We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We were misled”
Review of Pigeon River Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pigeon River Inn
Ranked #2 of 8 Pigeon Forge B&B and Inns
NJ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We were misled”
Reviewed 4 August 2012

Overall this hotel was adequate, although the breakfast was a bit paltry, however our biggest complaint was that we were misled about the pool. We had specifically chosen this hotel over another place because when we called to check on vacancies the desk clerk told us it had a heated pool. When we arrived and took the kids to swim, we discovered that the pool was in no way heated and was in fact freezing. It is also quite small. This was April, so although the weather had been warm that day, it wasn't really warm enough for swimming in an unheated pool, especially at twilight. When we complained that we had been misled, we were told to speak to the manager in the morning. The clerk indicated that the manager would make it up to us. Eventually, the manager offered a discount on our next stay, which won't be much use because we don't intend to stay there again. The next night, we stayed at the Shular Inn for a few dollars more. They have a heated indoor pool and an outdoor pool.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    66
    52
    19
    24
See reviews for
92
113
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

My husband and I stayed here for our one year anniversary. We found the staff to be helpful and friendly. The honeymoon suite was nice and clean. The jacuzzi was great, super hot water was a plus. The hotel needs some minor cosmetic fixes, but nothing major that we saw. Over we have recommended this hotel to family and friends. We didn't care for the breakfast, so we ate at the Apple barn, which is wonderful. We have already decided to eat there again our next trip.

Room Tip: Honeymoon suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

We decided to visit Pigeon Forge primarily for Dollywood. And although Dollywood did not disappoint, Pigeon Forge was worse than expected - awful traffic and congestion, and over-the-top tourism. However, we stayed on the main thoroughfare (the Parkway) so maybe there are quieter, quainter parts of town off the beaten track.

That being said, the Pigeon River Inn was probably a decent hotel for the area. The staff were universally friendly, patient and very helpful. One of the desk receptionists gave us restaurant suggestions and a tip for catching the trolly to Dollywood that saved us lots of time and hassle. Our two families each requested a balcony room overlooking the river (and back parking lot) and they were gracious enough to provide them. (There was a very unhappy lady who checked in afterwards and didn't get a balcony room - the hotel was sold out.) We spent one afternoon in the outdoor pool which was small and adjoining the parkway, but clean and fun.

However, the grounds and rooms are old and dingy (we checked for bedbugs based on appearance, but the mattresses and linens were in pretty good shape) and our non-smoking room stank of smoke the two nights of our stay to the extent that we did everything to avoid spending time there. There were also cigarette burns all over the bedside table and bathroom sink. Our friends did not get the smoky remnants but classified their room's smell as "wet dog".

I was also surprised to find that there were no tissues, soap or shampoo in the bathroom when we checked in - that was a first. I called down to the desk to see if they were even available and was asked to come downstairs and get some - so a small but unusual oversight.

And lastly, the complementary breakfast was "woefully inadequate" as classified by a member of our party. And that seemed to be universally expressed by everyone we encountered in the breakfast area. The first day we made due with packets of grits and oatmeal, apple juice and a couple of mini muffins. Everything appeared to be a white or brown carbohydrate - with no fruit or protein (beyond milk) to be had. Fortunately there was a McDonalds within walking distance so we retreated there the second day.

So overall, we would recommend the Pigeon River Inn for location (if you want to be on the main thoroughfare) and for friendly staffing, but will not return because of the quality of the rooms.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms are definitely a plus - we kept the door open most of the time for fresh air and once...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TraceyW717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012 via mobile

Checking out this morning and must say that I am satisfied. If you are looking for a clean hotel with great location, this is it! Would definitely stay again. Booked to extend stay, and have not had one complaint.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Animallover04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
836 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 432 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Due to a scheduling mix up, we spent one night at the River Bend Inn and two nights here. The difference was daylight and dark. This hotel was older with some signs of wear but very clean and well maintained. The staff was extremely friendly and attentive. The housekeeper talk with us for a minute on the elevator and it was obvious she took pride in her job. The desk clerk acknowledged us each time we passed through the lobby. Breakfast was the standard cerial and donuts but the coffee was fresh and good. I will be back and will make sure I get the right inn next time, this one.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TransplantedBuckeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastian
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

Stayed their for 1 night have no complains, the staff was very nice, the breakfast was good (compared to the one I stayed in the other two nights it was double the price and less food) The beds are comfortable, clean sheets, towels and micro/fridge included also Internet ( the other hotel didnt) Definitly will come back, great price!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AliciaA109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beckley, West Virginia
Level Contributor
164 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights and I have to say it was ok. The rooms were clean,and the mattresses were very comfortable, we slept very good, the balcony was private, our balcony overlooked the river and the road, we could see all the traffic coming in to pigeon forge.... Breakfast didn't really have much... oats, 2 cereals, bread, muffins and frozen waffles to put in toaster....apple and orange juice.... They could definitely add more items, the pool was small but ok... The elevator was working although it was slow... The tv's were old style so they need updated but overall I would stay here again and would recommend this hotel to others... Its a good price for a decent hotel and with a few updates it could be a awesome hotel...

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tntnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pigeon Forge hotels
1.2 mi away
The Inn On The River
The Inn On The River
#2 of 91 in Pigeon Forge
2,204 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ramada Pigeon Forge North
Ramada Pigeon Forge North
#23 of 91 in Pigeon Forge
1,724 reviews
3.9 mi away
Creekstone Inn
Creekstone Inn
#28 of 91 in Pigeon Forge
1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Clarion Inn Dollywood Area
Clarion Inn Dollywood Area
#5 of 91 in Pigeon Forge
2,349 reviews
0.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Pigeon Forge
1.8 mi away
Arbors at Island Landing Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pigeon River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pigeon River Inn

Property: Pigeon River Inn
Address: 1931 Parkway, 1931 Parkway, Pigeon Forge, TN 37863-4902
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Pigeon Forge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Pigeon Forge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pigeon River Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in Pigeon Forge, TN 100% Non-Smoking Nestled alongside the Little Pigeon River and conveniently located right on the Parkway of Pigeon Forge, the Pigeon River Inn combines nature's tranquil beauty with practicality. At the Pigeon River Inn we want to make your visit to Pigeon Forge as relaxing and convenient as possible. Located at the entrance to Pigeon Forge, the Pigeon River Inn is within walking distance to WonderWorks, The Titanic, Dollywood, Tanger Five Oaks Shopping Center featuring over 100 brand name outlet stores as well as several fine restaurants and eateries. We are the first hotel in Pigeon Forge directly across the street from the Pigeon Forge Welcome Center. Take the Pigeon Forge Trolley to all your activities while on your vacation in Pigeon Forge to save even more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and getaroom.com so you can book your Pigeon River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pigeon River Hotel Pigeon Forge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing