We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Miss Betty treated our Kids like her own Grandkids!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Magic Wok Enterprises - CLOSED

Magic Wok Enterprises
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
153 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Miss Betty treated our Kids like her own Grandkids!”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Don't come here looking for a menu, what Ms. Betty has cooking in the few big pots is what you're gonna get, and one of them is always Cashew chicken. Luckily, it's the best Cashew chicken I've ever had!! Along with egg rolls and wontons as optional sides. Total cost for a family of 4 was only $20 and he didn't even want to take my tip that I forced him to keep. Ms. Betty says they have to close within the next 2 years due to the age of the building and it's not equipped with a sprinkler system. I wish they could move to a nicer location, but at 70 years old I think they are ready to retire soon anyway. So come now, come often, enjoy a great meal while you can!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    4
    0
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Tennessee
Level Contributor
268 reviews
206 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Always good”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Gotta try this piece of OR history and stop in to eat. Food is fresh and always good. Locally owned and operated.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank tracylynh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Ridge, Tennessee
Level Contributor
98 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good, quick and reasonable”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Ms. Betty serves up some of the best Asian food around at a low price and fast service. One of the gems-hole in the wall- that you hear about.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank 865rambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
76 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“No thanks!”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Having lived in Oak Ridge for several years (in the past) I have to tell you that this is many locals very favorite restaurant including my husband's favorite. I tried it twice. It is very very dirty, very very small and just not my kind of place. We have stark differences in our opinion of this place. He says it's delicious and loves to banter with Miss Betty. I found her to be very friendly and quite a character but it couldn't get me past the tiny trailer and the overall feeling of lack of concern for cleanliness both in the dining area and in the kitchen. So I guess it's up to you to decide if you are brave enough to eat after seeing the place.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank allovertheworldnback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cashew Chicken Extra Spicy”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Mrs. Betty Wong is a local treasure. The worst kept secret in Anderson County. I've been hooked now for over 20 years..

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ericisoutdoors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Magic Wok Enterprises also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing