We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical chocolate shop with good late night service”
Review of Chocolate Monkey

Chocolate Monkey
Ranked #10 of 20 Dessert in Pigeon Forge
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Typical chocolate shop with good late night service”
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

This shop has a good selection of, well---chocolate! They have carmel apples, fudge, ice cream, and chocolates. We went at almost 10am and received excellent service. The dark chocolate salted caramel fudge was really good.

I give this shop above average rating because they were closing and still took time with us.

Helpful?
Thank Eller-Bees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    63
    33
    17
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Inman, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Yum!”
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

We stopped here on our way out of pigeon forge for a sweet treat to take home. We ordered fudge to give as a gift to my mom's coworkers, a m&m caramel apple and a chocolate chip cookie. We sampled the red velvet and peanut butter pie fudge and both were tasty. The red velvet was our favorite though. The caramel apple and cookie were both delicious! It is a little on the pricey side but isn't everything in pigeon forge? I probably wouldn't stop on there for ice cream since it's only Blue Bell but the candy is great!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jlgos2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Augustine, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Don't make this mistake”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

I wish I had read reviews before stopping here for an afternoon snack. The store has visual appeal from the road. A cheeky monkey on bright yellow sign beacons you to stop. That is all the positive I can say.
The ice cream served is the Blue Bell brand which is decent ice cream which is available in most major groceries in 2 quart containers for less than I paid for a scoop. Chocolate Monkey's scoop size is less than a half cup which is still more than I managed to choke down.
I have never known ice cream to taste warm but this one did. Maybe the semi-solid state was due to gelatin content rather than freezer temperature.
Next insult was when I asked for a cup of water to rinse the sticky sweetness from my palate. I was sold a bottle of water $1.50 as Chocolate Monkey does not serve complimentary tap water.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Betty s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonkeyManager, Manager at Chocolate Monkey, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
I am sorry that you did not enjoy our store or products. It is our expectation to serve fresh products. In each of our stores we offer samples of our warm cinnamon glazed nuts, caramel, fudge and ice-cream. The samples are offered so you can decide if you like that product. If by chance you do not like the product offered we will offer another selection or you may choose another sample from what you think you would like. The size of our scoops are displayed in each shop at the ice-cream counter. The size of the scoops are shown as you look at the display of cones and cups we offer. The prices are even posted on the cone/cup selections.
Again, I'm sorry that you had a bad experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Over priced, but decent”
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

I've cream was ok, but could go to grocery to buy blue bell. Didn't buy any chocolates. They did not look appealing..

Helpful?
Thank Cherie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Death By Chocolate -- and other Flavors, too!”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

This little shop has just about every imaginable fudge flavor conceivable, as well as a huge panoply of other decadent treats! The fudge is sold by the pound. And don't forget to try one of their Granny Smith Caramel Apples! There are both huge and delicious!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AshevilleBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chocolate Monkey also viewed

Pigeon Forge, Sevier County
Pigeon Forge, Sevier County
 
Sevierville, Sevier County
Pigeon Forge, Sevier County
 
Pigeon Forge, Sevier County
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
 

Been to Chocolate Monkey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing