We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mountain Vacation”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Wild Bear Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wild Bear Inn
Ranked #56 of 90 Hotels in Pigeon Forge
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Mountain Vacation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

My idea of a vacation is to enjoy the city or venue that I wish to visit. In the past I have stayed in really nice hotels with all the amenities, but at what cost?
Yes this hotel is older and could use a few updates. My recommendations are an iron and ironing board and a slightly larger refrigerator. (Especially if you visit the Old Mill) We travel with pets and this is a really nice place to stay with them. I have stayed in this hotel before and was equally pleased with the rooms.
I go to Pigeon forge to have fun and the value of this hotel and its location allow me to do just that! The rooms are clean and kept that way, the front desk people are incredible! The staff has been very helpful and informative each visit. The hotel is situated at the beginning of Pigeon Forge, close to Gatlinburg and has a trolley stop right in front.
The complementary pancake breakfast is very good and the restaurant staff is very friendly.
Everyone has different tastes and expectations when staying at a hotel, mine are simple. I can spend a lot more seeing the sites, enjoying the area than I would on a hotel.
My dogs like it and I was not disturbed at all by dogs barking in other rooms. It is a good location, clean, has free internet, swimming pool and breakfast.
I use the hotel to change clothes, shower and sleep when the day is over.
The front desk and house-keeping staff are very accommodating, friendly and helpful.
Personally, I like the hotel and the staff and will stay here on my next visit.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jb1541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SmokyMountainResorts, Guest Relations Manager at Wild Bear Inn, responded to this review, 19 June 2012
Your comments and suggestions are greatly appreciated. Thank you for taking time out of your day to review Rodeway Inn. We are pleased that you enjoyed the hotel and had a great time in Pigeon Forge. (The Old Mill is an excellent choice in dining and you can almost never leave empty handed). Our staff will be happy to know that their friendliness and helpfulness was mentioned in your review. Thanks again and we hope to see your family (and dogs) back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    169
    79
    41
    57
See reviews for
243
151
19
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Macon, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

The facility is dated, which is really only part of the problem.
The main problem at this hotel is the complete LACK of customer service and accountability.
My original reservation, which I still have the confirmation email from, stated that my checkout was to be on Sunday, May 13th. I called a few days before my trip to ADD one more night as we decided to come a night ahead of our original plan. Never did I tell the clerk that my intent was to leave a day earlier. In fact, during my conversation with the clerk I specifically told her that we would be staying for FOUR nights!
I was in Pigeon Forge celebrating an anniversary, and during the afternoon of our actual anniversary, received the phone call stating that our reservation was over and we needed to return to check out. You can imagine my anger and frustration! We left downtown, returned to the hotel and had to deal with the mistake of the staff on our ANNIVERSARY! Then the manager was VERY rude an incredibly unprofessional. The mistakes made were on the part of the Rodeway Inn, yet I was treated as if I had done something wrong....not to mention the inconvenience!

If there was a "0" recommendation, that is what Rodeway Inn would receive from me!

Room Tip: Go elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jami S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SmokyMountainResorts, Guest Relations Manager at Wild Bear Inn, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
Please accept our apologies for any lack of communication during your reservation process. Our records show that we did update your reservation, but upon arrival you were unsure about the extra day, so we took that day off of your reservation. When we learned that you were unhappy with this and the price of the fourth night, we offered you nearly 40% off of your additional day but you declined. We offered again to extend your reservation on the third day, but you made it clear that you would not authorize payment for an extra day. Because you chose not to change your departure date, we left your reservation as it was originally booked. I am sorry for any inconvenience during your stay, and hope that we may serve your lodging needs again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, West Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2012

Our family of three stayed at the Rodeway Inn/Mountain Skies this past Christmas and we were a bit disappointed. We had stayed here a couple of times before and absolutely loved it, but this was not the case last time.

The room was the biggest disappointment. Lack of decor, stained carpet and extremely small fridge really gave us a bad impression. At night, we could hear everything going on outside of our room and could even hear people yelling and laughing in the room above us (we had a ground floor room). I guess we got what we paid for when it came to the room this time.

The best thing about this hotel is the free pancake breakfast they offer. For each night of your stay, you get coupons for a free short stack of pancakes and coffee at the Smoky Mountain Pancake House on site. However on certain days the restaurant on site is closed and you have to drive up the parkway to the other one. This is a really good value for those on a budget who don't want to go spend a lot of money on a big breakfast every morning.

The staff here is really nice and the location is good, especially if you're planning to visit Gatlinburg, which is about 4 miles south; (it's the closest hotel in Pigeon Forge to Gatlinburg and the National Park).

On a scale of 1-10, we now give this hotel a 4-1/2. We will probably not return.

Room Tip: Unless you need a ground floor room, request a room on a higher floor, because you can hear everythi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SmokyMountainResorts, Guest Relations Manager at Wild Bear Inn, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
We are disappointed to learn that your most recent stay with us was less than satisfactory. The majority of your review listed positives about our property, location, breakfast, and staff. It is concerning that you felt your room was inadequate this time. Your feedback is very much appreciated. We hope to speak with you regarding your stay and to get a second chance to serve your lodging needs in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockford, Illinois, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

At the end of Pigeon Forge Conviently located near Gatlinburg and Smokie Mnt Nat Park,
Will kept our room clean and Chance gave great service at the front desk.

Room Tip: 3rd Building is next to pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SmokyMountainResorts, Guest Relations Manager at Wild Bear Inn, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Our location is very conveniently located to the national park, attractions and restaurants. Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion and experience. Chance and Will are both outstanding members of our team, and we're pleased that they made your stay even better. We hope to see you during your next trip to the Smoky Mountains!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012 via mobile

We stay at this hotel a lot & I mean a lot like at least every other weekend just about. We love it, & when making our reservations for this years vacation Becky at the front desk did everything she could to help us. She is the best & her kindness & great customer service is the one thing that keeps us coming back to your hotel. Thank you all for making our vacation stay here Great ! & thank you Beck for help us. We are stayin here from June 9th through June 17 th. Guest 1218. The breakfast pancakes are the Best !

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula1218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SmokyMountainResorts, Guest Relations Manager at Wild Bear Inn, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
We are glad to have you back! Thank you for recommending us to others and for the glowing review. I am sure Becky will be thrilled to know that you are enjoying your vacation. The next time you are at the office, you should ask Becky about Smoky Mountain Rewards. Frequent staying guests can earn points to use towards discounts on a stay, tickets to attractions, and restaurant gift cards. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tannersville, VA
Level Contributor
94 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

This is an older, dated motel, so if you are used to more modern facilities, this may not be the place for you. We were a little put off at first because the room appeared to be rather small and dark, but it was primarily because the back wall is paneled in a dark wood. Also, the air conditioner was rusty (as shown in one of the TripAdvisor photos). We stayed here because we had our small dog with us. We found the room to be very adequate for our needs (2 adults and 2 small children). Charlene (the maid) kept the room spotless and kept us supplied with plenty of clean towels.The boys loved the pool. For pets, there is a small patch of grass at the front (near the road) and a larger area with trees at the back (although it is a little dark at night). The free pancake breakfast was delicious and all the wait staff was very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: You may want to get a room on the backside since it is away from the high traffic area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Twinsmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SmokyMountainResorts, Guest Relations Manager at Wild Bear Inn, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
At Rodeway Inn we are happy to accommodate our guests who are traveling with pets. Thank you for telling us about your experience; we are happy to know you and your family enjoyed your room and the amenities. We will definitely make sure that Charlene gets recognized for providing great service throughout your stay. Thank you for the wonderful review and have a great summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ft Gay, Wv
Level Contributor
144 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

Great value for the stay we were there in June 2012 the room was a lil small but super clean !! The workers were really helpful and nice !!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken14fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SmokyMountainResorts, Guest Relations Manager at Wild Bear Inn, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
We're pleased that you had an enjoyable stay. Thank you for reviewing our hotel and commenting on the cleanliness of the room. Our staff takes pride in maintaining clean and comfortable rooms for all of our guests. Again, thank you and we hope to see you and your friends again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pigeon Forge hotels
0.2 mi away
Creekstone Inn
Creekstone Inn
#28 of 90 in Pigeon Forge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
2.9 mi away
Timbers Lodge
Timbers Lodge
#35 of 90 in Pigeon Forge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ramada Pigeon Forge South
Ramada Pigeon Forge South
#38 of 90 in Pigeon Forge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Pigeon Forge
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites at Dollywood Lane
1.7 mi away
River Place Inn & Cabins
River Place Inn & Cabins
#68 of 90 in Pigeon Forge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wild Bear Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Bear Inn

Property: Wild Bear Inn
Address: 4236 Parkway, Pigeon Forge, TN 37863-4012 (Formerly Rodeway Inn Pigeon Forge)
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Pigeon Forge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 90 Hotels in Pigeon Forge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Wild Bear Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Prime Location, Adjacent to the Beautiful Great Smoky Mountains Wild Bear Inn (formerly Rodeway Inn Pigeon Forge, Mountain Skys Lodge) located in Pigeon Forge, Tennessee, is a cozy hotel that offers guests comfortable accommodations in the heart of Pigeon Forge, all within minutes of Great Smoky Mountains National Park - the most-visited national park in the United States - as well as Dollywood theme park, Dollywood Splash Country water park and Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies. In fact, Wild Bear Inn is the closest hotel in Pigeon Forge to Great Smoky Mountains National Park. Adventurers, visitors and families find comfort within the newly renovated Wild Bear Inn at a premier mountainside location along the Great Smoky Mountains. Stop in for a one-night stay or vacation all week to enjoy the amenities, including a pool and on-site restaurant, Wild Bear Pancake House, serving breakfast daily. Choose from a variety of rooms, including a spacious three-bedroom unit all the way to a cozy and quaint studio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wild Bear Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Pigeon Forge Hotel Pigeon Forge
Pigeon Forge Rodeway Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing