We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“GREAT FIND”
other travellers have booked this property
Private deck with views
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Private deck with views
Snow covered Mt. Leconte views.  This is the nearest ridge in front of cabin with Mt. Leconte behind
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
150 reviews
Private deck with views
Snow covered Mt. Leconte views.  This is the nearest ridge in front of cabin with Mt. Leconte behind
Cove Mountan Views
Cloudy May 6 2011
side yard views
Cabin in the fall
Fall views
6 person spa
moutain laurel along the drive way
Kitchen fully equipped
new hot tub cover and lift.
spring 2012
Little visitor
Snowy Thanksgiving 2013
taking down tree's to maintain the views
Momma and 2 cubs at the Cabin late September 2015
new furniture 2016
new sofa and love 2016
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Pigeon Forge, Tennessee

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 150 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
John S
Mason, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“GREAT FIND”
Reviewed 17 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
4
people found this review helpful

We found Moonshine Cabin based on a friends recommendation, and what a great recommendation it was. The cabin is nicely stocked with all of the necessities of home, the furniture is very comfortable and the beds are new. The cabin is very clean, the garage is a nice bonus. The kitchen is large enough to cook a meal for the family and the gas grill is great to cook on while enjoying the view of the mountains. The hot tub is great, very clean and in a perfect location for watching the day pass. The deck is large enough to sit and enjoy the view as well. Ken has done a great job with the drive to the cabin. I'm sure it's not easy to keep up with the driveway. I would not recommend driving to the cabin for the first time at night, it could be nerve racking. Once you drive it, it’s easy and you learn where to go so that the bottom of the car doesn't scrap on the ground. Overall a 10+ and I hope to stay here again. If I had one opportunity for improvement, TV's in the bedroom would be nice.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Tennessee
Reviewed 17 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
3
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and views
Liked least: The driveway.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mona W
Birmingham
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Views, Wheelchair accessible at door only”
Reviewed 30 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

This cabin is everything the reviews and pictures say. Beautiful views of the Smokies. Easy to access, close to everything yet feel secluded. I was excited to be able to take my 80 year old wheelchair bound mother and her sister to the mountains along with my sister-in-law. I was glad the cabin was wheelchair accessible. Just note the cabin is not made for wheelchairs. The carpets are hard for an elderly person to roll themselves. The wheelchair would not fit through the bathroom doors and there are no handicap bars in the bathrooms. It was difficult to even take the wheelchair into the bedrooms because of turns and the large beds in the rooms. We managed with some handicap items we brought from home but thought everyone should know there are no handicap tools inside the cabin. The view was breathtaking as you climb out of the car in the driveway! This made up for what it lacked in ease of use! Crisp, white sheets too!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the views!
Liked least: difficulty accessing in wheelchair
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason C
Miamisburg, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice private family retreat.”
Reviewed 27 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Wonderful cabin high up in the mountains. Very private and secluded yet so close to the main drag. Ken was great to work with. If I had any questions I was very impressed with his prompt responses before booking. Just take the time and read the reviews on Moonshine Cabin. His were some of the best out of hundreds I had read through. The views are just as advertised. Awesome! Also, a shout out to Smokey Mountain Anglers. We booked a fly fishing trip. Brad was our guide. He was outstanding. Very knowledgeable and patient. ''Maybe him and Ken are related.'' Overall, great cabin, great time, great family bounding trip, and great hosts!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cookeville, Tennessee
Reviewed 9 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
14 Oct 2014
Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your comments about safety. We wouldnt want to be foolish and give anyone a false sense of security by fencing in our property or putting gates on a deck. We do feel it neccessary to remind our guests that bears are more active this time of year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Brian E
Indianapolis, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“outstanding”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Honestly, we cannot say enough good things about this cabin! The amenities were comfortable, clean and enjoyable, and the view from the patio is simply stunning. We thoroughly enjoyed our week there. One of the things we were wondering about, after reading some other reviews, was the driveway; it is steep (after all, this is a mountain cabin!) but easily manageable, at least in non-winter weather. Beyond the cabin itself, the owner is friendly, responsive, and very easy to work with. In short, we would fully recommend the Moonshine Cabin to anyone thinking of visiting the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brunswick, Ohio
Reviewed 17 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Secluded
Liked least: Traffic in Pigeon Forge
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing