We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Inn On The River

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Inn On The River
Ranked #3 of 90 Hotels in Pigeon Forge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Chelsea, Alabama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

We really enjoyed staying here. Our room was ground floor and we opened our back door to the sound of the creek flowing and the geese and ducks playing on the water. I was a lot of fun. The room was nice and cool, very clean and a comfy bed to sleep in. We awoke every morning to a full couse breakfast that would make your mama jeleous. Overall a great experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank frankie o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Urban37863, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On The River, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Thank you for a great review and for sharing your experience with everyone! We hope to see you again next time you are in Pigeon Forge!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,015 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,506
    378
    90
    28
    13
See reviews for
948
629
18
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (736)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

This hotel was very clean...service was good...breakfast was amazing :) Pool area was always clean and taken care of. Free coffee and hot chocolate was a plus. Also there was an ice machine and pop machines on our floor another plus. We had a room overlooking the river...view was amazing. There was a squirrel that came out every morning...we were able to get some great pics and we were able to feed the squirrels and ducks too :)

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PatMontgomery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Urban37863, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On The River, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kentucky
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

The hotel was not new, but it is an excellent hotel. The view from our 1st floor river side room was great. Had a slight problem with check in but other than that everything was great. My granddaughter became sick while we were there and Dave (front desk) was excellent. He responded immediately with clean bedding. Overall great stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hirth2123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Urban37863, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On The River, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review The Inn On The River and for recognizing our wonderful staff! We hope that your grand daughter is feeling better, and that you will be able to stay longer next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

Amy in the food area was simply amazing. My husband and daughter could not believe how polite and kind she was. This is just not normal. She showed such courtesy to everyone we were very impressed all three mornings.

Liz at the front desk was very helpful as well. She more than once answered our questions and gave us great restaurant tips. She also was very kind to help us with shows and the best prices.

Liz and Amy are two very fine employees that seem harder to find these days. I hire a lot of people and if my business were in town I would try to hire them both. Be blessed, the Duncan family

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Macilandjudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Urban37863, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On The River, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for recognizing our wonderful staff! We take pride in the level of guest service we provide to all of our guests. We are looking forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schererville, IN
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

I chose this inn from the reviews I read on trip advisor. The inn is not new but delivers what they promise. The breakfast was big enough to last most of the day with many items to choose from. The view on the river side is so full of nature, ducks, geese, squirrels. We enjoyed the atmosphere of being out in the country. The evening popcorn was a great treat. The room was large enough that the 3 of us were not tripping over each other. My favorite place was on the patio outside our 1st floor, river side, room - just sitting back & relaxing after a day spent seeing the sights of Pigeon Forge & Gatlinburg. All the employees were so helpful, cheerful & always a smile for you from the front desk, to the breakfast greeters, to the lady who cleaned our room. We will not stay anywhere else but The Inn On The River on our next trip to Pigeon Forge.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the river side.
See more room tips
Green Features: The Inn On The River is an environmentally hotel. Hang up your towels if they are not too used, just like you would at home, to save soap, water & the environment. The towels will be washed if you leave them on the bathroom floor but really, who washes their towels at home after just one use?
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Urban37863, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On The River, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel and for a wonderful review. We appreciate all of our guests and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

From the description in the coupon book it read "luxurious rooms". I was disappointed when I walked in. The side door we used led into an older hall with an odd odor. Kind of like garlic. The wallpaper was loose at the seam in the hall and their were several stains. Stains can't be helped, but it's not "luxurious" either. The room we had was on the parking lot side. It was big but also had a stain on the carpet near the chaise lounge. I wish the curtains had been a bit longer too, as they didn't block out all of the lights from the parking lot. I put used towels at the door to block out the light coming in under the bottom of the door as there is about half an inch between the bottom of the door and the floor. The pool was nice but not exactly warm or cold. The paint was peeling, but as my husband pointed out, it would be a full time job just to take care of the pool area. But, the most important part was the room was clean. Everything was clean. I saw the maintenance man working all afternoon painting the window frames around the pool area. They try hard to keep it up. But, it is older and showing it's age. The metal in the pool room is discolored and the paint is chipped in places.

The breakfast was the best I've had in a long time. There was eggs, sausage, grits, oatmeal (not instant, already cooked in the slow cooker) yogurt, waffles you make yourself, a fresh fruit salad, bread, mini muffins, mini bagels, and english muffins. Four types of juice, coffee, tea, hot cocoa. Something for everyone. Overall, it is a nice motel. I would stay here again now that I know exactly what it is. I just wouldn't call it luxurious, though the lobby area is extremely nice.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back would be nicer, but they also cost more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grammy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innontheriver, General Manager at The Inn On The River, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review The Inn On The River. We value your opinion. The new owners have made many improvements such as a new lobby, new flat screen TVs, new heat and air conditioners units with new wall mounted digital thermostats, new paint, new balcony furniture, new Wi-Fi system and a new outside pool with a brick paver deck. But we have a long way to go. Within a few weeks we are rennonvating both elevators and inside pool deck plus have a multimillion-dollar plan that we hope to institute soon. If you would like to discuss further with I would love to talk to you about your stay. You can call me toll free (800-388-1727) or email me at: karl@myinnontheriver.com
Sincerely,
Karl Thomas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collierville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

stayed here for the weekend while going to the nascar race in bristol. staff was great, breakfast was great. overall place was very nice. had stayed here when it was a hampton inn, and it has much improved with new owners. is no longer a hampton

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scoopg54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Urban37863, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On The River, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Thank you for reviewing The Inn On The River! We are happy to read about your visit and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pigeon Forge hotels
0.1 mi away
The Inn at Christmas Place
The Inn at Christmas Place
#2 of 90 in Pigeon Forge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,959 reviews
0.3 mi away
Clarion Inn Dollywood Area
Clarion Inn Dollywood Area
#6 of 90 in Pigeon Forge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,299 reviews
0.6 mi away
Margaritaville Island Hotel
Margaritaville Island Hotel
#7 of 90 in Pigeon Forge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Arbors at Island Landing Hotel & Suites
1.4 mi away
MainStay Suites
MainStay Suites
#8 of 90 in Pigeon Forge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Pigeon Forge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn On The River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn On The River

Property: The Inn On The River
Address: 2492 Parkway, Pigeon Forge, TN 37863-3225
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Pigeon Forge
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Pigeon Forge
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pigeon Forge
#3 Family Hotel in Pigeon Forge
#4 Green Hotel in Pigeon Forge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn On The River 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn on the River presents 128 newly renovated guest rooms with interior corridors featuring one half with private balconies or patios on the beautiful Little Pigeon River. All tastefully decorated Deluxe Guest Rooms have Serta pillowtop mattresses, white duvet bedspreads, maple furniture, granite counter tops, in-room Keurig coffee makers, mini-fridges, hair dryers, iron and ironing boards. King Suites are available with in-room gas fireplaces, and in-room Jacuzzi tubs. Mini Suites with a sitting area and Queen size sleeper sofas are available along with handicap accessible guest rooms. Along with your room, you'll enjoy a complimentary full hot breakfast, nightly complimentary popcorn in the lobby, and 24 hour coffee and tea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your The Inn On The River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On The River Hotel Pigeon Forge
Hampton Inn Pigeon Forge
Pigeon Forge Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing