We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Campground When Empty.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pigeon Forge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Clabough's Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Good Campground When Empty.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

This is just off the main strip in Pigeon Forge. Easy access to Kroger and everything else you might need or not need. Bathrooms were maintained and sufficient. Pool entertained the kids. Little creek entertained us too. It's really not a "wilderness camping experience"...you are more or less in a grassy parking lot with trees. Tight spaces. The front part is full of extended stay rv'ers. It didn't bother us much cause we were in B where no one else was. I would be disappointed if we had reserved a "cabin"...because they were just trailers parked next to each other. Again, not your dream smokey mountain experience setting. This park is good for kids riding bikes (flat), good for access to Dollywood and attractions. Not so good for a "get away from it all" feeling nor sleep due to the garbage truck coming every other morning at 5:30 a.m. or traffic noise. It was o.k. Oh...Dollywood tickets are one day get 2nd whole next day free when you purchase from front desk!

Room Tip: Make sure you ask to be far from road noise if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nofitpitchinkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    36
    10
    9
    7
See reviews for
88
20
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

We have been coming here for many many years now. The staff are always friendly and help full. We love everything about our stay here. And will continue coming back for many more years to come. It's close to everything and peaceful at the same time.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DARAJOHN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

I made our reservation for a "cabin" (which is really just a trailer with some wood on the outside...) in January. We were assigned cabin #14 and we received an email that confirmed our reservation for that cabin. Two weeks before our stay, we called and confirmed our reservation and the lady confirmed that we were staying in cabin #14. After a 7 hour drive, we arrived at Claybough's to check in. My husband went inside to check in while I stayed with the kids in the car. After a few minutes my husband came back to tell me that there was no cabin #14 and we had been assigned "the suite" which was $30 more per night than the cabin. We both went in together and told the lady who was handling it that we wanted the cabin for the agreed upon price. She told us that we didn't have a choice because the cabin didn't exist anymore... According to the really rude lady (actually all three people working in the office were really, really rude and definitely not accommodating...), cabin #14 had been moved out of the trailer park in April... Weird since we confirmed the reservation in July... We ended up staying in "the Suite" (which is definitely NOT a suite but rather an extension of the snack shack and the laundry facility that the owner is really proud of but it's like a crappy cheap hotel room standard) at the rate we had booked the cabin.... There was porch on the back of "the Suite" where there was "entertainment" and where people seemed to congregate to smoke and talk all night. There were several nights when I had to tell people at 2 am that we were trying to sleep. Management were less than accommodating and again, quite rude. I would never stay at this place again and would advice everyone to stay away. Oh, and according to one of the maintenance workers that had to fix something in our friend's cabin, the cabin that we were supposed to stay in was moved in April of 2012... Apparently Claybaugh's overbook knowing that they will have cancellations...

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank 0728Boomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, Ohio
Level Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

We try and mostly stay at State Parks don't do this type of place often but it was decent. The place was deserted when we were there so the close proximity of the spots not an issue. (We have a 100+ acre "backyard" so we are used to our space). A campground needs to be near a natural setting attraction that is better than home or at least significantly different to impress us. The guys shower's we ok, not as nice as a Ohio State Park, but you could get clean and respectable to face the day. Not many bugs, and the local ducks kept you entertained. It was a good location to base out of to hit many things in the area. We spent most of our time in the park hiking and drove to do a Zip line tour also. The "Strip" is just a few moments away with anything you want repeated about every 2 miles. If you don't like traffic stay away from there. We quickly found the back roads (Turn LEFT out of the campground). I needed a new tire for the trailer and there was a good tire shop just 2 minutes down the road. Paid him "cash" he "understood". We would return, nothing really bad to say.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

We stayed at Claybough's for a full week with our 8yr old son for a family getaway. There's plenty for kids to do at the campground (two pools, a lazy river, a creek, arcade, bike riding, etc.) that you never even need to leave if you prefer to avoid the chaos that can be Pigeon Forge. They also have two stores (one with a cafe - good breakfast - a lot of locals drop by on the way to work for a bite) and at least one laundry facility. The cons are that the arcade needs some maintenance - there are signs posted in the office and the arcade that clearly express they will not refund money lost in machines (and trust me, it happens) and also that the Lazy River is nice as long as everyone cooperates and does as you're supposed to - lie on a tube and float in circles. Unfortunately, we had only one time that we could relax in this manner. Many people just stood around in it, or hung their legs in it where you couldn't get by in your tube or there were kids horse-playing in it. I felt that these people should have been in one of the two pools there are available to do that kind of thing and it was quite annoying that it wasn't appreciated by all for what it was meant to be. On the last two nights of our stay, there were families who did not abide by the quiet time during the evenings so that made it difficult to sleep for us early risers. Other than that, it was an enjoyable time. We even extended our stay from 4 nights to 7.

Room Tip: While most campgrounds have great sites 'on the water' this is not one of those places. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ilive4myboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mooresville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

Our first trip 4 years ago was for tent camping on the long Memorial Day weekend. Our site was by the creek that runs through and unfortunately, it got flooded by a popped sewer line. The staff helped us move our tent and belongings & immediately made arrangements for us to take one of the cabins for compensation. We were so grateful, we now make reservations each year, same weekend for the same cabin. This year we invited some friends/neighbors and they enjoyed it so much that they are making their own reservations next year as well. Our 2 children keep themselves entertained by having lots of other kids in both of their age groups. They enjoy having the 2 pools and lazy river they installed in the last couple of years. For us, it's a wonderful annual get-away now. Our tent camping days are over and Clabough's cabins have affordable nightly rates for our 3 day weekend.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank keep-me-travelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2012

The a lot of the campsites are not level. You have to ask for the Cable password because they didn't give it to us upon check in. the hook ups are hit or miss I had to buy another length of septic hose and Cable hose to be able to hook up. It was a good thing that the store there on property had everything I needed. but then again it tells me I'm not the 1st to run into this problem there. Good points garbage pick up, grounds are kept clean, and great neighbors. Office employees not very engaging.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eaglerider1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pigeon Forge hotels
0.4 mi away
Clarion Inn Dollywood Area
Clarion Inn Dollywood Area
#5 of 90 in Pigeon Forge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,315 reviews
0.8 mi away
Margaritaville Island Hotel
Margaritaville Island Hotel
#7 of 90 in Pigeon Forge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,197 reviews
0.8 mi away
Arbors at Island Landing Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Inn On The River
The Inn On The River
#3 of 90 in Pigeon Forge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,066 reviews
1.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Pigeon Forge
0.7 mi away
The Inn at Christmas Place
The Inn at Christmas Place
#2 of 90 in Pigeon Forge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clabough's Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clabough's Campground

Property: Clabough's Campground
Address: 405 Wears Valley Rd, Pigeon Forge, TN 37863
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Pigeon Forge
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 54 Speciality Lodging in Pigeon Forge
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clabough family has lived in Pigeon Forge for five generations and in the Smoky Mountain region for a lot longer. William Clabough, a Civil War veteran, bought the original property in the late 1800s. He was a Union soldier and was drawing a small pension when he settled in Pigeon Forge. The Knoxville Chancery Court records show that he sold it to Clyde, one of his nine children, in 1922 when he was about 80 years old. Clyde had a dowry and bought everyone else out. He was a carpenter and built several barns in Sevier County. His two sons, Harold and William Clyde “W.C.” eventually helped him finally pay off the property. The Clabough’s farm had cattle and grew enough wheat to feed the family, tomatoes, hay and a little cash crop like corn. Harold, now 90 years old, said, “We had a good life here on the farm. We always had plenty to eat.” Things got better during the Second New Deal in 1935, Roosevelt started the Farm Security Administration (FSA) which was an effort during the Depression to combat American rural poverty by helping poor farmers buy land, and that program continues to operate in the 21st century as the Farmers Home Administration. The goal was to make the farmer more efficient so the loans were used for new machinery, trucks, or animals, or to repay old debts. “We operated our own farm with horses – no tractors, no electricity,” said Harold. “We didn’t have indoor plumbing until 1948. That was a treat when we got that put in.” Born on November 1, 1923, Harold’s first memories of the property are of the original farmhouse built in the 1800s that is still standing and the pecan tree next to it. He and his brother, W.C., grew up working chores on the farm, but went on their separate career paths. Harold attended Pine Grove School and graduated with a class of 4 people, then worked at TVA for 9 years, taught school for 4 years and served in the military for 32 years. His brother, W.C., served the military in New Guinea, the Dutch East Indies, the Philippines and Spain. He was a veteran of World War II and after 17 years of service, received a medical discharge. Upon his death in the 1980s, the land came to be Harold’s. Little by little, the land being farmed shrank and in 1980 Harold started building the Campground, officially opening in 1981. Gradually, Harold acquired a little more land to build the store that still services campers today, offering Exxon gasoline and a small deli that the locals frequent as much as the out-of-town visitors. “We made good money out of the small campground so I decided to add more sites.” Harold was a sharp businessman and the Campground grew from 83 to 116 sites, and then 150 when new property was added. Today, Clabough’s Campground, has 325 camping sites plus cabin, cottage and vacation rentals. Harold and his wife of 58 years, who passed away in 2006, worked the business with their only daughter and son-in-law and two grandsons. After a career at First Federal and Rural Housing Authority, son-in-law Ronnie Russell took on the role of General Manager in 1978 and has overseen new water lines, new concrete patios, new sewer lines and updating the cabins every couple of years. “You cannot stay the same. You’ve got to work at making it better,” Ronnie said, “I want our campground to be known as the best one in the area. It’s like anything. You take care of it, because it’s all you have. Our goal is to try to make it better. People come here, and we are proud to say they leave happy.” The original farm was about 50 acres and today the property is about 50 acres. The Appalachian Mountains have seen a big boom as tourism took center stage for the Smokies, but really the families and their values have not changed. You still only need a handful of change to buy an ice cream and Harold’s philosophy of “you never hurt someone else to help yourself” shows up in every detail of the business. “We keep it clean. We have all the conveniences. If you have any problem while you are here, come see us,” said Harold. Throughout his long life, he has seen his childhood home evolve into a multi-facetted modern family-friendly vacation destination. While still active and on-site, it is younger generations that handle the day-to-day operations. Harold summed it best when he said, “The campers have been so good to us. Campers are good people.” ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Clabough`s Campground Hotel Pigeon Forge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing