We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for couples”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Smoky Mountain Lodging
Certificate of Excellence
Dunlap, Tennessee
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfect for couples”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Apple Jack was the perfect cabin for our 2nd anniversary. Very small,private, and close to all the attractions. It had basic amenities, but was beautifully decorated. This cabin will definitely be requested on our next couples getaway.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aj5274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSMTN2014, Manager at Smoky Mountain Lodging, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a nice review of your stay in "Apple Jack"! It is great that you found it convenient to all of the attractions, yet you have your privacy. We hope that you will stay with Smoky Mountain Lodging again the next time you visit our area! Once again, thank you for your review and we greatly appreciate your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    293
    157
    72
    56
    66
See reviews for
254
176
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hickory, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2014

My Family really enjoyed our time at the cabin it was nice a clean and very roomy, the pool was very nice and the cabin was easy too find. I will be going back and using this service again next time thank you

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSMTN2014, Manager at Smoky Mountain Lodging, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay! It pleases us to know that you and your family enjoyed staying in our cabins. We hope that you will continue to use Smoky Mountain Lodging for all of your future stays when visiting our area! Once again, we thank you for your review and greatly appreciate your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Stayed in "native dancer" cabin, for a week in August. Cabin was great, wished it had a patio table and seating for the 8 of us but 3 chairs and our coolers worked just fine. Awesome location 20/30 minutes from Gatlinburg and pigeon forge attractions so after an 8 hour drive in a car with kids the short trips were great. Staff very helpful, we had kids which equalled a lot of trash and was grateful the office had the trash picked up twice. Great for our stay and had a blast. Wished it had dressers to put cloths in in the rooms, and seating out on the porch for at least 6, but other then that it was great and we are looking forward to coming back in another year or two :-). Thank you guys for a great vacation and place to stay. Also, bunk bed down stairs were awesome!!!!!!! Great when traveling with 4 kids and 3 adults, everyone got a bed and the kids got their own area. Thanks again

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tuttie2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSMTN2014, Manager at Smoky Mountain Lodging, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you for your review of "Native Dancer"! We have taken note of your suggestions and hope that you will consider coming back and staying with us in the future! Once again, we thank you for your review and greatly appreciate your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 26 August 2014

This vacation was by far the best yet. I'm always looking forward to spending time with my parents, siblings and their kids, and with this rental property we all got to do it under one roof. Room enough outside for a friendly game of kickball or whatever sport you choose. Close enough to everything but at the sametime not in the center of town. We picked up brochures at the office and stayed nonstop busy from zip lining, white water rafting, go carts to just site seeing and enjoying ourselves. The memories will last our kids a lifetime and for that I'm very Thankful. I will be booking this cabinet again for next year, so until then we enjoyed our stay and look forward to our return! Nicky HendersonNC

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicky1980Owen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSMTN2014, Manager at Smoky Mountain Lodging, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay! It pleases us to know that you and your family enjoyed your stay! We hope that you will continue to come back and stay with us! Once again, we thank you for your review and greatly appreciate your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We arrived at our cabin " All By Grace" and when we walked in it was 81 degrees. The air conditioner was broken. When I tried to call the office the phone didn't work either. After being put on hold when I called from my cell phone, I loaded up my family and drove back to the office. The gentleman at the front desk was very nice and tried to help. He said he would put us in a different cabin due to the heat and the fact we had a 17 month old. We were fine with that, no problem. He said he needed approval from his manager and called him from the desk phone. When the manager wanted to speak with my husband he told him that " The air was working fine when the cleaning service was there" - My husband said I am honestly telling you it isn't working now. Then the manager called him a liar. ( Very uncalled for ) - My husband was very upset by this and asked for a refund so we could go somewhere else. The manager then said we could not have a refund and said if we called our credit card company to dispute the charges, he would challenge the dispute so we would be out the rental fee for our reservation. - We then left to get a bite to eat and during that time they sent someone out to check out the cabin and INDEED the air was broken. - So a different cabin it will be -
Due to that fact they put us in a different cabin that was cleaned and ready to go.

When we unpacked we noticed that our feet and our 17 month old's feet were totally black on the bottom. We always clean a cabin ( bathroom, kitchen, etc) before we use anything. But the fact we had to clean the floors TWO TIMES on our hands and knees( because there was no mop in the cabin ( ponder that ) was upsetting. This cabin was given to us because it was cleaned and ready. - I took pictures of the towels after the cleaning, it was DISGUSTING.
The free wifi code did not work either. - So our trip began with some bumps in the road.

We have stayed with this company before and we have been very pleased in the past. - I will boldly say that due to the fact that the manager called my husband a liar and acted childish, we will not use this cabin company again. - We have stayed in a cabin on every vacation for 18 years in a row. - Losing one family's business may not matter to him, but add up the years to come and word of mouth of our horrible experience may matter in the long run.

We are easy to get along with. We look forward to our trip every year to rest and relax. This guy was in the wrong and he may not lose sleep over us, but one thing he did lose is OUR BUSINESS. - Apologies cost you nothing but a little of your pride, too bad he didn't think of that.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank SBrewerfam3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSMTN2014, Manager at Smoky Mountain Lodging, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
We are truly sorry for the problems you had with your stay. We know how frustrating it can be after traveling to get here and have issues with your cabin. For this, we greatly apologize for the problems and hope that you will consider staying with us in the future. We had also refunded a portion of your stay back to your credit card on file. Once again, we hope that you will come back and see us again in the future and we sincerely appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

From the outside the cabin and view was beautiful! When we got inside the rooms were dusty and cobwebs in every corner. Rips in the tile and holes in bathroom door. There were scorpions in this cabin and we called we were told this is normal and they're not poisonous!! Couldn't or wouldn't change our cabin but did have a man come spray! The next day we had more scorpions! The beds are very hard, no condiments in kitchen not even S&P or coffee filters!! I have stayed in cabins for many years and NEVER experienced anything like this! When I ask for an iron the man that answered the phone said he'd send it with the man that sprayed but didn't and when we stopped by to get one they closed at 9pm!! We will never again stay at these cabins!!!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbieled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSMTN2014, Manager at Smoky Mountain Lodging, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
We are sincerely apologetic that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Scorpions are in this area, however, they are not poisonous. They are not of the same species as the ones found in the desert. ALL of our properties are treated on a monthly basis for pest control. We greatly apologize that the scorpions were a problem. We hope that you will reconsider and give us another try on future visits to our area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Kentucky
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Our family loved this cabin! The cabin was spacious and comfortable. The children and adults enjoyed playing pool, air hockey and other games available. Everyone enjoyed sitting in the rockers and overlooking the beautiful valley from all the decks. We especially liked the fact the cabin is just a few minutes from all the activities of pigeon forge yet in a quiet resort. The cabin was clean and the beds were comfortable! This was definitely one of the best vacations our family has had!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSMTN2014, Manager at Smoky Mountain Lodging, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay in "A Rocky Top Ridge"! It means a lot to hear back from our guests. We always like to see what they really enjoy about the cabins or even suggestions, so that we may make future stays even better! Once again, we thank you for your review and we sincerely appreciate your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pigeon Forge hotels
1.1 mi away
The Inn On The River
The Inn On The River
#3 of 90 in Pigeon Forge
2,059 reviews
1.3 mi away
Margaritaville Island Hotel
Margaritaville Island Hotel
#7 of 90 in Pigeon Forge
1,194 reviews
0.9 mi away
Clarion Inn Dollywood Area
Clarion Inn Dollywood Area
#6 of 90 in Pigeon Forge
2,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Inn at Christmas Place
The Inn at Christmas Place
#2 of 90 in Pigeon Forge
1,979 reviews
1.2 mi away
Arbors at Island Landing Hotel & Suites
2.3 mi away
Accommodations by Parkside Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smoky Mountain Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smoky Mountain Lodging

Property: Smoky Mountain Lodging
Address: 640 Wears Valley Rd, Pigeon Forge, TN
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Pigeon Forge
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 54 Speciality Lodging in Pigeon Forge
Hotel Class:3 star — Smoky Mountain Lodging 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Smoky Mountain Lodging reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Bear Lodging Hotel Pigeon Forge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing