We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lacking friendlyness”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Inn at Christmas Place
Ranked #3 of 92 Hotels in Pigeon Forge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We go the Inn atleast 1 x per year. As we walked in this time, the desk clerk just jumped at us and said "Did you call and see if your room was ready"? My husband and I looked at each other like WOW. It was 2:30 in the afternoon and we said Yes actually we did. And he said well you did not talk to me, and I jumped back and said NO we talked to a guy named Terry. Wow that did not start off very well with me. He then gave us the room 223 which was great because it was on the main floor, BUT the view was horrible. I would have rather been on the backside looking at the road, then Starbucks coffee and half a bush. But anyways as the week went on I found the desk staff to be very UNFRIENDLY. Doormen are awesome! Housekeeping did not sweep our room like they were suppose to. Breakfast was OUT of many items and they seemed to hate being there you could tell. It seems like its going downhill. And for what I paid it shouldn't be. Next time we already made up our mind and will be going to a DIFFERENT hotel in the same location but 50.00 cheaper. Don't get me wrong, I love this hotel. BUT for that much money, NO way am I going to be treated that way again. You lost a very good customer. We also talked with GM about it and all he could say was "It will be addressed".

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank snuggs30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanetDonaldson, Marketing at The Inn at Christmas Place, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2013

Oh, no! We really messed up! It sure sounds like you were not received with any Christmas spirit - more like Scrooge on Christmas eve. I sincerely apologize for your reception, and that you did not feel welcome during your most recent visit. I am very sorry that this happened - we really hate to loose such a good customer, and especially through our own failure to put your needs, comfort, and expectations first. This is why we are in the hospitality business, after all.

I assure you, the General Manager did bring up your experience with staff as promised. I understand that you were offered and accepted the second floor room rather than wait for the one that was originally reserved for you. I'm sorry that this lower-floor room did not meet your expectations. We have both cleaners and room inspectors, and they should have caught the vacuuming mistake, so I hope you mentioned that problem to staff while you were here. Our breakfast staff has been innovating and expanding our offerings, and I am sorry that you were not able to enjoy everything that they were trying to make available each morning.

We have certainly disappointed ourselves by letting you down on your most recent stay, when we had offered such an outstanding experience on your previous visits. Thank you for taking the time to share the ways in which we failed to live up to expectations, so that we may attack those issues and make sure they are remedied before another guest catches us at our worst on another day.

We hope you enjoyed your time in Pigeon Forge, and that you'll come to the area again - the big Ferris wheel has finally opened, along with many new restaurants and attractions - there is always something new going on around here.

Happy travels!

~Janet Donaldson
Christmas Place Properties

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,065)
There are newer reviews for The Inn at Christmas Place
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,187 - 1,193 of 2,065 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2013

Wonderfull service, cozy rooms with fireplace, fantastic breakfast Christmas decorations every where you look. Santa sings nightly while you gather round the fireplace. The kids love it.
Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Fireplace rooms are the best.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lgr12362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanetDonaldson, Marketing at The Inn at Christmas Place, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2013

Thank you so much for sharing your experience at The Inn!

I noticed that you stayed last October - and we have even improved breakfast since then - you will really enjoy it when you come again, thanks to our very creative breakfast staff.

Did you get to see Santa on Thursday or Saturday? Those are his regular concert nights, but you might see Mrs. Claus, Rudolf, or even an elf at breakfast on other days as well.

Happy travels!

~Janet Donaldson
Christmas Place Properties

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Room was super clean and that ring there sets the mood of the stay. The breakfast is huge with lots of items to choose from that are changed each day. Lots of places to take pictures with the family and even some characters for the little kids. Cookies and milk each night is a plus. Staff was very friendly and accommodating for any request. WiFi was a bit of hit and miss but other than that everything was great. Someone always there to open the door for you and greet you or help you as well. This is where we will stay in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tonytaylorowensboro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanetDonaldson, Marketing at The Inn at Christmas Place, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2013

So glad you enjoyed your stay and a few of our select perks, like warm cookies before bed time!

We're sorry the WiFi was so sketchy - we have been working on that problem, and just finished installing new hardware to improve service throughout the hotel. We also found that guests have had better luck using the Safari browser, so we've developed detailed instructions and also retrained our staff to be able to help guests through the process. You will appreciate the improvements on your next visit.

Come see us in July or December, when we really celebrate with free daily guest activities!

Until then, we wish you happy travels!

~Janet Donaldson
Christmas Place Properties

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013 via mobile

For kids? A senior? With kids? This place will be just great for y'all - but in you 20's, 30's or 40's and traveling without kids? Go somewhere else! They do the Christmas thing well, even Santa is available for photos - but there's no service - breakfast is a total zoo - not enough seating and you must clear away your own dishes - it's like eating at a hospital cafeteria - but if you don't mind it doesn't matter. But if you want service and to be waited on go elsewhere.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Expattraveler100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanetDonaldson, Marketing at The Inn at Christmas Place, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2013

Thanks for giving us a try! We're glad you enjoyed seeing Santa and our Christmas theme. We have found over the years that our style appeals to both the young and the young at heart, as evidenced by the weddings, anniversaries, and birthdays that have been celebrated with us, and we really enjoy sharing that spirit with our guests of all ages.

We're sorry breakfast was a madhouse while you were here, though. It is a serve-yourself buffet atmosphere, rather than restaurant service, and we offer additional seating just across the hall in our large conference room, but we understand some guests will prefer a quieter start to the day. We sure hope you enjoyed our breakfast food selections of hot, cold, and made-to-order.

We appreciate your feedback, and wish you continued happy travels wherever you go!

~Janet Donaldson
Christmas Place Properties

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

This hotel is just great! It is absolutely beautiful. From the exterior structure that has a Bavarian look, the beautiful trees and lights, to the beautifully decorated lobby and meeting area. The employees were very friendly and helpful. The free breakfast had everything that you could want from an omelet stand to all the juices and fruits, along with just about anything you could want for breakfast. All freshly made. We were lucky enough to be there when Santa came for a visit! Such a nice man that is very famous around the area and is actually a great singer! The kids and the adults had a great time as he sang to us and entertained all the kids. They came out in their Christmas pj's and Santa hats and made it feel like we were all sitting around in our living room talking to Santa. They also serve coffee and hot cider! One of the hotel's greatest features is the 25ft Glockenspiel (clock). It is just amazing. It plays at each hour and half hour. A beautiful piece of artisanship. The rooms are a nice size and each has their own private balcony. The beds were very comfortable and everything was CLEAN! This hotel is more of an experience than just a hotel. I have very little negative to say about our stay. The outdoor area was being remodeled, so we couldn't go out there but that was not really an issue. The game room was nice for my kids but the pool table was missing some balls. The indoor pool, which is a great feature when it's too cold to swim outside, was a nice size but was too stuffy and needed some ventilation. Other than that, I have nothing else negative to say. We had a great time and hope to be able to come back during the Christmas holiday season so that we can enjoy it again. I will say that this is not a huge hotel and reservations must be made and I am sure it stays sold out during the holidays. So think ahead and book early!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

This place was great. Front desk people were fun and helpful. Free cookies,coffee, lemonade out most of the day. 2 pools and a hot tub. Clean. Beds were the most comfortable I have been on in a hotel. No reason to complain. Same price as other nice hotels that have less frills. Would stay again next visit. Awesome buffet breakfast that is included

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Burroughtn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

The rooms were decorated beautifully!! Santa visits with the children for stories and songs (get there early)!! Afterward there are cookies and milk for everyone! You could easily forget you are at a hotel.......it's just like home. Everything is clean. Small gym and arcade. It's a little pricey during the Christmas season, but it was worth it for my family!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Billie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pigeon Forge hotels
0.2 mi away
The Inn On The River
The Inn On The River
#2 of 92 in Pigeon Forge
2,394 reviews
0.6 mi away
Margaritaville Island Hotel
Margaritaville Island Hotel
#9 of 92 in Pigeon Forge
1,321 reviews
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Marriott Pigeon Forge
Courtyard Marriott Pigeon Forge
#1 of 92 in Pigeon Forge
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Music Road Resort Hotel
Music Road Resort Hotel
#17 of 92 in Pigeon Forge
821 reviews
0.4 mi away
Clarion Inn Dollywood Area
Clarion Inn Dollywood Area
#5 of 92 in Pigeon Forge
2,389 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Pigeon Forge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Christmas Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Christmas Place

Address: 119 Christmas Tree Lane, PO Box 958, Pigeon Forge, TN 37863
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Pigeon Forge
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Pigeon Forge
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pigeon Forge
#4 Green Hotel in Pigeon Forge
#12 Business Hotel in Pigeon Forge
Price Range: £113 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn at Christmas Place 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the old-world charm and elegance of a picturesque Bavarian hotel, The Inn at Christmas Place is your number one destination for a memorable experience. Located just across from its namesake, The Incredible Christmas Place, The Inn offers many unique features, including year-round Christmas decor and beautiful, themed suites. Performances by a two-story glockenspiel, outstanding amenities, and our friendly staff make The Inn at Christmas Place your place to create memories to last a lifetime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your The Inn at Christmas Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Christmas Place Hotel Pigeon Forge
Hotel At Christmas Place
At Christmas Place Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing