We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Choice on a Budget”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Inn On The River
Ranked #2 of 92 Hotels in Pigeon Forge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 10 October 2009

My husband and our two toddlers (ages 3 and 2) travel to the Smoky Mountains a couple times each year. We have always stayed at one particular hotel in Pigeon Forge, but decided that we would stay somewhere different with more things to do with our children. We opted for one of the new condos in Pigeon Forge. After doling out almost $400 for two nights, and being overwhelmingly disappointed in our condo, we hunted down another place to stay for a third night. My husband's grandparents always stayed at the Hampton Inn on the River, so we decided to stop there. I am ridiculously picky about hotel rooms (one stray hair on a bedsheet or in the corner of the bathroom, and I want a refund, etc.), so I sent my husband in first to determine if there was any availability. The gentleman at the front desk said that there was availability for the following night (when we needed another place to stay), so my husband asked if we could see a room since I am so picky. We were given a room key and sent to the second floor. We were very impressed with what we saw. The rooms are pretty small, but they are VERY clean. No hairs, no stains, no dirt on the floors. We talked to the man at the front desk again, and told him that we were very pleased. We hadn't decided if we were going to spend another night in town, so we told him we would be back after we decided. We decided to stay another night, and went back and booked our room. We were on the third floor, and we often wondered if we were on the only ones on our floor, despite the fact that the parking lot was completely full. The cleaning staff were always out and about, doing something. They were super friendly. Our room still smelled like cleaner when we walked in (being a germophobe, I was quite pleased!). The breakfast was awesome -- the breakfast pizzas are delicious!. There are a few "negatives" if you view them as such -- parking is kind of tight, the pool area is on the small side, there were a few areas that were still being repaired (the corners in the stairwells), but overall, this is a wonderful place to stay. We really wished that we had gone here originally instead of staying in the condo. We could have stayed for four nights at the Hampton instead of two nights at the condo. This just goes to show that hotels with a good reputation are still better than some "upscale" (read: glorified motel w/ outdoor entrances and laminate flooring) condos. We were very pleased and would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a quiet place to stay, even those of us with little kids. And best of all, it's right beside The Christma Place and centrally located if you want to walk to restaurants/shopping.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DotsonFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,592)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,547 - 2,553 of 2,592 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2009

The hotel has a little stream that runs behind it, which is gorgeous, especially while eating breakfast on the patio. The hotel was clean and service was friendly. Rooms were clean, and quiet, despite the hotel's location in the midst of the hustle and bustle. It was a great value for the price. I also liked that they had different outside doors that could be accessed with your room key, so wherever you parked it was convenient to get into the hotel. You did not have to go through the lobby each time.

The only downfall was the stinch of chlorine from the indoor pool. Unfortunately, you have to walk through that area to get from most of the rooms to the lobby for breakfast. Many times we walked around outside.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GirlRaisedInTheS0uth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2009

We had a standard room with two queen beds and a balcony overlooking the river. I highly recommend paying the extra $10 a night for the river side. We enjoyed sitting outside, watching the ducks and the squirrels every evening. The bathrooms are a little cramped, but updated with nice granite counter tops and new vanities. The room was smaller than the typical Hampton Inn - it had an armoire instead of a closet. I missed having a desk, desk chair and occasional chair. Instead we had a small round table with two chairs. Not ideal for relaxing in the evening. However, we did have the two chairs on the balcony. The room was very clean and really, the only issue I had the entire week was that there aren't enough tables and chairs in the lobby for breakfast. You sometimes have to lurk around and quickly claim a table as soon as someone starts to get up. The breakfasts were continuously being stocked and were quite satisfying. We would have sat out on the patio for breakfast, but the smokers had taken the outside tables over and I can't eat in that atmosphere. The entire hotel is non-smoking (inside).

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Neenee_SC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2009

Property was located right in the middle of Pigeon Forge rignt on the "main drag". but it was very quiet. Rooms were comfortable and clean. Ammenities were as described by other reviewers. Breakfast was more than expected, and there is variety to the meny from day to day. Internet was easily and readily accessed. Indoor and outdoor pool, and hot tub.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ARtraveler63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2009

My friend and I took our girls for a back to school shopping weekend in Pigeon Forge. We used my husband's Honors points to get two rooms for two nights free. They gave us a free upgrade to River Balcony adjoining rooms because my husband is a Diamond member. The staff was so nice. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The bathroom counters were granite. The light over the bathroom sink went out and the front desk sent a maintenance man to replace the bulb as soon as I called them. The breakfast was well stocked. They serve popcorn in the early evenings too. The hotel is right on the Parkway one building is between it and Christmas Place. I would stay there again and I am very picky!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HarmonS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2009

The river view that was offered by this hotel was what caught my eye. We had to pay an extra $10 or so per night to get the river view from our deck, and it was worth it. We saw cranes and ducks along the river in the morning, it was lovely. The hotel was very clean and the staff was helpful. Popcorn at night was fun for the kids, and the breakfast in the morning was great. There was a patio for breakfast, with the river running by. It rained everyday we were there, but breakfast on the deck would have been fun. The indoor/outdoor pool area was perfect for my children. The one negative thing was that there was not a workout room. That wasn't that big of a deal, though. The location was good, right across the street from MagiQuest, and within walking distance of many restaurants. The lobby area was very nice, with ample seating and a fireplace. I would recommend this hotel if you are planning a trip to the Pigeon Forge/Gatlinburg area.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank withakh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2009

We just got back from the Fourth of July weekend. This was a great place to stay.
Close to everything in Pigeon Forge.

The staff was very friendly!
They all spoke English!
They all could understand English!
The Hotel was very clean!!!
The Hotel is American Owned !

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Love2BaDAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pigeon Forge hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Marriott Pigeon Forge
Courtyard Marriott Pigeon Forge
#1 of 92 in Pigeon Forge
283 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Inn at Christmas Place
The Inn at Christmas Place
#3 of 92 in Pigeon Forge
2,136 reviews
0.3 mi away
Clarion Inn Dollywood Area
Clarion Inn Dollywood Area
#5 of 92 in Pigeon Forge
2,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Margaritaville Island Hotel
Margaritaville Island Hotel
#12 of 92 in Pigeon Forge
1,406 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Pigeon Forge
1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pigeon Forge On The Parkway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn On The River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn On The River

Address: 2492 Parkway, Pigeon Forge, TN 37863-3225
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Pigeon Forge
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pigeon Forge
#3 Green Hotel in Pigeon Forge
#3 Family Hotel in Pigeon Forge
#3 Business Hotel in Pigeon Forge
Price Range: £56 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn On The River 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn on the River presents 128 newly renovated guest rooms with interior corridors featuring one half with private balconies or patios on the beautiful Little Pigeon River. All tastefully decorated Deluxe Guest Rooms have Serta pillowtop mattresses, white duvet bedspreads, maple furniture, granite counter tops, in-room Keurig coffee makers, mini-fridges, hair dryers, iron and ironing boards. King Suites are available with in-room gas fireplaces, and in-room Jacuzzi tubs. Mini Suites with a sitting area and Queen size sleeper sofas are available along with handicap accessible guest rooms. Along with your room, you'll enjoy a complimentary full hot breakfast, nightly complimentary popcorn in the lobby, and 24 hour coffee and tea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Inn On The River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On The River Hotel Pigeon Forge
Hampton Inn Pigeon Forge
Pigeon Forge Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing