We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

“Perfection In the Mountains!!!!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pigeon Forge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sherwood Forest Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 December 2013

This place is just flat out awesome!

I arrived for a three day solo visit in December 2013, and the cabin surpassed my expectations in a huge way. I had never rented a cabin in the mountains before, so I wasn't completely sure what to expect, but everything was awesome. It was almost like a marriage between Marriott and Henry David Thoreau.

Upon completion of your reservations, you will receive an email with information about your cabin, check-in procedures, cabin needs/policies, etc… Check in was very easy, and I was able to get into the cabin as soon as I arrived.

The view was absolutely spectacular, and the cabin was filled with all kinds of luxuries: multiple fireplaces, TV's throughout various rooms, a pool table, a very nice kitchen, etc… the hot tub was absolute paradise, clean and thoroughly enjoyable. One morning I lounged in the hot tub as snow came down -- beautiful. The hot tub and deck are a paradise of a way to end a day of hiking in the mountains, or starting out your morning. I don't know much about fireplaces and was a little worried about how to use them, but they were incredibly simple and didn't even require a flue to be opened or closed.

I found the kitchen more than meeting the needs of a typical cook -- plenty of cooking utensils, cutlery, etc… Everything from a coffeemaker, steak knives, tongs, etc… The kitchen almost certainly has anything you would need to prepare a meal.

The resort is also gated, with the gate closed after 7:00 p.m. each night. Guests are given their own code to open the gate, which is a nice security touch. The resort is less than five driving minutes from the Parkway and Pigeon Forge restaurants and shops. I went into the National Park one day and it is somewhere around 15-20 minutes away.

Be aware that the resort is tucked away from the Pigeon Forge strip. There is nothing within walking distance, but everything is a pretty easy drive.

A couple other FYI's: The resort is incredibly nice, but it is in the middle of nature, so it is almost certain you will have some small bugs (like ladybugs) get in the cabin. Nothing major or nasty, but just anticipate it. Also, my cabin had a gas grill. It worked OK, but it took a long time to heat up and was not the cleanest grill I've ever seen. It was usable, but as always, cooking on someone else's grill is entering the unknown. Finally, the keypad at the front door can be a little tricky, though once you learn how to use it, it's not at all bad.

Overwhelmingly, I give Sherwood Forest Cabins a major endorsement. I will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Be sure to consult the Sherwood Forest web site and look at the cabin pictures. choosing a cabin wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank henryv731_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan B, General Manager at Sherwood Forest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Dear henryv731_123

Thank you for staying with Sherwood Forest Resort. We love to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay. Thanks for your very detailed review; we strive very hard to make sure everything is ready for our guest’s arrival. Our staff is always ready to help with any issue that might arise during your stay. We hope to see you again soon; be sure to ask for your return guest discount when calling to book your next stay with us.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (431)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 431 reviews

Reviewed 13 December 2013

We WILL be back! This was an amazing cabin and resort. Very conveniently located between Gatlinburg and Pigeon Forge. The view from this cabin is absolutely amazing !!! Very quiet too. The staff was very helpful, too. We can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rickyandjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan B, General Manager at Sherwood Forest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Dear Rickyandjan

Thank you for staying with Sherwood Forest Resort. We love to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay. Thanks for your review, we strive very hard to make sure everything is ready for your arrival. We look forward to your staying with us again soon; be sure to ask for your return guest discount when calling to book your next stay with us.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Our family spent our first ever vacation in the Smokie Mountains. We stayed in the Dancing Bears Cabin in the Sherwood Forest Resort. Everything was just as advertised and the kids agreed this was our best vacation ever. The cabin was clean and everything you needed was provided. I would highly recommend the Sherwood Forest Resort. From the reservation process to check in, everything went smoothly. The location is convenient to all the major attractions. We were blessed to have snow during our stay and this made the awesome view even more beautiful. We will definetely be back!!

Keene Family

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AKeene2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan B, General Manager at Sherwood Forest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Dear AKeene2013

Thank you for staying with Sherwood Forest Resort and Dancing Bear. We’re glad you found the cabin well stocked and took advantage of all the amenities your cabin had to offer. We love to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay. We look forward to your staying with us again soon; be sure to ask for your return guest discount when calling to book your next stay with us.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

This cabin was nicely situated in a large grouping of cabins. We loved it! It was super clean but felt homey. Kitchen was spotless and well stocked with quality appliances, pots/pans, utensils, dishes, glasses (and wine glasses). We used the hot tub day and night and shot pool several times each day. Nice washer and dryer. I brought extra towels for the hot tub which came in handy. Kids loved it. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SAGE315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan B, General Manager at Sherwood Forest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Dear SAGE315

Thank you for staying with Sherwood Forest Resort. We’re glad you found the cabin well stocked and took advantage of all the amenities your cabin had to offer. We hope that you will come and stay with us again soon; be sure to ask for your return guest discount when calling to book your next stay with us.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We stayed at the Treehouse, it was great close to everything in Peigoen Forge! Cleancabins and the fastest check in! The whole family enjoyed the cabin and the location! We will stay at Shearwood Forest from now on, we visit the area once a year and these were the best cabins yet!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brooke T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan B, General Manager at Sherwood Forest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Dear Brooke T

Thank you for staying with Sherwood Forest Resort and the cabin Treehouse. We want your stay to be a memorable one. Our location is perfect whether you are hiking the Smoky Mountains, attending a show, dinning out or shopping. Our staff strives to make sure your cabin is clean and your stay will be comfortable. We hope that you will come and stay with us again soon; be sure to ask for your return guest discount when calling to book your next stay with us.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We stayed in Mountain Dreams from November 21 - November 25. It was so beautiful and clean. We have stayed at Legacy Mountain for many years and decided to check out some place closer to Pigeon Forge. After many nights of reading reviews and looking at pictures, we decided on Log Heaven at Sherwood Forest. But after we made the reservation, we were contacted that Log Heaven had some structural damage and was not being rented the days we were going to be there. The lady was very helpful and knowledgeable about the cabins as we explained we needed a somewhat level parking area to park a motorcycle, trailer and truck. She gave us about 5 choices and we went online that night and chose Mountain Dreams. Well, we were not disappointed. It was clean, warm and decorated for Christmas. The living room has a gas fireplace which does a great job warming up the cabin especially the upstairs pool loft and bedroom. We were elated over this cabin and will be back next year. It is a 2 bedroom, 2 bath with a full size kitchen, dining room, living room and plenty of books and games for the kids. There were 4 flat screen televisions. We did not get a chance to use the hot tub due to weather so I cannot comment on it. Check in was easy and the office personnel was very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: If you have little ones, you will have to be careful with the staircase, but I did see a baby gate i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan B, General Manager at Sherwood Forest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Dear Debbie K

Thank you for staying with Sherwood Forest Resort and the cabin Mountain Dreams. We work very hard to make sure that our guests have the best experience possible when staying with us. We are happy to report that the original cabin you booked, Log Heaven, is now back open for rentals. Our owners take great pride in making sure that their cabins are ready for the guest to relax and enjoy. As with all cabins before you arrive our staff is making sure your stay will be comfortable. We hope that you will come and stay with us again soon; be sure to ask for your return guest discount when calling to book your next stay with us.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

This was our first visit to Sherwood Forest. The resort is Excellent! Our stay was very pleasant. The view was wonderful. The resort is convenient to area attractions. Would definitely recommend staying at Sherwood Forest! A new owner of our cabin had just completed the sale, and our cable service was not available the fist evening, but staff went out of their way to be sure we were stocked with DVD movies. When the technicians installed the cable service, it included high speed wireless internet, which was a real plus!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wwrush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan B, General Manager at Sherwood Forest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Dear wwrush

Thank you for staying with Sherwood Forest Resort and the cabin Audacious. We work very hard to make sure that our guests have the best experience possible when staying with us. We were thankful to get the cable and internet service restored for you to enjoy during your stay. We hope that you will come and stay with us again soon; be sure to ask for your return guest discount when calling to book your next stay with us.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pigeon Forge hotels
3.8 mi away
The Inn On The River
The Inn On The River
#2 of 92 in Pigeon Forge
2,461 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Inn at Christmas Place
The Inn at Christmas Place
#3 of 92 in Pigeon Forge
2,079 reviews
3.3 mi away
Margaritaville Island Hotel
Margaritaville Island Hotel
#9 of 92 in Pigeon Forge
1,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Creekstone Inn
Creekstone Inn
#28 of 92 in Pigeon Forge
1,060 reviews
3.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Pigeon Forge
1.4 mi away
Accommodations by Parkside Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sherwood Forest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sherwood Forest Resort

Address: 4306 Forest Ridge Way, Pigeon Forge, TN 37863-4751
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Pigeon Forge
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Hotel Class:3 star — Sherwood Forest Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sherwood Forest Resort is a gated community resort offering affordable, luxury log cabins in the heart of Pigeon Forge and adjacent to the beauty of the Great Smoky Mountains National Park. Our Pigeon Forge cabin rentals and Smoky Mountain Cabins are so convenient to all the area attractions, shopping, and restaurants, yet you’ll feel like you’re far away from it all. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sherwood Forest Hotel Pigeon Forge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing