We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BYOP (proteins) to breakfast.”
Review of James Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
James Manor
Ranked #60 of 92 Hotels in Pigeon Forge
Nixa, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
421 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“BYOP (proteins) to breakfast.”
Reviewed 4 September 2014

Great location, I will say that, and we loved having a balcony that overlooked the strip. But otherwise we were a bit underwhelmed. Rooms were clean but needed a few repairs. Beds were fairly comfortable. Staff didn't really interact with us much aside from check-in. The breakfast leaves MUCH to be desired--NO substantial proteins offered. They have biscuits & gravy, donuts, waffles, cereal, oatmeal, bread, peanut butter/jelly. Very carb heavy. If you stay here, I recommend going out to eat the night before, and save some of your entree to have with breakfast. This helped us a lot since we did a lot of hiking while in the park. They do have a nice pool (both indoor & outdoor), a nice kids pool/play area, and a great hot tub, which you need after a long day of hiking. Really, if you're coming to town for hiking & shows and eating & don't plan to spend much of your time at the hotel, it's fine, but just don't expect many frills.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank heywood417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesManorStaff, Owner at James Manor, responded to this review, 5 October 2014
Thanks for your comments. We are sorry that you were not very happy with the items for breakfast. We have been having this variety of breakfast for a long time and have not had many complaints from guests. We will look into this and see if any changes can be made to the breakfast menu. Hope to have you come and stay with us in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    108
    67
    33
    57
See reviews for
210
98
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

My daughter, granddaughter, and I stayed here 5 nights while visiting the area. Its in a good location with restaurants, entertainment, and shopping in walking distance. The room was in good order with 2 queen beds, fridge, microwave, large vanity area outside the bathroom, and balcony which I enjoyed the view from even with all the traffic noise. The a/c and shower worked very well. The indoor and outdoor pool areas were fine though small. The staff were all friendly and helpful.

There were a few cons such as the carpet was seriously filthy (but we just wore our flip flops when walking in our room), the TV and its reception weren't the best, the breakfast was pretty much an empty carb fest (peanut butter was the only protein and apples & oatmeal the only healthy options), and the parking lot was a little crazy. Also many employees would hang around outside smoking right beside the main entry door - this was what we were greeted with upon check in to this smoke free property. Not the best way to encourage business. Didn't see anyone smoking indoors, but there was the stale cigarette smell in the halls from when they probably allowed smoking inside.

All in all I would stay here again if I got another good deal.

Room Tip: The Island is a fun entertainment complex located directly behind here. The fountain show is a free...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jlines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesManorStaff, Owner at James Manor, responded to this review, 5 October 2014
Thank you for your comments. We appreciate it very much. We are sorry to hear about the carpets, TVs and the breakfast.

We get our room carpets shampooed twice a year and it just happened that your visit was about a week before they were shampooed. As far as TV is concerned, the cable provider has recently upgraded the cable to HD and there were some issues with their service which has now been resolved. The breakfast selection has been brought to our attention and we will take a serious look at it and see if we can make any changes.

Hope to have you come back and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Ontario, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I would not stay at this Hotel, James Manor in Pigeon Forge TN again, the bed is hard, the rug is fully dirty, this bathtub is hard to get into, if you have to leave early from this hotel you can not get a refund, this is unacceptable.

Room Tip: Don't stay at the hotel if you ever have to leave early you do not get a refund.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesManorStaff, Owner at James Manor, responded to this review, 5 October 2014
Thank you for your comments.
Our rooms are shampooed twice a year and perhaps you came a week before they were shampooed. Our tubs are easy to get in.

As far as early check out is concerned, it is our policy that we do not give refunds for early check outs. It is clearly stated on our website as well as on the guest check in folios. We apologize that we could not give you the refund.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Pigeon Forge hotels

Cullman, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

It's right in the middle of everything in Pidgeon Forge. Easy access to whatever you want to see. The earlier reviews that mentioned the lights from the ferris wheel are correct and some light does make it into the room but it never bothered any of us. Here's a tip .....close your eyes if the lights are in them. Hotel was clean and breakfast was the usual gravy biscuits, waffles or cold cereal . Indoor and outdoor pools plus a Jacuzzi. Indoor pool had a slight chlorine smell but I had rather it be too strong than chance catching something from a pool.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank firefighterbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesManorStaff, Owner at James Manor, responded to this review, 5 October 2014
Thank you for your comments. We appreciate it very much and look forward to your next visit to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bremen, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We have stayed at James Manor everytime and always have a pleasant stay. This time was no different and the view from our room was great!! We stayed in room 718 which is on the back side with a huge picture window with view of the Island. Breakfast was good again and staff is always friendly. The only thing this hotel needs to do is replace their OLD box tv's. Our tv had terrible reception but we didn't complain because we were not there to watch tv :) but it would be nice not to have it cut in and out when trying to watch something as you are getting dress

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kendallrchance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zionville, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Good Location and Hotel for the money. Staff was very friendly. Has a ok free breakfest. Rooms were clean. Kids enjoyed the indoor pool. Walking distance to The Track whick was nice a night for the kids.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dragonflymom7272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesManorStaff, Owner at James Manor, responded to this review, 20 January 2015
Thank you very much for such glowing praise of our hotel. We are most pleased that your family was able to enjoy the full array of amenities that we believe define our hotel. I hope that your road back to us is a wonderful one for you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

I was excited about the location of the hotel more than the hotel. It is right in front of the the island and the wheel. Great place for walking food and fun. The room was just a place I sprayed with Lysol and slept. But after that it was fine. Coming back to the area not the hotel

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Latoya04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pigeon Forge hotels
0.1 mi away
Shular Inn Hotel
Shular Inn Hotel
#47 of 92 in Pigeon Forge
646 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arbors at Island Landing Hotel & Suites
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Pigeon Forge - Parkway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Margaritaville Island Hotel
Margaritaville Island Hotel
#9 of 92 in Pigeon Forge
1,306 reviews
0.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Pigeon Forge
0.5 mi away
Park Grove Inn
Park Grove Inn
#32 of 92 in Pigeon Forge
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to James Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about James Manor

Property: James Manor
Address: 2735 Parkway, Pigeon Forge, TN 37863-3211
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Pigeon Forge
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 92 Hotels in Pigeon Forge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — James Manor 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 7 storey, 105 rooms hotel located in the heart of the action packed Pigeon Forge (at the foothills of the Smoky Mountain National Park) and within walking distance to moderately priced restaurants and other attractions in the area. The Great Smoky Mountain Wheel sits at the center of The Island in Pigeon Forge, a new shopping, dining and entertainment destination in the heart of the city. Rise 200 feet above the city for the best view of the mountains in one of the climate-controlled, enclosed gondolas on The Great Smoky Mountain Wheel! Don’t forget to stick around after dark and catch the wheel as it lights up for a spectacular LED light show! The Island is located right behind our hotel. Also, the new LeCont Convention Center in Pigeon Forge is scheduled to open in the fall of 2013 and is within a walking distance from our hotel.We are very close to the entrance of the Dollywood Amusement Park and Dixie Stampede. We offer complimentary continental breakfast, high speed wireless internet, exercise room, game room, conference room, indoor heated pool, hot tub and a seasonal outdoor pool with a kiddie pool. Our hotel is 100% non-smoking and is not pet friendly. Large and well-lit parking is available at no extra charge. Our clean and comfortable guest rooms (with 2 queen size beds or a single king size bed) are spacious with private balconies and offer wireless internet and free local calls in addition to refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and ironing board. Our rooms on the front side of the hotel offer great view of the smoky mountains. The city’s trolley stop is conveniently located in front of our hotel. We are also close to many shopping outlet malls. Both Gatlinburg and Sevierville are within short driving distances. We are approximately 10 miles from the Great Smoky Mountain National Park.Come, stay with us and enjoy our Southern Hospitality! Our friendly staff will be happy to help make your stay enjoyable and memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your James Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing