We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect place to unwind and enjoy the mountains.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Inn On The River

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Inn On The River
Ranked #3 of 90 Hotels in Pigeon Forge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Rumson, New Jersey
1 review
“Perfect place to unwind and enjoy the mountains.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

Found this place through friends in the area and we were not disappointed. Staying here a few days won't break your bank; it is clean and offers a great location on the river to be your base camp for all of the activities in the Smokies. We spent a few days at the Inn this summer and plan on returning later in the fall when the leaves are changing. Had a great vacation here and can't wait to get back. Many thanks to everyone on the staff.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rnjvol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chuck W, Guest Service Manager at The Inn On The River, responded to this review, 8 August 2011
Thank you for staying with us! We find a lot of our guests are repeat guests, and they refer their friends. Thank you for the great review. We look forward to your return this fall. We want every guest to enjoy their stay. Have a great day! See you soon….
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,013 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,504
    378
    90
    28
    13
See reviews for
946
629
18
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (735)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2011

Stayed at a different hotel last year with the family while on vacation and this year I decided to try this one because of the reviews I had read. We checked in around 11:30pm and as we entered our room nothing really stood out until we went in the bathroom!! To our shock it looked like it had not been cleaned, and mind you this is the BATHROOM. A place where you want it to be very clean, well to our disappointment and disgust the mirrors had old dry toothpaste and who knows what else splattered on them, the sink had obviously old yucky stuff on it, the floor had hair all over the place and the toilet..... had old dry urine on the rim and in the bowl !!!!!! YUCK!!!!! After a long time on the road the last thing you want to do when you get a hotel room is worry about the bathroom being dirty, but unfortunately this was the case with us, after going to speak with the front desk employee, he showed genuine concern and did give us a different room that was clean for the night. The employee went to our original room to take notes of the bathroom so he could relay the message to housekeeping the next morning and confirmed everything I said. The next day before leaving the hotel that morning to go into town I specifically spoke with the morning front desk employee and asked her if she got the note from last night and she said yes, I then asked her to please make sure the bathroom was cleaned thoroughly and she said it would be taken care of. Well to my surprise AGAIN!! as we arrived back to our hotel room late afternoon our bathroom this time was partially cleaned!! we still had the old urine stains on the toilet and stains on the mirror and some on the sink!!!!!!! I was totally flabbergasted. I spoke with the front desk again and they immediately sent a cleaning lady to our room and finally she cleaned it correctly. The rest of our stay was okay at best., we no longer had issues with the bathroom but their rooms could have been a little more updated. Their breakfast was not too bad, their pools were decent, their hospitality was good, about the only real nice thing was their balcony with a view of the river. I might sound picky but paying over $100 a night for a room should get you at least a clean bathroom. Is that to much to ask for???

Room Tip: Get the "Deluxe Riverside Room" ( view of the river) unless you want to look at the parkin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Danny1025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chuck W, Guest Service Manager at The Inn On The River, responded to this review, 8 August 2011
We are truly sorry for the issue you have had with our hotel. As we value every guest feedback so that we may improve our hotel. We have taken corrective action in our housekeeping department to fix the issues. Again we apologize for the issue you had with your stay, we do hope you give us another try in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton Head, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

My family stayed at the INN ON THE RIVER recently and had an exceptional experience. We had read the reviews and decided to try this hotel as we have stayed at many others in the area and were not satisfied, We arrived early on check in day but they found us a room right away and let us check in early which was a big help since we had driven 8 hours. The room was perfect, clean and overlooking the river. We had a small fridge which was great for my sons drinks etc, We spent two days here and loved everything about our stay. The pools were clean and nice (indoor and outdoor with a spa). Free Popcorn in the lobby was very nice , we sat on the outdoor patio over the river for more than an hour one night eating popcorn and letting the kids run around. The staff was very friendly and professional. The hotel is right next to and across the street from the best restaurants (got to try Mellow Mushroom) and magic quest for the kids and there is also a movie theater and other attractions next door as well.
We are very value oriented not cheap just want good value, the value my familey got from this hotel could not be matched by any other hotel we have stayed at in previous trips and I Highly recommend INN ON THE RIVER to anyone travling to Pigeon Forge, You won't be sorry!!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank valueman5412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chuck W, Guest Service Manager at The Inn On The River, responded to this review, 8 August 2011
Thank you for staying with us, we pride ourselves on a clean room at a great price. We want all of our guest to have an exceptional experience. Our front desk staff is one of the friendliest in the area, we always help our guest. Our location is great for the whole family, close to many different attractions. You mention the Mellow Mushroom, and our front desk staff agrees it’s the best pizza around. We look forward to your return visit. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

First let me say if you are going to Pigeon Forge please leave your house early because the traffic is horrible. But what can you really expect in the middle of summer in a tourist town. We got to our hotel and were very tired when we arrived just from sitting in traffic. Now the good part: The hotel is very nice and clean on the outside. We walked in the front door and was greeted by a very friendly staff. The Front Desk Clerk Chuck checked us in and was very friendly and helpful. He could tell we were stressed from the traffic and got us checked in and was very friendly with a smile on his face. He had us happy and stress free by the time we were done at the front desk. The room was exactly what we asked for. And let me tell you about the beds in this hotel VERY VERY VERY COMFORTABLE!!!! Most hotel beds are hard as a rock and not comfortable. If you want a good night sleep, this is the hotel to stay at!! We will be back and hope Chuck is there to check us in!! He is the friendliest clerk we have ever met and could teach front desk clerks around the country exactly what hospitality is!! Thanks Inn on the River and Chuck for a great experience!! See next time we're in town

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cdbri5277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

Checked in to the inn on the river, from the start we knew we were going to be pleased. The front desk clerk who was friendly, knowledgeable, and just fast at check in, his name was Chuck. We get to our room, it was clean, and comfortable. The beds were soft, just like we like them. Our kids loved both indoor and out door pools. The next morning we ate at the breakfast area, the food was good, it was just a little crowded, but that was ok, people have to eat. I was just pleased with our whole experience was perfect.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hotelgambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Kentucky
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

It was wonderful. Was worried all the negative comments we read but it was really nice. The front desk was very nice. Also breakfast yes the sitting area is small but we made sure we got down to the lobby by 9 am each morning and we were fine. I 100% recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jr15jen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2011

Our stay at the Inn on the River this month was vary enjoyable. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. The breakfast is the greatest and the two pools are nice also. The staff especially Bridgett on the desk and Katy at breakfast are the best.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gutzdigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pigeon Forge hotels
0.1 mi away
The Inn at Christmas Place
The Inn at Christmas Place
#2 of 90 in Pigeon Forge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,957 reviews
0.3 mi away
Clarion Inn Dollywood Area
Clarion Inn Dollywood Area
#6 of 90 in Pigeon Forge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,299 reviews
0.6 mi away
Margaritaville Island Hotel
Margaritaville Island Hotel
#7 of 90 in Pigeon Forge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Arbors at Island Landing Hotel & Suites
1.4 mi away
MainStay Suites
MainStay Suites
#8 of 90 in Pigeon Forge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Pigeon Forge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn On The River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn On The River

Property: The Inn On The River
Address: 2492 Parkway, Pigeon Forge, TN 37863-3225
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Pigeon Forge
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Pigeon Forge
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pigeon Forge
#3 Business Hotel in Pigeon Forge
#4 Green Hotel in Pigeon Forge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn On The River 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn on the River presents 128 newly renovated guest rooms with interior corridors featuring one half with private balconies or patios on the beautiful Little Pigeon River. All tastefully decorated Deluxe Guest Rooms have Serta pillowtop mattresses, white duvet bedspreads, maple furniture, granite counter tops, in-room Keurig coffee makers, mini-fridges, hair dryers, iron and ironing boards. King Suites are available with in-room gas fireplaces, and in-room Jacuzzi tubs. Mini Suites with a sitting area and Queen size sleeper sofas are available along with handicap accessible guest rooms. Along with your room, you'll enjoy a complimentary full hot breakfast, nightly complimentary popcorn in the lobby, and 24 hour coffee and tea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Inn On The River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On The River Hotel Pigeon Forge
Hampton Inn Pigeon Forge
Pigeon Forge Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing