We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Weekend Getaway”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Just The Two Of Us

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Average
5 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Pigeon Forge, Tennessee

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Matthew L
Canton, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“They Should Rename This Cabin "The Vacation Ruiner"”
Reviewed 22 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Most important thing to pass on about this cabin is that it has cockroaches. Woke up in the middle of our third night here (of 4 nights) to use the bathroom and when I turned on the light, one was running across the floor. Quickly grabbed a tissue to kill it. Searching pictures of roaches on Google revealed that it was a German cockroach. This led to my family going through every last inch of every last belonging looking for these disgusting bugs hiding in them. After checking everything, we had bought trash bags and electrical tape to put everything inside of and seal up to make sure we didn't bring anything home with us. That was the worst part of the cabin, but far from the only issue. The cabin itself was dirty. We washed all of the bed linens before sleeping on them. The pillows smelled. We ended up making a trip to Walmart and buying more pillows for the stay and leaving them there when we left. Advertising says this cabin sleeps six. That is not true. No one will be sleeping in the most uncomfortable beds I've ever encountered. 40 years old and I've stayed in quite a few different places, these are the worst beds of all of them. Most places are fairly decent, this cabin is not. The light fixture in the kitchen was full of bugs and some kind of liquid stain(???). The stove was greasy and poorly cleaned. The microwave had something all over the door and was disgusting. All of the windows had a greasy/cloudy film on them. They bought the junkiest blinds I have ever seen for the windows and they apparently never clean them either. Don't bother touching them or you will be fighting with them for a half hour trying to get them straightened out again. They also bought the cheapest shower heads and toilet paper I have ever seen. You can buy a good shower head for under $10 so I'm guessing they spent about 79 cents on the ones at this cabin. The pool table and foosball table were in bad shape. Felt was falling off the pool table with holes on the dead bumpers. Foosball falls on the floor with a loud bang every time you score a goal. The satellite TV didn't work for the first two days. Kept resetting the box and it finally started working intermittently. The carpet was very cheap and had stains, wrinkles and an iron burn in it. What could be a beautiful view from both decks is almost completely blocked by trees in front of them. So no view of the mountains right in front of the cabin. One of the most insulting things about Wyndham is that they charge a $65 "cleaning fee" that is obviously just a mark-up and not used for cleaning. This is on top of the advertised price as is a $60 non-refundable "reservation fee". This cabin was advertised as $806 for the 4 nights we stayed, but ended up costing $1050 with fees and taxes, so keep that in mind. They also don't give you the rental agreement until after you pay. No refunds after our payment. So, minutes after payment, if we didn't agree to their terms, we would have lost $1050 put on our debit card. If they had given it to us beforehand, I would have told them to stick it. Ask them for the agreement before you pay and make sure you agree to their terms. I personally will never agree to their "terms" and will avoid anything with the Wyndham and Maple Leaf Cabins names on it like the plague in the future. Also, someone was out messing around our car at 2:00 in the morning. They squealed their tires taking off when I turned on the porch light and opened the door. Keep that in mind that theft and vandalism is apparently a problem in this area. Oh, and the directions are incomplete as other reviewers said. Plan on cursing and driving around for another half hour after driving all day. Worst vacation stay we've ever had.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Leaving
Liked least: Arriving
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jul 2016
Dear Matthew L,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with the feedback from your stay. Your comments are very important to us. We always want to exceed your expectations and make your stay as comfortable and relaxing as possible and I am so very sorry that we fell short. Please accept our apologies for what is not indicative of our service levels and we can assure you that our housekeeping and maintenance department is taking your feedback seriously. Many of the items have been corrected and the remaining items have been scheduled. In regards to the rental agreement, it is available upon request through the reservation department and is also available online on our website for your review prior to confirming your reservation. We also offer a 24 hour grace period to cancel reservations with no penalty if you book within the 2 weeks prior to arrival as was the case in your recent stay. We hope to have the opportunity to accommodate you again during a future visit to the Smokies so that you will see that your visit with us just now is not the norm for our guests.

Yours in hospitality,
Amy P
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
evap768
1 review
“Place was good but directions sucked”
Reviewed 31 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

I'd absolutely recommend this place it was nice and private and very cozy but cleanlyness was a 3 outa 10.
And the person at the desk needs to give better directions we searched for 5+ hours till we found the place.by the way the woodpeckers are destroying the back porch.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Feb 2017
Dear evap768,

Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know that you enjoyed Just the Two of Us and I am sorry to hear about the issues that you found in the cabin. Please accept our apologies for what is not indicative of our service levels and we can assure you that our housekeeping and maintenance department has taken your feedback seriously. We have followed up with our front desk in regards to the directions and made corrections. Guest feedback is the most important tool that we can use to improve our cabins and I wish to thank you again for taking the time to let us know.

Yours in hospitality,
Amy P
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
902kennet...
1 review
“Weekend Getaway”
Reviewed 2 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Awesome place. Only a few issues. The directions were not all that great. Shower head needs replaced.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 May 2016
Dear 902kennethh,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. We appreciate your comments on the cabin and we are sorry to hear that you were disappointed by some aspects of your stay. We have been in touch with maintenance about the showerhead and the directions are under review.

We genuinely appreciate you choosing to spend your vacation with us and we hope to have the opportunity to accommodate you again during a future visit to the Smokies.

Yours in hospitality,
Amy P.
Wyndham Vacation Rentals
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
4 Dec 2015
Dear 781jefferyh,

Thank you for choosing Wyndham Vacation Rentals. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are happy that you found your cabin had great views and you enjoyed the openness of the cabin.

I?ve forwarded your comments regarding the foosball table, VCR and TV reception, as well as the conditions of the windows and the trash that you mention, to see if they have been corrected yet. I wish to apologize for the issues you had with this.

Again, we truly appreciate your comments and hope to see you again for a future stay.

Best Regards,
Sherri T.
Assistant General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
No pets
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing