We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FREE PANCAKES ARE NOT WORTH THE STAY”
Review of Wild Bear Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wild Bear Inn
Ranked #55 of 90 Hotels in Pigeon Forge
Mount Prospect, Illinois
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“FREE PANCAKES ARE NOT WORTH THE STAY”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We’ve read many positive reviews before making our five night reservation at the Roadway Inn. Unfortunately, we do not share the same views. We had a nonsmoking room, but tobacco smoke was coming into our room from other rooms and from guests smoking outside our doors. For some strange reason, smoking rooms were next to the nonsmoking rooms. There is a pet friendly building but smokers and nonsmokers share the same floors. The building and rooms are dated. Beds were clean but old and sagging. Pillows flat and uncomfortable. Old TV set. There was a small fridge – nice and useful amenity. The room contained a safe, a small microwave oven would be a better option. Our room faced the back parking lot so the street noise was not very noticeable. However, there is a tattoo place and pizza joint across the street from the motel which tends to attract the locals. Music and other noises can be heard until late hours into the night. A member from our party stayed in a pet friendly room. There was a noticeable stench, at the check-in, coming from the room. Hardwood floors are easy to maintain in a pet friendly room but if not properly cleaned could be sticky. These floors were sticky and stinky. The price of the room was relatively low (off season) but many other places were similarly priced.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank j_p_bart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SmokyMountainResorts, Guest Relations Manager at Wild Bear Inn, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Our number one goal is to provide clean, comfortable rooms for all guest so that they are happy, satisfied and return year after year. As you saw from other reviews, this is what we actually see happen again and again. We are sad that you experience was not the same. We certainly apologize. We will investigate your concerns to see if changes could be made. Thank you so much for your review. It helps us to see how we can become an even better place to stay for all guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    172
    79
    41
    57
See reviews for
245
152
19
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Rodeway Inn was the cheapest place to stay when we needed to book a room as most other hotels were already full. Some of the reviews had us hesitant to stay here, but we were very pleasantly surprised with our two-night stay. The room was clean, comfortable, and the AC/heat unit was excellent (it did not take long to heat the room on those cold mountain nights). The staff were very friendly and Courtney went out of her way to get us a room near the office. They promptly responded to all my requests and questions. Towels, etc. were always available when we needed more clean ones. The hotel is right off Parkway and at the end of Pigeon Forge where the road leads to Gatlinburg. It was surprisingly quiet, but you could hear people talking outside the door as they walked to the office. Parking was not a problem as we always found a spot right outside our hotel door/room. There were no noisy hotel guests and we were the only ones upstairs on the rocking chairs on the breezeway, even though the hotel was booked solid. We will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: We always request a room in the front and/or near the office.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dragonflyguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SmokyMountainResorts, General Manager at Wild Bear Inn, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
On behalf of the entire staff here at the Rodeway Inn Mountain Skys, we thank you for the kind words you have shared. Courtney is so proud of your mention of her doing a wonderful job.Our number one goal is to provide clean comfortable rooms to all of our guests and it makes us swell with pride when we hear that all of our hard work is appreciated. We look forward to providing you the same excellent service on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Kentucky
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Clean room and bed, comfy mattress ...location was wonderful! The only thing I was not happy with was the pancake breakfast, but then again it was free so how can u complain? We enjoyed our stay and will use this hotel again next time!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shay0031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SmokyMountainResorts, General Manager at Wild Bear Inn, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
On behalf of the entire staff here at the Rodeway Inn Mountain Skys, we thank you for the kind words you have shared. Our number one goal is to provide clean comfortable rooms to all of our guests and it makes us swell with pride when we hear that all of our hard work is appreciated. We look forward to providing you the same excellent service on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central City, Kentucky
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

The staff was great.Older motel but our room clean the beds were above average and i would say that the room was above average for the price we paid. Free pancake breakfast with free drink some places have free pancakes but charge you for the drinks.we will stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dwight P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SmokyMountainResorts, General Manager at Wild Bear Inn, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
On behalf of the entire staff here at the Rodeway Inn Mountain Skys and the Smoky Mountain Pancake House, we thank you wholeheartedly for the kind words you have shared with us! It gives all of us great pride to know that we are helping to make our guest’s experience a memorable and comfortable one. We all work so very hard to ensure that all of our guests enjoy themselves and are treated like one of our family members!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilkesboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We travel to pigeon forge about 10 times per year so we are always looking for a good bargain.
Our stay here was good.

Pros: Close to everything and you also get a free pancake breakfast. Good value. If you are looking to save money and don't care about more amenities than this hotel will suit you fine.

Cons: Our sheets were old and slightly stained. Also, if you want anything other than pancakes for breakfast there is an additional charge. If you have allergies then you probably don't need to stay here because they do allow pets. The wifi doesn't work well it comes and goes....mostly goes.

Overall this hotel was average and I would stay here again. No complaints.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happiestgoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SmokyMountainResorts, Guest Relations Manager at Wild Bear Inn, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you for noticing that our hotel is a great bargain. We apologize if your had a slightly stained sheet.and please know that we will talk with our staff to prevent this from happening in the future. Yes, you are right, we are a pet friendly hotel having pet rooms with hardwood type flooring so that pet issues can be addressed quickly and easily.Yes, we are near all local attractions, the national park, shopping, and restaurants allowing guests to be right in the middle of all the action in our tourist town. Hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

The staff was friendly and helpful of our needs. The best choice yet of our stays. Rod Run is the best location for event! The lady's at front desk made sure we were happy!! Was very impressed with all aspects of our stay!! Corey you have a great establishment for lodging! Can't wait to return there! John

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JLT1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SmokyMountainResorts, General Manager at Wild Bear Inn, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you so very much for taking time to share your experience with us! With feedback such as yours, we are able to continuously provide the very best guest services to all of our visitors. Our goal at Rodeway Inn is to make sure that every guest has a comfortable, enjoyable stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again and wish you a wonderful day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverly
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

I have stayed there more than 10 times and felt it was a nice place to sleep. Loved the location and that you could sit and watch traffic in the evenings. Price was great and the rooms were not bad either.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SmokyMountainResorts, General Manager at Wild Bear Inn, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
On behalf of the entire staff here at the Rodeway Inn Mountain Skys, we thank you for the kind words you have shared. Our number one goal is to provide clean comfortable rooms to all of our guests and it makes us swell with pride when we hear that all of our hard work is appreciated. We look forward to providing you the same excellent service on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pigeon Forge hotels
0.2 mi away
Creekstone Inn
Creekstone Inn
#28 of 90 in Pigeon Forge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
2.9 mi away
Timbers Lodge
Timbers Lodge
#36 of 90 in Pigeon Forge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ramada Pigeon Forge South
Ramada Pigeon Forge South
#40 of 90 in Pigeon Forge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Pigeon Forge
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites at Dollywood Lane
1.7 mi away
River Place Inn & Cabins
River Place Inn & Cabins
#69 of 90 in Pigeon Forge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wild Bear Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Bear Inn

Property: Wild Bear Inn
Address: 4236 Parkway, Pigeon Forge, TN 37863-4012 (Formerly Rodeway Inn Pigeon Forge)
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Pigeon Forge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 90 Hotels in Pigeon Forge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Wild Bear Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Prime Location, Adjacent to the Beautiful Great Smoky Mountains Wild Bear Inn (formerly Rodeway Inn Pigeon Forge, Mountain Skys Lodge) located in Pigeon Forge, Tennessee, is a cozy hotel that offers guests comfortable accommodations in the heart of Pigeon Forge, all within minutes of Great Smoky Mountains National Park - the most-visited national park in the United States - as well as Dollywood theme park, Dollywood Splash Country water park and Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies. In fact, Wild Bear Inn is the closest hotel in Pigeon Forge to Great Smoky Mountains National Park. Adventurers, visitors and families find comfort within the newly renovated Wild Bear Inn at a premier mountainside location along the Great Smoky Mountains. Stop in for a one-night stay or vacation all week to enjoy the amenities, including a pool and on-site restaurant, Wild Bear Pancake House, serving breakfast daily. Choose from a variety of rooms, including a spacious three-bedroom unit all the way to a cozy and quaint studio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wild Bear Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Pigeon Forge Hotel Pigeon Forge
Pigeon Forge Rodeway Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing