We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Misleading hotel description with poor cleaning staff & breakfast.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of MainStay Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
MainStay Suites
Ranked #8 of 90 Hotels in Pigeon Forge
Certificate of Excellence
Somewhere in PA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Misleading hotel description with poor cleaning staff & breakfast.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2009

We just stayed at MainStay Suites Pigeon Forge this past week. After reading the different reviews, we thought this would be a good place to stay for the value. Upon arriving, we noticed this "25 acre" farm was far from what we expected. If this was a farm, it was a long time ago. Nothing even appeared to look like a farm, and the 25 acres was taken up by a campground across the street and the local police department and fire station. Not what I call a "farm". There is no front desk like most hotels, but rather a room off from the front doors with two old desks with staff behind them. Not your typical hotel setting. We did get a quiet room that had a kitchenette and very firm beds...a little too firm. Your room only gets "light" cleaning upon request. The first time we requested it, they left our door open for over 10 hours while we were sightseeing! Thank god nothing was stolen! The second time they never even showed up. When I complained to the "front desk", they didn't seem to care and just said they would tell the manager. There is only one elevator in the main part of the hotel, and it was very slow. It's faster to walk to the 4th floor than ride the elevator. The breakfast they offer is the same every day. There is not enough seating for people to eat, nor do they staff it correctly. Many times we waited in a long line to get food because the item ran out and people were waiting for more to arrive. As for the pool, the lazy river would have been nice had the water not been green the day we arrived. As I was checking in, a concerned mother was asking to the staff if the pool was safe since the water was green. Their repsonse was "we have put as much chlorine as we can for the day". What kind of response is that??? It was fairly quiet and out of the busy section of Pigeon Forge, but the staff needs better training!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MommySaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    333
    162
    44
    18
    8
See reviews for
319
78
8
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, TN
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2009

We recently spent a few days in Pigeon Forge at the MainStay Suites. We found the hotel staff to be outstanding from the moment we arrived. Check-in was very easy and the rooms met our expectations. The pool facilities were nice, although most of our time was spent in Gatlinburg and at the area Pigeon Forge attractions. I would certainly recommend this hotel to all!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grizzliesfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake of the Ozarks, MO
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2009

We stayed at Mainstays because there are 5 people in our group. It is really hard to find rooms that can fit five people. Our room had 2 queen beds and a couch. It worked perfectly for us.

Some positives:
*The hotel was clean.
*The pools were well maintained and nice for the kids.
*Free Breakfast
*Off the main strip, so it was quiet.
*pleasant employees

Some negatives:
*Older rooms and decor
*Long waits at the front desk
*Lazy river was REALLY warm and looked dirty
*Light touch cleaning
*No restaurant. We wanted drinks.

Overall, we had a really good experience. We would stay here again as a family, but maybe not if we did not have 5 people.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank blackskittles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2009

My family (daughter, 4 years old) went to the Great smokey mountain and need to stay a different place because we stayed in Gatlinburg last time. This MainStay Suites itself is very charming appearance and located in very quite place. The front desk lady was very friendly.
However, there are several things to point out. When you need a housekeeping, you have to call the front desk before 11am. Otherwise, they will clean your room at the fourth of your stay. Unfortunately, even though I asked them to do light touch-housekeeping, they did not.
Another issue was a wireless internet connection. My room was 331 and the connection was really bad. Last thing was that the water was not clean in the lazy river ride.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sohnnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wise, VA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2009

A clean room equipped with microwave, oven top, sink, etc. The lazy river is really fun for adults and kids both. Off the main strip of Pigeon Forge, so noise is low. The only issue I had was with some loud kids that were running in their room ALL night- but not the hotel's fault necessarily. A nice touch was the board games placed in the lobby for families to play at night- a nice touch!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Candice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kentucky
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2009

My family enjoyed our time at Mainstay Suites. The hotel is 2 blocks off traffic light #6 which gets you away from the noise and traffic. This was a nice change from the other hotels we've visited on the main drag in Pigeon Forge. Even though you are a 3-minute drive from the main strip, you feel as though you're staying out in the country. The atmosphere at Mainstay was relaxed and peaceful. The hotel has the feel of a resort and reminded me of places we have stayed in Orlando. It has a large indoor pool and outdoor pool, with a good-sized lazy river. There is also a large hot tub indoors and one outdoors.

Our suite was very well equipped with kitchen (including dishwasher). The hotel was very clean and well kept both inside and out. The laundry facilities onsite were a big plus. If you're into fitness, they have a nice workout room and you can walk or jog around the perimeter of the 'resort'.

The free breakfast was also very nice with a large selection of items, including biscuits & gravy, sausage, make-your-own teddy bear waffles, and more. The trolly also stops at regular intervals just outside the front door if you choose to use it for traveling around town.

One minor note-- pay attention to the fine print of the registration forms as you initial and sign them--- they charge for a "safe warranty" and only remove the charge at check-out if you specifically request it. It's only $1.50 charge... but ask that it be taken off your bill regardless.

Overall--- a great place to stay right in the heart of Pigeon Forge that allows you to enjoy the town but escape the madness of the main strip. Perfect for families.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MLKT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NIAGARA FALLS, NY
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2009

We were there with our 13 year old grandchildren. They enjoyed the place. Room was clean. The place was quiet and pleasant, off the main road. Very nice. Better than we expected. The indoor pool was a little cloudy, so the kids didn't want to go in. Breakfast area needs a little more space, especially when the hotel is booked solid. Would definitely stay again if and when we are in the area. The staff was incredible.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NANAMONTANA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pigeon Forge hotels
1.2 mi away
Clarion Inn Dollywood Area
Clarion Inn Dollywood Area
#6 of 90 in Pigeon Forge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,299 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Inn On The River
The Inn On The River
#3 of 90 in Pigeon Forge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,010 reviews
0.8 mi away
Arbors at Island Landing Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Pigeon Forge
0.9 mi away
Margaritaville Island Hotel
Margaritaville Island Hotel
#7 of 90 in Pigeon Forge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Inn at Christmas Place
The Inn at Christmas Place
#2 of 90 in Pigeon Forge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MainStay Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MainStay Suites

Property: MainStay Suites
Address: 410 Pine Mountain Rd, Pigeon Forge, TN 37863-3766
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Pigeon Forge
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Pigeon Forge
#9 Business Hotel in Pigeon Forge
#21 Romantic Hotel in Pigeon Forge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — MainStay Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mainstay Suites an ALL-SUITE hotel located in Pigeon Forge. Indoor/outdoor pools, full breakfast. Located near the new LeConte Center, Dollywood, Dixie Stampede, The all new Island, WonderWorks and Titanic Museum. We also have a convention center for up tp 350 guest with meeting room space available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK) and Booking.com so you can book your MainStay Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mainstay Suites Pigeon Forge
Pigeon Forge Mainstay Suites
Mainstay Hotel Pigeon Forge
Mainstay Pigeon Forge
Mainstay Suite Pigeon Forge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing