I-40 at Exit #435, Newport, TN 37821-4243
Region: United States > Tennessee > Newport
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Newport
Price Range: £43 - £48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Newport 2*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Motel 6 Newport, TN - Kids stay free! We offer high-speed Internet connection in all rooms, interior corridors, outdoor pool and hot tub, guest laundry, free local calls, free morning coffee! And pets are allowed! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Motel 6 Newport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel Six Newport
Newport Motel Six
Newport Motel 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing